Paleo Chorizo Sweet Potato and Kale Stew Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Oct. 13, 2014
We live in a small town with one store, so I had to change a few things but this is a definite keeper!!!! No Kale - used fresh spinach (which I will continue to do), no Saffron - I used an extra 1/2 tsp of Tumaric, no Chorizo - I used Italian sausage. Otherwise, I followed it to the nth degree. It has room for more veggies, so I think I will try more carrots, sweet potato and spinach next time. The seasoning was wonderful... I didn't need to add salt at all. Thanks for such a wonderful recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 6, 2014
Fabulous! Great paleo soup that's hearty and delicious. Well done!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 2, 2014
yummo! Really good with complex flavours.. didn't have sausage so used chicken breast. I also was making for two, but used half of the veggies, spices and liquid specified for 8, there was a little too much but I will have the leftovers today for lunch! I substituted some of the chicken stock with half a can of tomatoes and didn't have any saffron so skipped that. Really needs the lemon, I wasn't sure about the taste until I added that at the end. Will definitely try with harissa next time. My husband liked it too, 'delicious' he said! Thanks for a great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 1, 2014
This recipe is a definite keeper!! My husband and I loved all the flavors. I did omit the Harissa but other than that, followed the recipe to the letter. I have made this twice within the last month and it will stay in my meal rotation!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 16, 2014
My boyfriend loved this! Definitely a keeper. Made this with boiled chicken instead since we don't eat pork. Didn't have Saffron or Harissa, so skipped those. I used the chicken broth that I boiled the chicken in. I quickly added red pepper and seasoning salt at the last minute, before I served it to him, because it needed a kick (he likes spicy). Thank you for a great recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 8, 2014
Amazing! I have made this stew many times. The first time I used italian spicy sausages and it was a great mix of flavors. Every other time I use the chorizo and my husband and I love it. He says both is good but the original recipe is better.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Blk Pearlz Dezine

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Montreal, Quebec, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 28, 2014
I made this as the recipe was written- to the letter. I am a lover of spice, and this was all heat without flavor. The little flavor it did offer was: salty. We are a family of five and not a single person ate this meal. I used pork Chorizo, perhaps that was the reason? No idea.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 23, 2014
Love this soup! I used jalepeno chicken sausage instead of chorizo. I've experimented with adding some different dried chiles to the spice mix including a tsp of ethiopian berbere or Chile Arbol (the chile base of harissa). Both are delicious and spicy additions to the flavor. I also like to double the amount of kale and use a combo of yams & sweet potatoes. The soup is really fun to experiment with!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 20, 2014
I am in LOVE! Finally a healthy soup I have made that has flavor!! The best I am enjoying it right now!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 10, 2014
Pretty good! I had to adjust the spices, and will probably leave out the saffron the next time as I feel like it overpowers the rest of the amazing flavors. I also added Sriracha, and used a curry blend instead of turmeric. Shredded carrots work great and add nicely to the consistency. I also left out one of the teaspoons of salt and would probably use low-sodium broth the next time I make this. The spices and lemon juice add a ton of flavor without needing excess salt.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mblanzaco

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: New Haven, Connecticut, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 32) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

Sweet Potato Puff

Learn how to make sweet potato puff topped with crunchy pralines.

Potato Chicken Stew

See how to make a chicken stew loaded with mixed veggies, herbs, and spices.

Yummy Sweet Potato Casserole

This sweet potato casserole is sure to become a holiday favorite.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States