Pam's Bierocks Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 7)
Reviewed: Jul. 23, 2009
My family loved this! Even my very picky sons! With the leftover dough I made cinnamon rolls. The dough in this recipe is perfect. Also to change it up, make a sloppy joe mixture and use this dough, make it the same way (the meat in the dough)... Your family will LOVE it, I think the kids liked the sloppy joe version even better. If I get a chance I will post a recipe for it that way. Thank you so much Pam! This one is definitely a keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Long Island, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 20, 2009
I had never heard of Bierocks or Runzas before, but the recipe sounded good and I'm glad I tried them. These were so delicious! The dough is perfect- so soft and tasty- although I did have to add additional flour since it was quite sticky to work with at first. The recipe yielded 25 bierocks, which were gone in about 48 hours. I added some fresh thyme and parsley to the filling, but kept everything else the same. Will make these again and again. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by BN61079

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Mendon, Massachusetts, USA
Living In: Milford, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 15, 2009
This was good. I used frozen dough instead of making my own, but followed the rest of the recipe pretty close. It was a little bland though, and if I made it again, I think I might add in some shredded cheese to the meat mixture. Would be a five star with some tweaking!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 24, 2009
This was a really great recipe. I used 1 and 1/2 pounds of hamburger and the whole head of cabbage. Naturally this recipe is a little bland so I added garlic and other seasonings. It turned out awesome. Instead of making 20 little ones I made 10 bigger bierocks. The bread was wonderful as well. I was really surprised that it was such a simple recipe and turned out perfect. Definitly try it! Make sure you have enough time, it's a little time consuming. But well worth it and there great heated up in the microwave. We ate with mustard or gravy. YUM!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 27, 2009
Followed according to recipe and they were perfect. I'm German and from the Midwest and this recipe is the best. I'm very particular about bierocks, but these rocked! I will definitely make these again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by spchjag

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Scandia, Kansas, USA
Living In: Wichita, Kansas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by JARRIE
Reviewed: Mar. 19, 2009
This review refers to the DOUGH part of the recipe only. I found the dough miserable to work with. I think the problem was the part where it says "refrigerate dough for 2 hours or let it rise for 1 hour". I chose to let it rise for 1 hour. I think it NEEDED to be cold! It tore and tore and tore again while I tried to work with it. I managed though, and it was REALLY tasty (hence the 4 stars) but in the future I'm going to knead the dough (no kneading in this recipe) before I let it rise and I'm going to make sure the dough is chilly before I start trying to force it into specific shapes! So I detract 1 star from the overall recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JARRIE

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Richmond, Virginia, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 9, 2009
I messed something up and my dough did not rise. It had a good flavor, but was very flat....I'm sure it was me tho and not the recipe. I did use a package of cole slaw mix in place of the cabbage and as others suggested added some flavoring...worch sauce, paprika, and simmered it in vegetable broth. It was still lacking a little flavor, but nothing a little black/red pepper wouldn't cure. Froze the leftovers for another meal. I will be trying this again. Thanks for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by banshezmom

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Harrisburg, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Middletown, Pennsylvania, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 23, 2009
These Bierocks are excellent! It's the dough that makes the recipe (as opposed to using frozen bread dough). The filling is great as-is (as long as you don't skimp on the salt and pepper!) and there is plenty of room to play around with spices (maybe some caraway seed, nutmeg, or worcestershire sauce). Thank you so much for this recipe! I have missed these since moving away from Nebraska!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 24, 2008
mmmm these came out so yummy, and my boyfriend said they were just like the ones his mom used to make!! I did throw in a lil minced garlic and celery seed with the meat, and also used quick rise yeast to cut the rising time in half
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by tjadk23

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Anaheim, California, USA
Living In: Orange, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 9, 2008
Thanks for this easy recipe! I lost my original recipe and thought yours sounded the closest to what I remembered. I loved that the dough was so easy to use and had just the right consistency! I use ground turkey instead of beef in my bierocks so a little more seasoning is needed but these turned out just fabulous! Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CJK9

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 61-70 (of 109) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

The Season’s Best Sides
The Season’s Best Sides

Complete the meal with your favorite holiday side dishes.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Kraut Bierocks

Try this authentic German meat-filled pastry for a light dinner or hearty snack.

How to Eat a Hamburger

See a quick trick for eating a juicy burger without the mess!

Mini Meatloaves

Individual loaves of yummy beef, cheese, and oats are baked with a tangy glaze.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States