Pammy's Slow Cooker Beans Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Feb. 16, 2014
I loved eating beans growing up. In fact, you can't miss me when it comes to beans. As an adult I've made 3 futile attempts at making a pot of beans. I was ready to quit. I decided to search online for a recipe and VOILA! I stumbled upon this recipe. All I can say is WOW!. They turned out just the way I like them. If I can do it anyone can. I feel like an expert now. Thank you so much!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 10, 2013
I have made this twice on the stovetop instrad of a slow cooker. Not haviing any turkey I have used smoked sausage and ground beef instead. The ground beef combo got "rave reviews" from my family. The only change I made was adding 2 beef bouillion cubes to the pot. Delicious with mac & cheese, mashed potatoes, & Jiffy brand cornbread!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 23, 2013
Great recipe! I used some smoked, sliced beef brisket in place of the turkey leg and fresh garlic and a large onion instead of the powders. It is a family favorite.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Dundalk, Maryland, USA
Living In: Rocky Mount, North Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 15, 2013
This was tasty. I didn't have pinto beans so I used great northern beans and added a touch of poultry seasoning at the end of cooking time. I cooked it 5 hours on high and 3 hours on low.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Los Angeles, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 25, 2012
I just made this recipe and it was amazing! It was so perfect for this rainy day. The only thing I did different was that I used a package of onion soup mix instead of the onion powder. Thanks for the awesome dish.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 5, 2011
My husband and I loved this recipe!! It's just the two of us so we had it the next day for lunch as well. Didn't have a spare turkey leg so I just fried up half a pound of bacon and added that in. Served over corn bread! will definitely make again soon!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ArmyWife

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 25, 2011
Simple, tasty, and easy. I'm going to try Italian Sausage vs. turkey leg the next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by It's A New Day
Reviewed: Aug. 25, 2011
These are awesome! Followed the recipe almost exactly. I did cut it in half, used a ham hock, and had to add garlic salt AFTER the beans got soft because I had very little garlic powder. I will be making these again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by It's A New Day

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Purcellville, Virginia, USA
Living In: Winchester, Virginia, USA
Reviewed: Jun. 24, 2011
I altered this recipe a bit; instead of the smoked turkey leg, I fried up a pound of bacon; added 1 jalopeno and some cilantro for the last hour of cooking; no bay leaves.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Michelle Allen

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 9, 2011
good! I can't wait to make again! I followed recipe almost to the T. But, I used 7 cloves of fresh garlic plus garlic powder. I used 2 smoked hamhocks. No oil and no bay leaves. I also used almost 2Tb chicken bouillon near the end of cooking so I wouldn't over salt it. SOOOO good!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by NANSEAB

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Santa Ana, California, USA
Living In: Anaheim, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 14) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Dinner
Christmas Dinner

Magnificent main dishes for your holiday table are here, from roast beef to a Christmas goose.

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Slow Cooker Spicy Black-Eyed Peas

Make flavorful, Mexican-inspired black-eyed peas in the slow cooker.

Laura's Quick Slow Cooker Turkey Chili

See how to make a super-simple ground turkey chili in the crock pot.

Slow Cooker Boneless Turkey Breast

See how to make moist turkey breast slowly simmered with herbs and seasonings.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States