Paleo Pancakes Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Jun. 3, 2014
These were pretty good but I wasn't a huge fan of the texture, it was mealy. I prefer a gluten free pancake that uses coconut flour and a little quinoa flour.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by FoodEater

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Homer, Alaska, USA
Living In: Seattle, Washington, USA
Reviewed: May 30, 2014
Great recipe. Used coconut milk and doubled it, also added more pumpkin. Used coconut oil in skillet. Love the spices!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by PaleoPam
Reviewed: Apr. 21, 2014
The one common factor I don't like about paleo pancakes is the length of time they take to cook. Out of all the recipes I have tried this one is the best! 5 minutes per side is acceptable timewise for me but still takes a while and is obviously just the nature of a paleo pancake. I followed the recipe with these changes: I used about triple the amount of almond milk and scooped a 1/4 measuring cup about half filled into a non-stick skillet oiled with coconut oil. I gently smooshed them flatter with the bottom of the measuring cup. I was able to get three 3 inch pancakes per batch for a total of 9. I added 1/2 cup of pumpkin along with the listed spices plus a bit of pumpkin pie spice and nutmeg plus a tiny smidge of cloves. I used baking powder instead of soda in the same amount listed. Topped with maple syrup and had sausage links to round out my paleo lunch. Taste and texture were wonderful! I would definitely make these yummy cakes again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by PaleoPam

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Monrovia, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 13, 2014
Worth the effort. The keys to making this recipe work are to make sure the batter is the right consistency and to keep the pancakes small in size. Add almond milk or water in small quantities until the batter is thin enough to mostly fall off a whisk, maybe even using 3 times the quantity of liquid called for in the recipe. In the pan I gently tamp down the top of each pancake as I set batter down with a large spoon or small ladle, keeping pancakes to no larger than 2 1/2" diameter. Because this recipe takes longer to make then regular pancakes, and the pancakes take longer to cook, I make a double batch and freeze the extras. Covered and refrigerated, the batter will also keep for several days. These are savory pancakes. Don't expect them to taste like regular pancakes, but they taste great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 30, 2014
I'm new to the paleo lifestyle and I'm still looking for good recipes. I absolutely loved these! I used coconut oil and nutmeg like other people suggested, and while these were really thick, they had a great texture and taste. Loved them!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 22, 2014
Only used cinnamon and nutmeg. Next time try adding pumpkin pie spice. Great texture,
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Canton, Ohio, USA
Living In: Cleveland, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 4, 2014
My first batch wasn't that great, couldn't taste the pumpkin. I doubled the amount of pumpkin in my next batch and it was great! The taste and texture were perfect.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 18, 2014
These are great Paleo pancakes. I did double the recipe and used Tbsp of grass fed butter and poured in a little extra almond milk to get a thinner pancake. As far as Paleo goes these are fantastic.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 4, 2014
but paleo pancakes so far
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 25, 2013
Yum! The whole family is lovin this! I recommend coconut or grapeseed oil instead of vegetable. For a family of four, with small kids, I recommend tripling it. Thank you thischris, these are fantastic!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Little Rock, Arkansas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 34) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Gourmet Chicken
Gourmet Chicken

We have over 150 different ways to take chicken from everyday to gourmet.

Springtime Salads
Springtime Salads

All the tenderest leaves, baby vegetables, and early fruits are ready for the picking.

Spring Sale! Only $5.99
Spring Sale! Only $5.99

Great recipes and cooking tips! For a limited time, get a year of Allrecipes Magazine for $5.99.

Related Videos

Fluffy Pancakes

See how to make tall, fluffy pancakes.

Chef John's Buckwheat Pancakes

A great pancake with 100% buckwheat flour!

How to Make Old-Fashioned Pancakes

See how to make classic diner-style pancakes.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States