Pakistani Spicy Chickpeas Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: May 2, 2007
I used other suggestions and the it turned out okay...much better the next day.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LJANAY44

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 15, 2006
I used three tomatoes and added tomato paste to make it a more even consistency. I also added some cinnamon and cardamon to the beans. My dinner guests were skeptical but everyone conceeded that the beans were delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by KATRICK123

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Krakow, Lesser Poland, Poland
Living In: Oklahoma City, Oklahoma, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 1, 2006
The lemon pepper in this recipe kind of overpowered the rest of the flavors, and I didn't think the recipe was exceptionally good. A good meal to make once but that's it. It is easy to make but just doesn't quite hit the spot.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 10, 2006
This is a basically good recipe that needs a bit of flavour and interest added. I add about 1 tsbp of chaat masala (available from Indian groceries) towards the end of cooking and serve with puffed rice - yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Mark P
Reviewed: Dec. 4, 2005
Quite satisfying. (I wouldn't call it spicy, however.) The Chickpea Curry recipe on this site is a bit tastier, if my memory serves me correctly.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Berkeley, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 30, 2005
This dish is fabulous (with a little tweaking). I added a little bit of cinnamon, curry, and garlic to it and doubled the chili powder... with fantastic results.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 14, 2005
As there are no times listed on this recipe, every cook will have different results. I followed the recipe until I stewed the tomatoes, but the taste was a bit tame, so I doubled everything, with decent results. I also added a bit of coriander, cloves and raisins; garlic, a little curry, and a half-tsp of cayenne and it worked out well. I'm not sure if the recipie here is dumbed-down for Amerikans, but my Pakistani friend's version tastes more like the one I made, with cloves, raisins, coriander and who knows what else. PS
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 10, 2005
This was edible but not something i would make again. and i LOVE chickpeas
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 30, 2005
Good, but definitely not fantastic. I made the recipe as per the instructions, and I didn't care for it at all. It was very bland and the texture wasn't great. I pretty much doubled all the spices and cooked it longer and then it tasted much better. I also added some garlic. It was even better the next day (which is why it gets 4 stars instead of 3).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Halifax, Nova Scotia, Canada
Living In: New York, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Caroline C
Reviewed: Mar. 16, 2005
The flavor was good but because the chickpeas hardly softened at all, the texture was pretty unpleasant. I think the seasonings would work well with cauliflower/potato/peas.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Caroline C

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Fort Lupton, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-50 (of 64) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Indian Chickpeas

See how to make garbanzo beans simmered with Indian spices.

Spicy Vegan Potato Curry

See how to make a spicy vegan curry with chickpeas and potatoes.

Spicy Baked Sweet Potato Fries

See how to make healthy baked sweet potato fries with a spicy kick.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States