Pammy's Slow Cooker Beans Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Nov. 16, 2010
These beans were good but I altered the recipe a bit. I didn't have a spare smoked turkey laying around so I used chopped leftover ham instead. Tasted great! I also added Paula Deen's House Seasoning to the beans when I added the olive oil. Wasn't sure how the olive oil would taste, but it turned out great. I usually make my beans on the stove top and add vegetable oil. I also cooked the beans on high the whole time which gave me more of a "pot liquor" which I love to sop up with my corn bread. I will surely be making these again. :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
36 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Dallas, Texas, USA
Living In: Bellevue, Nebraska, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 10, 2011
Thank you SO much for a great base bean recipe! The beans turned out perfect for me. I added salt after 6 hours. (I cooked for 9 hours total.) I also used a few slices of bacon rather than the turkey. THIS is the perfect recipe for making beans to add to dishes, or just on it's own!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
32 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jessica Beek

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Boston, Massachusetts, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 2, 2010
Made this yesterday. Turned pot very well -it's all gone. I made 1/2 recipe and used wings in place of the legs. The smoked turkey provides excellent flavor to the beans without all the salt and fat that you would get if ham was used for the seasoning
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
27 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Leland

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Horatio, Arkansas, USA
Living In: De Queen, Arkansas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by It's A New Day
Reviewed: Aug. 25, 2011
These are awesome! Followed the recipe almost exactly. I did cut it in half, used a ham hock, and had to add garlic salt AFTER the beans got soft because I had very little garlic powder. I will be making these again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by It's A New Day

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Purcellville, Virginia, USA
Living In: Winchester, Virginia, USA
Reviewed: Jun. 9, 2011
good! I can't wait to make again! I followed recipe almost to the T. But, I used 7 cloves of fresh garlic plus garlic powder. I used 2 smoked hamhocks. No oil and no bay leaves. I also used almost 2Tb chicken bouillon near the end of cooking so I wouldn't over salt it. SOOOO good!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by NANSEAB

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Santa Ana, California, USA
Living In: Anaheim, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 24, 2011
I altered this recipe a bit; instead of the smoked turkey leg, I fried up a pound of bacon; added 1 jalopeno and some cilantro for the last hour of cooking; no bay leaves.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Michelle Allen

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 9, 2011
love it.............my pinto beans taste great
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 25, 2011
Simple, tasty, and easy. I'm going to try Italian Sausage vs. turkey leg the next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 25, 2012
I just made this recipe and it was amazing! It was so perfect for this rainy day. The only thing I did different was that I used a package of onion soup mix instead of the onion powder. Thanks for the awesome dish.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 5, 2011
My husband and I loved this recipe!! It's just the two of us so we had it the next day for lunch as well. Didn't have a spare turkey leg so I just fried up half a pound of bacon and added that in. Served over corn bread! will definitely make again soon!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ArmyWife

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 14) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

The Season’s Best Sides
The Season’s Best Sides

Complete the meal with your favorite holiday side dishes.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Slow Cooker Spicy Black-Eyed Peas

Make flavorful, Mexican-inspired black-eyed peas in the slow cooker.

Laura's Quick Slow Cooker Turkey Chili

See how to make a super-simple ground turkey chili in the crock pot.

Slow Cooker Boneless Turkey Breast

See how to make moist turkey breast slowly simmered with herbs and seasonings.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States