Paleo Banana Bread Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Sep. 3, 2012
We made this for breakfast. Perfect!! Hearty, moist, and tasty. I added an extra bannana and a handful of quinoa flour . I love that it's low in fat, high in protein, and has no sugar. Everyone loves it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
50 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 30, 2012
Very moist; great bread! I used almond meal instead of almond flour and honey instead of agave. I have tried other grain free/paleo breads, but this one is much more moist and flavorful. I did have to cook mine about 50 minutes. Will definitely make again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
38 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 25, 2012
I customized this recipe a bit to make it more kid-friendly. I used 1cup almond meal and 1 cup baking flour and then added a streusel topping (2 Tbl softened butter, 1/4 cup brown sugar, 2Tbl rolled oats, and 1/2 tsp cinnamon). It was delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
32 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 12, 2013
These are delicious! I made them with about a 1/2 c raisins and cut down on the agave for some shredded coconut. Also, I subbed1/4 of the almond meal (1/2 c.) with ground flax seed, which I always do with almond-based recipes to help retain a little more moisture. This is a fantastic foundation recipe to continue tweaking with the ingredients I have on hand. Also, I used a mini-loaf pan (4 loaves instead of 1 large one) and they baked perfectly in 45 minutes. Grain-free quick breads often perform better in smaller baking sizes since the leavening agent has to do less work.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 29, 2012
Followed the recipe to a T ... but when the loaf was still jiggly in the loaf pan after the allotted time, I covered the top with a tent of aluminum foil and gave it another 15 minutes. Loaf was a toasty golden brown all over. Let it sit in the pan for an hour after removing it from the oven. It was as dense and wet as a saturated sponge. Smelled great, but the flavor was absent and the consistency was mealy. Let it sit overnite and tried it the next morning -- no improvement. Disappointed.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 24, 2013
Really delicious. And so healthy! I used maple syrup instead of agave. Skipped the almond extract. Used vanilla extract instead of vanilla bean paste. And added a handful of raisins. It takes longer to cook than the recommended time. It might do better in two smaller loaf pans.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 8, 2013
used apple sauce instead of syrup..too dry..addmore apple sauce
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 7, 2013
I doubled the recipe, used 6 small bananas and no sweetener. I baked it in an 8x8 pan and left it in the oven for 20 minutes longer. It smelled AMAZING while baking. Came out a beautiful dark brown. It was a bit more wet than I like even with the extra 20 minutes baking time, but the 2 extra bananas probably had something to do with that. The flavor was wonderful and will definitely make it again in a 9x13 pan or as muffins to have more baking surface. Very nice.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: San Antonio, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 9, 2012
I wondered if these would be really heavy and dense, but they were just the opposite! I made the recipe into muffins and they were delicious! I added a streusel topping which made it even yummier!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 7, 2014
After reading the reviews, I decided to try this recipe as muffins instead of a loaf and they turned out wonderfully! Here are the revisions I made: ~ Added 1/2 tsp of ground nutmeg ~ Increased the cinnamon to 1 1/2 tbsp ~ Used vanilla soy milk instead of water ~ Used vanilla extract instead of almond (didn't have any almond extract on hand) ~ Used a combo of agave and real maple syrup (1/8c each) ~ Added 3/4 cup of extra dark 65% cacao chocolate chips The muffins were super moist but firm and I WILL be making these again! Oh, and I used a muffin pan with light spray of oil instead of paper cups because paper cups tend to stick way too much. Thank you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 28) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

The Season’s Best Sides
The Season’s Best Sides

Complete the meal with your favorite holiday side dishes.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Grain Free Banana Bread

Discover the secret ingredient to a gluten- and grain-free banana bread.

Gluten-Free Banana Bread

See how to make a kid-approved banana bread with gluten-free flour.

The Best Banana Bread

Here’s a versatile banana bread for banana bread purists.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States