Pam's Bierocks Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 6)
Reviewed: Apr. 20, 2010
A little bland for my taste, but I was expecting that from the style of food. I plan on trying a curry mix next time or more of a "shephard's pie" type filling! However, it was very good, loved the bread. Mine wasn't very "fluffy" but I didn't let it rise as long as the recipe said. Overall my husband and I were very happy with this recipe
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by RyanandJuanita

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 1, 2010
Great recipe of a classic Volga-German dish. I like to add mustard. Sometimes I change the filling to ham and cheese or hamburger taco. These are time-consuming but freeze well and make an easy snack or meal.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 10, 2010
Made these tonight and the whole family loved them! Easy dough to make and had great texture and flavor! Thanks a lot for this great recipe; it's a keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 18, 2009
This is the basic recipe. My grandma would make these all the time and I have made this a definite special memory already for my kids. My mom used to make what she called "tacorocks" for my dad since he didn't like cabbage. She would add taco seasoned meat and cheddar cheese. SO GOOD! But my favorite will always be the original!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 22, 2009
I make these frequently and they always turn out great. The only thing I do different is add a little flour and milk to the filling at the end to make it creamer. Also, this is my go to bread dough recipe. I use it for dinner rolls and cinnamon rolls.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 3, 2009
This is a really good and easy meal for the family I make them all year long. The left overs are also great so I normally make extra. I took one with me to work the next day for my lunch and everybody wanted the recipe because they smell as great as they taste!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LSBUI

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 1, 2009
This review is for the dough -its excellent and worth the effort and time to make. I used rapid rise yeast and it was ready in 1 hour. I use a different filling for inside. I had a little dough left over and I made a few cinnamon knots--- basically my fillling recipe is the same, but with lots of spices,beef broth and lots of garlic. I also put shredded cheddar cheese over the filling before I fold it into a pastry.We like these served with salsa. I used oregano-red pepper flakes, thyme celery seed and celery flakes, cumin salt and pepper- worcestershire sauce 2T--so play with fillingand if too bland you can doctored it up!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Yakima, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 16, 2009
Alright, I have been dying to review this recipe since only hours ago when I found it. I searched yeast and ground beef because it sounded good and this recipe came up, I'd never heard of such a thing before! These were just wonderful after tweeking with the filling a bit. I added the typical garlic, wors sauce, seasonings etc, and half a can of tomato soup to give it a sauciness. Very good! Next time I'm going to do a cubed pepperoni, mozzarella and sauce combo. Delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Fishkill, New York, USA
Living In: Fort Worth, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 12, 2009
I agree with many others--the dough is great! But the filling is VERY bland, even with additions--I'll need to add more additions next time!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Deborah Jacques

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Minneapolis, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 2, 2009
This is one of my favorite recipes. I usually make more of the meat mixture so that they are more meat than bread. I also add some American cheese to some or mushrooms and Swiss to give a little variety. They also freeze wonderfully and are great to have on hand.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Emerson, Nebraska, USA
Living In: Omaha, Nebraska, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 51-60 (of 109) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

The Season’s Best Sides
The Season’s Best Sides

Complete the meal with your favorite holiday side dishes.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Kraut Bierocks

Try this authentic German meat-filled pastry for a light dinner or hearty snack.

How to Eat a Hamburger

See a quick trick for eating a juicy burger without the mess!

Mini Meatloaves

Individual loaves of yummy beef, cheese, and oats are baked with a tangy glaze.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States