Paleo Banana Bread Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Dec. 15, 2013
Did some tweaking: substituted almond milk for 1/2 water, ground flax for 1/4 almond flour, honey for agave. Stuck with almond extract. Used small loaf pans and it filled 3 pans just over 1/2 way, all cooked nicely in 45 mins. Due to picket eaters in my house one loaf was plain, one with choc chip morsels, one with choc morsels and walnuts. The choc chips definitely added needed sweetness, and the walnuts topped off the yummy-ness. Agree with reviewer that this is a great base with which to experiment. Without chips would add more honey or other sweetener.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 2, 2013
I followed the recipe exact except I left out the vanilla bean paste and added another banana. I poured the batter into a muffin tin that held six large muffins. I baked them for 45 mins at 350 and they came out absolutely perfect consistency! They were moist and delicious with just the right amount of sweet. So yummy and will make again for sure!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 13, 2013
Very good and moist. Needed something not sure what.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 8, 2013
I loved this recipe. Thanks. I am new to the paleo diet and the muffins I made with this recipe totally helped me with my cravings for bread. I'm making more muffins today. :) Yay.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 12, 2013
These are delicious! I made them with about a 1/2 c raisins and cut down on the agave for some shredded coconut. Also, I subbed1/4 of the almond meal (1/2 c.) with ground flax seed, which I always do with almond-based recipes to help retain a little more moisture. This is a fantastic foundation recipe to continue tweaking with the ingredients I have on hand. Also, I used a mini-loaf pan (4 loaves instead of 1 large one) and they baked perfectly in 45 minutes. Grain-free quick breads often perform better in smaller baking sizes since the leavening agent has to do less work.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Airworthy
Reviewed: Apr. 9, 2013
i made muffins with this recipe. it was really good and hit the spot. I think next time i will use 4 bananas instead of 3. it was moist but outside was a little crispy. my fault, i'm sure, after reading reviews i added 10 mins so it would cook thoroughly and think i cooked it too much. we really enjoyed it and will make again without a doubt.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Airworthy

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Muscle Shoals, Alabama, USA
Living In: Chandler, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 6, 2013
I followed the recipe exactly, but mine fell apart when I tried to take it out of the pan. I was way too moist.(yes I did oil my pan)Maybe it's my almond flour. It's Bob's Red Mill Almond meal/flour. The taste was excellent. It's the first bread I had in 3 weeks. I will try it again when I find almond flour.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 24, 2013
The texture is mealy and it's not that flavorful. Very disappointed in this. I took it out after 45 minutes and decided it wasn't done yet, so put it in for an additional 15 minutes. The outside was golden brown, but inside is like oatmeal.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Hamilton, Montana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 27, 2013
Not my favorite paleo BB recipe. Try using Almond Butter and Sunflower Butter. Adds a nice touch.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 24, 2013
Really delicious. And so healthy! I used maple syrup instead of agave. Skipped the almond extract. Used vanilla extract instead of vanilla bean paste. And added a handful of raisins. It takes longer to cook than the recommended time. It might do better in two smaller loaf pans.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 28) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Turkey
Top Turkey

Choose from dozens of top-rated roast turkey recipes, from stuffed to deep-fried.

2014 Pie Countdown
2014 Pie Countdown

We're counting down from now until Thanksgiving with a great pie every day. Join the fun.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Grain Free Banana Bread

Discover the secret ingredient to a gluten- and grain-free banana bread.

Gluten-Free Banana Bread

See how to make a kid-approved banana bread with gluten-free flour.

The Best Banana Bread

Here’s a versatile banana bread for banana bread purists.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States