Pam's Bierocks Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Sep. 30, 2011
Made these for our OktoberFEAST!! Time consuming but worth it! followed the directions to a t and they came out perfect. we did add some shredded Muenster cheese to the meat and cabbage right before sealing the rolls shut. SO GOOD!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by DIZ♥
Reviewed: Sep. 28, 2011
If you are looking for an authentic bierock recipe, this one is spot on. Normally, I don’t use a recipe, but thought I would give this one a try. It’s absolutely perfect from the bread dough to the meat filling. These are good sized bierocks. The finished product is about 4” in diameter. For sake of ease, I roll the dough into a 16 x 20 rectangle and cut into 20 (4x4) pieces. P.S. Don’t forget the spicy German mustard. It's a must!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by DIZ♥

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 2, 2011
The dough was absolutely lovely to work with and it had great flavour. The filling however did need a little help. I added some swiss cheese, garlic and Worcestershire Sauce which turned out pretty good. I have also tied the dough with a pulled pork filling was quite happy with how it turned out. I also used the left over dough to create apple cinnamon baked pies which turned out great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 10, 2011
I tried these but the filling was philly cheese steak and it was great. A friend made them for me and now that i found a recipe i am going to try and make it myself.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 27, 2011
So very, very good. The bread dough came together nicely, even with the addition of half whole wheat flour. The filling was moist and, with some caraway, garlic and red pepper flakes, reminiscent of my great grandmother's bierocks. I also made a vegetarian version, adding mashed potato, peas, grated carrot, garlic and caraway to the sauted cabbage. Now the trick is to stop eating them!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 24, 2011
The bread rocks. I've been making bierocks using frozen dough for years. Tonight I tried this since I was out of frozen dough. The dough was fantastic. I only gave 4 stars because the filling is a little bland. Give it some garlic and your in business.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 18, 2011
Made the bread with 4c whole wheat flour and 2.5c bread flour. Made the filling with ground turkey breast and added salt free seasoning plus thyme and sage. It was good and eaten by all! Had enough dough left to make 12 mini cinnamon rolls for dessert:)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 25, 2011
I have been making this recipe for years and it is wonderful! We love it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 18, 2011
My husband loves bierocks. Have tried other recipes in the past but was never really happy with them. Decided to give a whirl again and am glad I chose this one!! I halved the recipe and still used 1 egg. It made 12, nice sized bierocks and I put 6 each in 9x13pan. I did use 1 1/2 lb hamb for the half recipe and a 16oz bag of cabbage and filled them with approx 4 T filling. Seasoned the ham/onion with garlic, celery seed & paprika (per another review) They are soooo YUMMY!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 15, 2010
Fantastic! The cabbage/ground beef mixture was the part I was most comfortable with. So I took the liberty of adding a bunch of spices (Steak seasoning, onion powder, garlic powder, lemon pepper), Worcestershire Sauce, a garlic clove and some shredded cheese. It came out great! I couldn't stop eating the filling! The bread part I was extremely nervous about. I've never made homemade bread before, but I was so pleased with how well my bread turned out! This recipe was very easy to follow! It takes time and patience, but they turned out DELICIOUS.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Corpus Christi, Texas, USA
Living In: Austin, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 105) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Kraut Bierocks

Try this authentic German meat-filled pastry for a light dinner or hearty snack.

How to Eat a Hamburger

See a quick trick for eating a juicy burger without the mess!

Mini Meatloaves

Individual loaves of yummy beef, cheese, and oats are baked with a tangy glaze.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States