Pam's Bierocks Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 9)
Reviewed: Feb. 18, 2008
Amazing! Not really as much work as it looks - once the bread is rising it is really a cinch. The dough is not sticky, either and we had very little mess. We browned the beef with 2 cloves of crushed garlic and added bell pepper, lots of chopped mushrooms, and 1 tsp caraway and 1 tbs oregano with the filling. Then added one can of undiluted cream of celery soup to the filling. I expected to have more of the 12 left over, but it was just so good we went back for thirds.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by C Laughlin

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Minneapolis, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2008
A very good recipe! The dough alone is fabulous. I have used spinach and added cheese... delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 19, 2007
Wow, these are delicious! The dough makes a soft "hamburger-bun" shell around the tasty filling. So good I burned my mouth trying to steal bites before they were cool enough to eat! I followed the advice of a couple reviewers, adding one clove of mashed garlic, and some celery seed. I also used a ground beef/veal/pork mixture, which turned out nicely. Baked some immediately, and put the rest into the freezer for future baking. Mmmmm! Lots of work, but definitely worth it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Castlegar, British Columbia, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 8, 2007
This was perfect! i made half the recipe, with same amount of beef and did just onions instead of cabbage, i also added garlic and paprika to the beef. This came out so great, my inlaws gave me praise, and my brother in law ate two, these people are EXTREMELY hard to impress and very picky eaters so this recipe was awesome!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
19 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 25, 2007
There are only two of us in our house but I make the whole batch whenever I make them because they are so good and they freeze very well. They are time consuming but well worth the work. The only change I made was I added 1 teaspoon of garlic powder to my meat mixture while it was cooking.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Raisin City, California, USA
Living In: Fresno, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 17, 2007
These are fantastic. I used to have this recipe & was SO happy to find it again. I LOVE the dough - my kids did too and want me to use it hand make their hot pockets. By the way, these freeze beautifully!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by jmlionhunter

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Scottsdale, Arizona, USA
Living In: Del Norte, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 17, 2007
Very good! My husband, kids, and I really enjoyed these. I especially loved the bread dough and plan on using that as my regular roll recipe now!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by sweetaddiction

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Shreveport, Louisiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 22, 2007
Very tasty filling, however, the dough was a bit too sweet for our taste, I suggest using abot 1/4 cup sugar instead of 1/2 cup and it will turn out great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Forbach, Lorraine, France

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 21, 2007
My husband has been talking about these for years so I decided to try this recipe and am very glad I did. Followed fairly close to recipe but added some shredded carrots and a garlic clove or two with meat. Had extra dough so I patted it out rectangle, put a layer of butter on top, sprinkled br. sugar and cinn. on then rolled it up and sliced 1/2 in slices. put in buttered round pan and let rise 1 hr or so. 350 for 30 min. Made a vanilla glaze from this site and added some cinn to it also. Husband and son said it could use more of the Br. sugar cinn mix. Next time :)Great way to use up leftovers.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kat P

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Newark, Ohio, USA
Living In: Las Vegas, Nevada, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 4, 2007
My family - three generations has made these for years. We use Pillsbury Hot Roll Mix which works great- sometimes hard to find, but ask your grocer to keep it in stock. We also make a cheese sauce- like a gravy - to pour over the top to ones own taste.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 81-90 (of 107) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Kraut Bierocks

Try this authentic German meat-filled pastry for a light dinner or hearty snack.

How to Eat a Hamburger

See a quick trick for eating a juicy burger without the mess!

Mini Meatloaves

Individual loaves of yummy beef, cheese, and oats are baked with a tangy glaze.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States