Pam's Bierocks Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Jan. 4, 2012
Just like I remember eating as a child! Thank you so much for sharing! My in-laws had never had them before and they loved them! My father-in-law told my other-in-law to get the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 4, 2011
Hmm, not bad, but nothing special. Everyone commented that there was way too much bread for the meat filling. (Think about it - 1 lb of hamburger and 7 cups of flour???) I'd say to half the dough (or use it for something else like others did) and roll it out much thinner. I added garlic, paprika, and celery seed, and it was just okay. The concept is fun, though. I think I'll try it with less bread and something like ham, swiss, and mustard inside.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JLANAM

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Covington, Louisiana, USA
Living In: Albuquerque, New Mexico, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 18, 2011
I have been using this website for a few years and this is my 3rd review. I just don't get impressed easily. But these rolls are so delicious that I have to give it 5 stars. I followed the recipe to a dot (except for adding some garlic to the filling but I add garlic to everything). I LOVE IT!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Livonia, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 14, 2011
I've made this many times with various fillings, often vegetarian. Tonight, I made the best filling yet. I used ground portobellos, about five large ones, which was enough to make filling for about 15 bierocks. Other than the portobellos, which I just buzzed up in the food processor, I also added 3/4 of a large ground up onion, 1/2 cup ground carrot, 1/4 cup ground celery, one ground yukon gold potato, and seasonings of paprika, cayenne, celery seed, black pepper, garlic, and a beef bouillon cube. Sautéed the filling to soften. I think next time I will add coarsely shredded cabbage and another potato.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Shell

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Farmersville, Illinois, USA
Living In: Wenatchee, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 13, 2011
Followed the recipe exactly as written, and it was delicious! I grew up eating authentic German bierocks every year during Oktoberfest at my church, and I thought these were every bit as tasty. My husband has been requesting them - says they're perfect with mashed potatoes and gravy. Thanks for the wonderful recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Kayjo
Reviewed: Oct. 8, 2011
I do not like cabbage but in this recipe it is delicious. I put my dough in refregerator for 2 hours and dough came out great. Made 20 bierocks. Very good. My family loved this recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 30, 2011
I have been making this for my family for a very long time (31 years). I also add shredded cheddar cheese, garlic and onion powder and my husband likes mushrooms added as well. The photos are nice.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 30, 2011
Made these for our OktoberFEAST!! Time consuming but worth it! followed the directions to a t and they came out perfect. we did add some shredded Muenster cheese to the meat and cabbage right before sealing the rolls shut. SO GOOD!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 28, 2011
If you are looking for an authentic bierock recipe, this one is spot on. Normally, I don’t use a recipe, but thought I would give this one a try. It’s absolutely perfect from the bread dough to the meat filling. These are good sized bierocks. The finished product is about 4” in diameter. For sake of ease, I roll the dough into a 16 x 20 rectangle and cut into 20 (4x4) pieces. P.S. Don’t forget the spicy German mustard. It's a must!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by DIZ♥

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 2, 2011
The dough was absolutely lovely to work with and it had great flavour. The filling however did need a little help. I added some swiss cheese, garlic and Worcestershire Sauce which turned out pretty good. I have also tied the dough with a pulled pork filling was quite happy with how it turned out. I also used the left over dough to create apple cinnamon baked pies which turned out great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 112) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

French Toast
French Toast

French toast is such a perfect breakfast, light lunch, or even supper on these warm days.

Crisp Cucumber Salads
Crisp Cucumber Salads

Try one of our 100-plus cool cucumber salads.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Kraut Bierocks

Try this authentic German meat-filled pastry for a light dinner or hearty snack.

How to Eat a Hamburger

See a quick trick for eating a juicy burger without the mess!

Mini Meatloaves

Individual loaves of yummy beef, cheese, and oats are baked with a tangy glaze.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States