Paleo Omelet Muffins Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Photo by naples34102
Reviewed: Dec. 9, 2012
These go by many names and I’ve tried a number of different recipes and variations. Every time I make them they are well-received; not only delicious, but conversation pieces as well! They make plain old scrambled eggs a little more special and a little more festive. (In fact, I’m thinking these just may be part of my Christmas breakfast menu when my whole gang comes home for Christmas) There are as many variations as there are ingredients you can think of to put in them! Chopped zucchini, broccoli, mushrooms, shredded cheese, bacon – all would be delicious. I adjusted the ingredients in this recipe to suit my tastes – for half a recipe, 4 eggs, I used 1/ 2 cup ham, about 2 T. each of finely diced red pepper and red onion, fresh minced chives, and about 2/3 shredded cheddar cheese. I also added a splash of milk. What’s important, I think, is to finely chop your vegetables to make sure they cook through in this brief cooking time and to make sure the muffin cups are filled almost to the top. I used silicone cups sprayed with Pam, and filled them with a 1/4 cup measuring cup. A four egg recipe, given the additions and proportions of ingredients I chose to use, made six muffins. I baked them just till set and not wet looking, about 22 minutes. A teeny dollop of sour cream and a sprinkling of minced red pepper and fresh chives dressed them up real pretty.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
429 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by naples34102

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Mequon, Wisconsin, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 12, 2013
These are great for big and little hands. I like to add chopped mushrooms and then saute' them lightly with veggies in a bit of butter before adding to egg mixture. This ensures that the veggies are not crunchy when muffins are done. My grand kids love to grab one and eat it on the way to the bus stop, daughter either eats one on the way to work or saves it for mid morning snack. I love them cold. Good stuff and my Sunday Morning Brunch Bunch requests them when brunch is at my house!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
161 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Gail Cobile

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Spotsylvania, Virginia, USA
Photo by Baking Nana
Reviewed: Dec. 8, 2012
Easy fast and pretty tasty too. I had to use yellow peppers, didn't have red. I scaled this back to 2 servings but still ended up with 7 egg muffins. I used a standard sized cupcake pan which I sprayed well with cooking spray. If you make the full recipe plan on getting more than 8 egg muffins. Thanks for a good breakfast, Becki.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
124 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Baking Nana

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Corona, California, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 8, 2013
This recipe is really good but I can say that it's NOT Paleo because we don't use bacon, sausage or ham in Paleo because of the salt & sugar contents. But I use chicken instead and it is great
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
41 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 16, 2013
These were a hit, even for the pickiest eater in my house, my 50-year-old "child" (lol). I was looking for a healthy grab-and-go breakfast that I could eat on my hour commute to work. These did the trick. I change out the ingredients to keep them from seeming like the same old thing. I've tried diced ham, bacon, different cheeses, onion, peppers, tomatoes, olives, chicken, spinach, and the list goes on... On the weekends, I bake them, slide them into single serve freezer bags, and HIDE them in the back of the freezer or they are gone before the week starts. Thanks for a great recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
40 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by TiffanyO2002

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Orlando, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by ReeRee's Kitchen
Reviewed: Jun. 2, 2013
I LOVE these muffins, and even my very picky daughter would eat them (that's a major score in my book!!!). Great to reheat in the morning for a quick and healthy breakfast.. Followed the recipes modifications outlined in Naples 34102 review (you clan NEVER go wrong following her feedback!). Added a little more than 1/3 cup each of finely chopped red pepper and onion, along with a Cup of finely chopped ham and roughly one cup shredded cheese to the 8 eggs. Added a splash of milk, filled using a 1/4 measuring cup. It made 17 reasonably-sized muffins using lightly greased (using non-stick spray) silicone muffin cups (these things are awesome, easy to clean & nothing sticks). The possibilities are endless with this recipe...thanks for sharing Becki!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
34 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ReeRee's Kitchen

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Dec. 16, 2013
Cute and yummy!! I made this using bacon, breakfast ham, and cheese based on my kids' omelet preferences. My only issue was that the omelette muffins stuck to my muffin liners a fair amount so next time I will either use better muffin liners or spray the liners with non-stick cooking spray. Thanks for a great recipe this is one of my new breakfast favorites!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 18, 2014
Parchment cup liners are the answer if you are having trouble with these delicious egg muffins sticking.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: Jan. 18, 2014
I made exactly as stated. The taste was great. I had an issue with them sticking in my pan sprayed with olive oil Pam but that was probably because they needed cooked a couple minutes more. My oven always cooks a little under-done. I actually got 10 muffins and I had filled the cups full. The leftovers are going to get frozen and then reheated in microwave with a bit of cheese sprinkled on them.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Pataskala, Ohio, USA
Living In: Syracuse, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 9, 2013
Made this recipe this morning, it was good. Made as written although I used milk instead of water. I have a larger muffin tin pan therefore using 4 eggs it made 3 larger servings. My husband ate 2 with toast, I had 1 with a slice of toast and we found the portion sizes to be just enough. I found the baking times to be accurate with this recipe. Will make again in the future, thank you for submitting this recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Burlington, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 92) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Dinner
Christmas Dinner

Magnificent main dishes for your holiday table are here, from roast beef to a Christmas goose.

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Paleo Omelet Muffins

See how to make the perfect paleo-friendly, grab-and-go breakfast treat.

Baked Brunch Omelet

A simple, savory baked egg casserole with plenty of ham and cheese.

Slow Cooker Western Omelet

An amazing ham and hash browns omelet you make in the slow cooker.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States