Pam's Bierocks Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jan. 17, 2001
My mother in law is German and we make this same dish all of the time. She uses the same bread recipe, however I substitue a sweet refrigerator roll recipe and make them ahead. If I have leftovers I make cinnamon rolls for dessert. I also make several ahead and freeze them for later use--just make sure they are completely thawed before baking.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
72 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 28, 2001
very tasty- a perfect lunch or dinner served with a cold german potato salad! The recipe sounds hard, but is actually very easy to do. The dough comes out perfectly, and I will try a different filling next time! I used fast rise yeast.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
19 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by TAMMERSANN

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 8, 2001
I have looked for this recipe for a long time, and it is closest to what I remember eating at the Cherry Auction in Fresno, Ca. when I was a child.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 25, 2002
One of the best recipes I have tried! The bread around the meat is wonderful, the meat could use a little more seasoning.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 20, 2002
I liked these alot. I did use a little butter brushed on top of them for flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 13, 2003
These were fantastic! My family is German, so I used to eat bierocks as a kid, and this is the first time since my childhood that I have eaten them. They were just as I remembered. My family loved them, even my finiky 2 year old. Thanks Pam!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 14, 2004
My mother has been fixing these since I was tiny and now I've started doing the same. If you like more flavor in the filling, try adding celery seed. It really livens it up.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
51 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Nissa G

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Wichita, Kansas, USA
Living In: Minneapolis, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 15, 2005
As a child, my grandmother use to make bierocks!! I could never find a recipe that reminded me of her until I found this one. thanks Pam
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 23, 2005
These were just okay. Recipe is a bit bland and I'm not sure exactly what is missing. I used gabbage and maybe if I used sauerkraut it would be better.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 24, 2005
I am vegetarian, so I changed the beef to Boca's "fake meat," and I added a touch of shredded cheddar. My friend's husband (as well as my own) never knew the difference! This was wonderful, and tastes exactly how bierocks should. It is also pretty simple to make.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 107) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Kraut Bierocks

Try this authentic German meat-filled pastry for a light dinner or hearty snack.

How to Eat a Hamburger

See a quick trick for eating a juicy burger without the mess!

Mini Meatloaves

Individual loaves of yummy beef, cheese, and oats are baked with a tangy glaze.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States