Pam's Bierocks Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Apr. 14, 2014
Verry verry gud recipe...it need more than five star...my husband love them...yo gou anpil..i made the hambuger little bit more spicy...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 8, 2014
This recipe is great as written, very traditional German food (and so I find it bland). I tend to make the traditional filling for my husband, and a beef curry for myself, but it's all based upon your personal taste. I like to make extra dough to make cinnamon rolls (so versatile!), and these freeze beautifully. Just wrap the frozen bierock in a damp paper towel and nuke 20-30 seconds to eat.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Vienna, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 2, 2014
These are really good bierocks. I love the bread dough recipe. They are perfect for freezing and taste just as good re-heated. My kids will eat them too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 16, 2014
this is good...I added butter after baking and some fancy salt and pepper on top for a little extra pizzazz
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 10, 2014
Loved these! I made mine with half ground beef and half sausage. I also added corn because I am one to always slip in extra vegtables whenever I can. So tasty my family loved them!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 29, 2013
I make these from a recipe I got from school cooks, but have added a few things. I buy large frozen dinner rolls for my pocket. First I shred my cabbage and onions in my food processor, in the mean time I cook my hamburger and season it with what ever I like (turmeric, oregano, salt, pepper what ever you like). Add the cabbage and onion to the meat and let it cook on low until cabbage translucent. while waiting on it to cook take the thawed rolls and roll them individually into a thin circle on a floured surface, place shredded cheese in the center of each (can be omitted). Drain meat mixture and add to enough on top of the cheese and fold. place on a cookie sheet and bake at 350 deg until crust is a golden brown. Everyone who I have fixed these love them and ask for the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 7, 2013
I used this recipe as a basis for the bierocks I made. I used a pound of ground beef, and a half pound of hot sausage. I removed a little so I could sample it relatively unmolested. To the remainder I added some paprika to it, some Worcestershire, a little white wine,salt, pepper, and some MSG. It still tasted relatively flat before putting into the bread and baking it even with the extra seasoning. I can't say there was a huge difference in the fillings and I couldn't really tell you which was which once I put some mustard on it. One was slightly more savory when eating without mustard. I used 1 Pepperidge farm butter flaky crescent, 1 Pilsbury regular crescent, and 1 Pilsbury French loaf. The crescents were individual and looked neater, they tasted good. You can't get a lot of filling into them, however. Maybe a tablespoon and a half. The French Loaf I did all in one shot. I rolled it out and put a lot of filling in it. and then pinched the edges and layed them on the seam so it would hold together easier. It came out much juicier due to the increased amount of filling. If you got a 4-5" piece, it held together fine. If you are going to do this for a party or something, I think making individual serving would be the right thing to do. Overall, I loved them. I think the french bread was better than the crescents. A sweeter bread would of probably been great. I served this with horseradish mustard, curry mustard, dijon mustard, and spicy brown.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Tera
Reviewed: Jul. 8, 2013
We usually thaw out frozen dinner rolls and put two together with a rolling pin. It was good and all but the dough kept retracting when you were trying to fill it. This way is much better! Not only was the dough easy to manage but tasty too! I like my bread a bit sweeter so next time I will use a bit more sugar. Also we just picked jalapenos out of our garden and added it to the mix...along with more salt and spices. Mmmmmmm Mmmmmmm! Good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Tera

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Wichita, Kansas, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 20, 2013
These were good but the meat mixture could have used more seasoning. I made half the recipe and only made one substitution in the bread dough. I sub'd half a cup of milk for half a cup of the water called for. I loved the dough, it was easy to work with and was very tasty. I will give it a try for dinner rolls, burger buns or cinnamon buns sometime. I'll make these again but will definately add more seasning to the meat mixture.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Susan

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: San Jose, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 13, 2013
I loved this recipe it was so good. I added an extra half cup of sugar to my dough and kneaded my dough and then I placed it in the oiled bowl. I also added garlic onion powder and some lime juice to the cabbage and meat for flavor. Once my dough was done like 3 hours I took a quarter of it on flour and rolled it out like a quarter inch thick and grabbed a cup and punched circlesin the dough. It was super good next time I will cook them for only 18minutes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sia

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 103) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Healthy and Delicious
Healthy and Delicious

New for spring! Good-for-you food you’ll love to eat.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Kraut Bierocks

Try this authentic German meat-filled pastry for a light dinner or hearty snack.

Mini Meatloaves

Individual loaves of yummy beef, cheese, and oats are baked with a tangy glaze.

Hamburger Steak with Onions and Gravy

See how to put a simple twist on a delicious diner classic.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States