Pam's Bierocks Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: May 14, 2012
I think I had way too much cabbage and I feel like everything should have been drained, but over a very nice recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 6, 2012
Just made these for our family dinner and served with soup. I will experiment with fillings next time but it's definitely a keeper! Thank you Pam.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 4, 2012
LOVE this recipe! However, I did make some slight changes to it based on other reviewers sharing that they felt like the filling (meat and veggies) needed a touch more flavor. So, that's what I did! I added in the following spices: cayenne pepper, paprika, oregano, garlic powder, basil, sea salt, pepper and thyme leaves. Most of the time when I am cooking, I never measure ingredients so I added these to taste while browning the ground beef. Also, while cooking the overall meat and veggie mixture, I drizzled canola oil on it to make sure that when it would be cooking inside the rolls that they would be nice and moist on the inside of them. About halfway through their baking time, I used a basting brush to coat the rolls with a touch of leftover bacon/sausage grease. Gave them character and they came out golden brown! I served them with homemade mashed potatoes, homemade spaghetti sauce (for dipping), and beer.The recipe does make a large portion of rolls so the ones that I had leftover, I individually wrapped them and placed them into a ziplock bag in the freezer for future 'quick' dinners on the go. Thanks for a great recipe!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 14, 2012
I followed the advice of several reviews to add a clove or two of garlic and 2 - 3 splashes of Worcestershire sauce and they turned out so good. I'm going to use the same dough recipe and make pizza pockets :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 16, 2012
I am not experienced with making dough, in fact any time I try to use yeast in something it turns out pretty bad- probably something I do wrong... But this recipe turned out perfect for me! When it came to the dough I did refrigerate for about 4 hours, I also coated the bowl with vegetable oil and rolled the dough in it so it was covered in oil. I did not use any flour to press out my dough pieces. I cut recipe for dough in half (left the filling the same) and it made exactly 10, with a small amount of filling left over. They were gorgeous- just like the first picture that's posted! I did add lots of seasoning to the filling. If you are scared at all about working with bread dough do NOT be- this recipe is awesome. I plan to use it for dinner rolls, cinnamon rolls, pizza pockets, etc. Thanks Pam!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 4, 2012
Just like I remember eating as a child! Thank you so much for sharing! My in-laws had never had them before and they loved them! My father-in-law told my other-in-law to get the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 4, 2011
Hmm, not bad, but nothing special. Everyone commented that there was way too much bread for the meat filling. (Think about it - 1 lb of hamburger and 7 cups of flour???) I'd say to half the dough (or use it for something else like others did) and roll it out much thinner. I added garlic, paprika, and celery seed, and it was just okay. The concept is fun, though. I think I'll try it with less bread and something like ham, swiss, and mustard inside.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JLANAM

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Covington, Louisiana, USA
Living In: Albuquerque, New Mexico, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 18, 2011
I have been using this website for a few years and this is my 3rd review. I just don't get impressed easily. But these rolls are so delicious that I have to give it 5 stars. I followed the recipe to a dot (except for adding some garlic to the filling but I add garlic to everything). I LOVE IT!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Livonia, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 14, 2011
I've made this many times with various fillings, often vegetarian. Tonight, I made the best filling yet. I used ground portobellos, about five large ones, which was enough to make filling for about 15 bierocks. Other than the portobellos, which I just buzzed up in the food processor, I also added 3/4 of a large ground up onion, 1/2 cup ground carrot, 1/4 cup ground celery, one ground yukon gold potato, and seasonings of paprika, cayenne, celery seed, black pepper, garlic, and a beef bouillon cube. Sautéed the filling to soften. I think next time I will add coarsely shredded cabbage and another potato.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Shell

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Farmersville, Illinois, USA
Living In: Wenatchee, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 13, 2011
Followed the recipe exactly as written, and it was delicious! I grew up eating authentic German bierocks every year during Oktoberfest at my church, and I thought these were every bit as tasty. My husband has been requesting them - says they're perfect with mashed potatoes and gravy. Thanks for the wonderful recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 107) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Want to Grill Tonight?
Want to Grill Tonight?

Check out time-saving recipes, because any night’s a good night to grill.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Kraut Bierocks

Try this authentic German meat-filled pastry for a light dinner or hearty snack.

How to Eat a Hamburger

See a quick trick for eating a juicy burger without the mess!

Mini Meatloaves

Individual loaves of yummy beef, cheese, and oats are baked with a tangy glaze.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States