Pakistani Style Vegetables Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jun. 2, 2013
Definately need to add some salt and sugar, more so than what is called for. Also added chicken and it was very good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 9, 2011
Good--but WAY too much water. I used butternut squash instead of potatoes, and it seemed to work perfectly...but only add that 1st 1/4 cup of water, then see if you really need to add any more.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by sueb
Reviewed: May 18, 2010
I used 1/2 tsp. ground black pepper for lack of peppercorns, and eliminated the salt. This has great flavors! I'll be making this again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by sueb

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Prattville, Alabama, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 14, 2009
This recipe had some really good flavors. I reduced the turmeric to only 1 tsp. because I find it to be a strong flavor which I don't usually like to predominant a dish. I added plain yogurt as some reviewers suggested and it was a really good taste. Thanks for sharing:)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 3, 2009
This was spicy and delicious! I used a pack of shredded cole-slaw mix and eyeballed the spices. I used turkey stock instead of water. I would definitely make it again. YUM.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by cookychef
Reviewed: Oct. 23, 2008
Of all the Pakistani recipes I have made, this is the only one that actually tastes Pakistani. It was a lot of work to make it, but it made a lot. It's very spicy, so I would lessen the spices if you don't want it that way. I made this recipe exactly as written.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 2, 2008
I played around with the spices a little, and I also decreased the amount of potato called for as Husband isn't a big fan. Turned out great, though I wish I had added some chicken. Served it with basmati rice and paratha. Not bad at all. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Caroline C

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Fort Lupton, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 22, 2008
This recipe was great for a lot of reasons. It was incredibly flavorful, and the taste just improved as leftovers and after freezing. It's low-fat, low calorie, high fiber, and packed with vitamins. It's easy to make substitutions using what you have on hand. It's cheap! I made this for my book club when we met after reading "Three Cups of Tea," which takes place in Pakistan. Since there were 10 of us, I doubled the recipe and hoped it would be enough. It made a HUGE amount of food. What was supposed to be 8 servings turned out to be closer to 20--though it was served as a side dish. Even if I had only made a single recipe, it still wouldn't have fit in a medium saucepan! I followed the recipe relatively closely, with probably a little extra on the spices. The next time, I plan to try yams instead of potatoes. I served this with Pakistani Spicy Chickpeas from this site, basmati rice (cooked in a rice cooker with 3 whole cardamon pods, some turmeric, and a pinch of saffron), and frozen naan (Indian bread) from Trader Joes. I love Indian food, and this was close, but a lot less greasy. Do check out the detailed nutrition information on this recipe. I am in awe that anything that tastes this good can be so good for you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Devils Lake, North Dakota, USA
Living In: Portland, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 3, 2004
Too much tumeric and way too much water. Would have been tasty with much less of both and more spices. Disappointing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 28, 2004
Easy to make and a wonderful flavour.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 13) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Brick-Oven Pizza (Brooklyn Style)

See how to make authentic brick-oven cheese pizza from scratch.

Restaurant Style Beef and Broccoli

See how easy it is to make this classic Chinese takeout dish at home.

Roast Lamb with Root Vegetables

What's cooking in Polson? This impressive lamb dish.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States