Palitaw (Sweet Rice Cakes) Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jun. 6, 2013
Easy to do and delicious! I used almond and sugar plus sesame seed. Thank you! I just had the craving for this today and saw I have glutinous powdered rice. Et voila, I had "PALITAW!"
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by thelizel
Reviewed: May 24, 2012
Easy and simple. Always made this for Filipino parties. One of my favorite desserts.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by thelizel

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Austin, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 13, 2011
Lola, I don't know how this recipe ended up being the nice dish pictured herein... I followed your directions exactly as written but all I ended up with is a bowl of waste. looks to me like the ingredients were not given in the right proportions.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 4, 2011
The measurements are all wrong. 1 cup of glutinous rice flour, 1/2 cup sugar and 1/2 cup water results in pancake batter consistency. Also scooping it out of the strainger into the sugar/sesame seed mixture results in a sticky gooey mess that clumps up the sugar in the bowl and hardens into lumps of sugar crystal on the balls when cooled. Fail all around from ingredients down to the directions.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 23, 2011
Don't know what was wrong but I followed the recipe and had to double the flour and then it just did not taste right. Not sure what I was expecting but did not like it. Maybe need to go buy one asnd compare
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Winchester, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 25, 2010
I like the taste but using the recipe provided, I ended up with a really gooey palitao so I ended up having to add more rice flour until it was hard enough to form balls with. I love the taste though. It's exactly how I remembered it. Thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
19 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 15, 2010
i love this!!! thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 8, 2010
These are delicious, but to make them even better, try adding a can of coconut milk or cream to the water that you boil them in. This will give the cakes a strong coconut flavor
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
44 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by joy
Reviewed: May 11, 2010
I liked how simple and inexpensive it was to make these. Just like the ones I buy from my local Asian grocery store. I did have to add more flour for a thicker consistency and I did not ball them in my hand. I used a melon baller, scooped them into boiling water then stretched them after they were cooked, as I did a coating of coconut. I would also modify and use 1/4 tsp salt rather than 1 tsp. It was too salty for my taste. After modifying the recipe they were great though! Reminds me of the treats mama would buy for me in the fish market when I was growing up :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
28 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by joy

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Waterbury, Connecticut, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog



 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Dessert Recipes
Top Dessert Recipes

Rated, reviewed, and ready to satisfy your sweet cravings.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Creamy Rice Pudding

Learn the secret to making the creamiest ever sweet rice pudding.

How To Make Sushi Rice

Learn the best way to make sushi rice.

How to Decorate Easter Cakes

Watch three fun ways to decorate an Easter cake.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States