Paleo Taco Salad Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Photo by Joey Joan
Reviewed: Feb. 13, 2013
The spices in this recipe were excellent, full of flavor with out being overly hot. The sour cream and salsa mixed together makes a tasty layer in this salad.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Joey Joan

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Clarkston, Michigan, USA
Living In: Hainesport, New Jersey, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 6, 2013
I made this tonight for my wife and I. We've been trying quite a few paleo recipes and I thought this sounded good... and easy to prepare. I wanted to stay away from other taco salad recipes, that use Catalina dressing. While I'm sure it's good, we are avoiding, what you might consider prepared foods. This taco salad recipe was outstanding. The seasoning mix added just the right amount of taste and heat to the ground beef. I tasted it before adding it to the browned ground beef, to make sure. The mixture of salsa and sour cream was also tasty. I will make this again in the future.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 30, 2014
Not exactly Paleo because of the dairy (sour cream and cheese), but you can omit those. Otherwise a good dish.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 8, 2013
Such a great recipe on its own... I give a 5 star rating, but like most recipes, I tweak it for my taste. One thing I love to do on taco salad night is add finely diced red peppers in with the meat. I cook half in at the start then the other half of red pepper near the end for a more crunchy pep. On the bed of romaine I toss in diced cucumber. While dairy isn't considered paleo, I still consume it... I mean, c'mon, it's sour cream.... I can bathe in it!! And cheese... I'd be a cheesy crybaby without it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 20, 2013
Some people opt for a little dairy on a paleo diet, especially butter. I think it is more of a grey area than a hard rule. This recipe is very much like the taco salad recipe I have always made and loved, but I never thought of adding lime to the salsa/sour cream dressing. It was a nice touch. My seasonings are more complicated but this was just as good, and I liked the cooked onion over raw. Thanks
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 3, 2014
Just used the spice combo for my own taco seasoning. Great proportions ......no need to buy taco seasoning anymore!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JimnLyss

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Ruther Glen, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 14, 2014
Holy cow this is good! And so fast! It's perfect and the only thing I changed was added a lot more garlic cloves.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 21, 2013
Made this tonight following the recipe exactly and the flavor was great!Awesome paleo goodness! You won't be disappointed with this taco salad.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by brandigrl

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Saint Helens, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog



 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Taco Salad I

See how to make a delicious taco salad with a twist.

Coconut Calamari Salad

See how to make a spicy squid salad with coconut milk.

Slow Cooker Taco Soup

See how to make a 5-star, beefy taco soup with beans.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States