Pam's Bierocks Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 6)
Reviewed: Oct. 22, 2009
I make these frequently and they always turn out great. The only thing I do different is add a little flour and milk to the filling at the end to make it creamer. Also, this is my go to bread dough recipe. I use it for dinner rolls and cinnamon rolls.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 3, 2009
This is a really good and easy meal for the family I make them all year long. The left overs are also great so I normally make extra. I took one with me to work the next day for my lunch and everybody wanted the recipe because they smell as great as they taste!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LSBUI

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 1, 2009
This review is for the dough -its excellent and worth the effort and time to make. I used rapid rise yeast and it was ready in 1 hour. I use a different filling for inside. I had a little dough left over and I made a few cinnamon knots--- basically my fillling recipe is the same, but with lots of spices,beef broth and lots of garlic. I also put shredded cheddar cheese over the filling before I fold it into a pastry.We like these served with salsa. I used oregano-red pepper flakes, thyme celery seed and celery flakes, cumin salt and pepper- worcestershire sauce 2T--so play with fillingand if too bland you can doctored it up!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Yakima, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 16, 2009
Alright, I have been dying to review this recipe since only hours ago when I found it. I searched yeast and ground beef because it sounded good and this recipe came up, I'd never heard of such a thing before! These were just wonderful after tweeking with the filling a bit. I added the typical garlic, wors sauce, seasonings etc, and half a can of tomato soup to give it a sauciness. Very good! Next time I'm going to do a cubed pepperoni, mozzarella and sauce combo. Delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Fishkill, New York, USA
Living In: Fort Worth, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 12, 2009
I agree with many others--the dough is great! But the filling is VERY bland, even with additions--I'll need to add more additions next time!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Minneapolis, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 2, 2009
This is one of my favorite recipes. I usually make more of the meat mixture so that they are more meat than bread. I also add some American cheese to some or mushrooms and Swiss to give a little variety. They also freeze wonderfully and are great to have on hand.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Emerson, Nebraska, USA
Living In: Omaha, Nebraska, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 23, 2009
My family loved this! Even my very picky sons! With the leftover dough I made cinnamon rolls. The dough in this recipe is perfect. Also to change it up, make a sloppy joe mixture and use this dough, make it the same way (the meat in the dough)... Your family will LOVE it, I think the kids liked the sloppy joe version even better. If I get a chance I will post a recipe for it that way. Thank you so much Pam! This one is definitely a keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Long Island, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 20, 2009
I had never heard of Bierocks or Runzas before, but the recipe sounded good and I'm glad I tried them. These were so delicious! The dough is perfect- so soft and tasty- although I did have to add additional flour since it was quite sticky to work with at first. The recipe yielded 25 bierocks, which were gone in about 48 hours. I added some fresh thyme and parsley to the filling, but kept everything else the same. Will make these again and again. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by BN61079

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Mendon, Massachusetts, USA
Living In: Milford, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 15, 2009
This was good. I used frozen dough instead of making my own, but followed the rest of the recipe pretty close. It was a little bland though, and if I made it again, I think I might add in some shredded cheese to the meat mixture. Would be a five star with some tweaking!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 24, 2009
This was a really great recipe. I used 1 and 1/2 pounds of hamburger and the whole head of cabbage. Naturally this recipe is a little bland so I added garlic and other seasonings. It turned out awesome. Instead of making 20 little ones I made 10 bigger bierocks. The bread was wonderful as well. I was really surprised that it was such a simple recipe and turned out perfect. Definitly try it! Make sure you have enough time, it's a little time consuming. But well worth it and there great heated up in the microwave. We ate with mustard or gravy. YUM!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 51-60 (of 105) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

 Quick & Easy Grilling
Quick & Easy Grilling

Easy weeknight dinners, ready in a flash.

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Kraut Bierocks

Try this authentic German meat-filled pastry for a light dinner or hearty snack.

How to Eat a Hamburger

See a quick trick for eating a juicy burger without the mess!

Mini Meatloaves

Individual loaves of yummy beef, cheese, and oats are baked with a tangy glaze.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States