Pam's Bierocks Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Sep. 26, 2012
Made almost as written. I did not have time to make the buns, so I bought some frozen grands and thawed them quickly in the oven, flattened them and then filled. I didn't cook the cabbage for a full 30 minutes, I didn't want it to get soggy or mushy. These were great, brushed with the butter after. I ate four at one time! Will definitely be making again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by superfox12082

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Newport, Minnesota, USA
Living In: Walker, Minnesota, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 13, 2012
I am pleasantly surprised by how tasty this is! I used some WW flour to make it a little healthy and halved the dough recipe as I wasn't prepared to make that much... Some points to note: make sure the cabbage is shredded finely, I might even dice it up so that it is easier to wrap. Also, I don't get how to actually spread the dough out on unfloured surface, as my dough stuck to the board if I don't put some flour on it. So I rolled them out on floured surface - turned out just fine.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by merlion

Cooking Level: Beginning

Reviewed: Sep. 4, 2012
Yum! These are delicious. I made exactly as written except added a tablespoon of caraway seeds to the meat mixture. The bread dough is exceptional, easy to make and very easy to work with.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by CheeryWazel
Reviewed: Aug. 11, 2012
Awesome! We've made these 3 times now. They last for awhile since 20 are made. It's fun to experiment with fillings. One time we did a beef stew. Another time chicken, cheese, and broccoli. And then another time we did the recipe as written. We want to try a pizza filling next time. The bread is really good. We use a lot of flour to stop the dough from sticking to the surface. So we ignore the part that says use an un-floured surface. I think they turn out fine... My boyfriend puts in way more than 2 Tbs of filling. And I think they are better that way.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CheeryWazel

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 7, 2012
I made these for a church pitch-in and they were very popular. They held the heat in after baking, and looked beautiful. The dough was kind of sticky after rising. I used cooking spray on my table so I could manipulate the dough easily without having to add more flour.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 14, 2012
I think I had way too much cabbage and I feel like everything should have been drained, but over a very nice recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Brandi Reeves Greenberg

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 6, 2012
Just made these for our family dinner and served with soup. I will experiment with fillings next time but it's definitely a keeper! Thank you Pam.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 4, 2012
LOVE this recipe! However, I did make some slight changes to it based on other reviewers sharing that they felt like the filling (meat and veggies) needed a touch more flavor. So, that's what I did! I added in the following spices: cayenne pepper, paprika, oregano, garlic powder, basil, sea salt, pepper and thyme leaves. Most of the time when I am cooking, I never measure ingredients so I added these to taste while browning the ground beef. Also, while cooking the overall meat and veggie mixture, I drizzled canola oil on it to make sure that when it would be cooking inside the rolls that they would be nice and moist on the inside of them. About halfway through their baking time, I used a basting brush to coat the rolls with a touch of leftover bacon/sausage grease. Gave them character and they came out golden brown! I served them with homemade mashed potatoes, homemade spaghetti sauce (for dipping), and beer.The recipe does make a large portion of rolls so the ones that I had leftover, I individually wrapped them and placed them into a ziplock bag in the freezer for future 'quick' dinners on the go. Thanks for a great recipe!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 14, 2012
I followed the advice of several reviews to add a clove or two of garlic and 2 - 3 splashes of Worcestershire sauce and they turned out so good. I'm going to use the same dough recipe and make pizza pockets :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 16, 2012
I am not experienced with making dough, in fact any time I try to use yeast in something it turns out pretty bad- probably something I do wrong... But this recipe turned out perfect for me! When it came to the dough I did refrigerate for about 4 hours, I also coated the bowl with vegetable oil and rolled the dough in it so it was covered in oil. I did not use any flour to press out my dough pieces. I cut recipe for dough in half (left the filling the same) and it made exactly 10, with a small amount of filling left over. They were gorgeous- just like the first picture that's posted! I did add lots of seasoning to the filling. If you are scared at all about working with bread dough do NOT be- this recipe is awesome. I plan to use it for dinner rolls, cinnamon rolls, pizza pockets, etc. Thanks Pam!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 112) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Chicken Breast Recipes
Chicken Breast Recipes

With our 2,700+ chicken breast recipes, you'll never serve the same old chicken again.

Zucchini On The Grill
Zucchini On The Grill

The firm, juicy texture of zucchini make them a perfect side to toss on the grill.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Kraut Bierocks

Try this authentic German meat-filled pastry for a light dinner or hearty snack.

How to Eat a Hamburger

See a quick trick for eating a juicy burger without the mess!

Mini Meatloaves

Individual loaves of yummy beef, cheese, and oats are baked with a tangy glaze.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States