Pakistani Spicy Chickpeas Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Dec. 11, 2007
This was a great vegetarian dish! I only made two changes - I used ground cumin instead of seeds (so I added the tomatoes and all of the dry seasonings to the pan first thing) and I added the onions a few minutes before the chickpeas so they could cook longer. I left it on low heat on the stove until the juice was thick and the it was delicious! I will definitely make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
63 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Eaton Rapids, Michigan, USA
Living In: Pinckney, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 26, 2001
This recipe is easy to follow and I've gotten many thanks for serving it. The only alteration I made was to mash about half the chickpeas to make it a little creamier. This can also be done with the food processor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
40 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by thamesarino
Reviewed: Sep. 12, 2008
This was so easy and super yummy. My toddler and even the baby(almost a year) both devoured it. I used tomatoes fresh from our garden(super sweet) and served it with broiled slices of fresh baby eggplant and zucchini(from the garden) and all of it together made a fabulous lunch, which tasted even better the next day!****EDIT/UPDATE**** Yesterday, I tried this for the first time with canned tomatoes instead of fresh(the season is over) and thought that an update was neccesary. I used a 15 oz can of petite diced tomatoes which worked out well, but b/c of the difference in flavor I ended up doubling all the spices, and also added about 1/2 tbsp of ground cumin as well to get the same flavor I was used to with the fresh tomatoes. Also just to add, like others have stated, I saute the onions adding them to the seeds, and then add the tomatoes. This is still one of my favortie go-to lunches! : )
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
39 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by thamesarino

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 29, 2011
Yummy!!! I also took 1/3 of the chickpeas and pureed them in the food processor to make the sauce creamier and the recipe turned out delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
25 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by magnoliakng

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 3, 2007
First of all, two tomatoes is not enough. I used 7 roma tomatoes and wish I had used about 10. Secondly, why put the onions in last? Shouldn't they be sauteed first so they aren't hard? I put the tomatoes infirst and then simmered the seasonings. I also had to double the cumin and chili powder.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by crunchy
Reviewed: Dec. 8, 2009
We really enjoyed this recipe! I loved how easy it was and it was delicious- I served it over rice as a main dish. It's a good way to take a break from meat during the week, and it's cheap too as long as you already have some of the spices on hand.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by crunchy

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Syracuse, New York, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 22, 2010
My favorite recipe from this site so far! I only had canned tomatoes so I simmered the spices and tomatoes until they broke down. I doubled the spices and only used 1 can of beans to make it really saucy. I also added garlic, because I add garlic to everything :o)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Boise, Idaho, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 17, 2001
This was great cold as well. Very easy to make the night before--just hold off on adding the chickpeas until the next day so they don't get too soft.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 1, 2011
Great recipe - although I changed the spices around a bit. I used garam masala rather than just cumin, and also added a bit of tumeric and ginger. I had no lemon juice - or lemon pepper - on hand, so I used orange juice instead. I served it over couscous, it turned out fantastic!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by shhubbar

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Tucson, Arizona, USA
Living In: Galway, County Galway, Ireland

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 7, 2011
This was FANTABULOUS! I added a little more chili powder and some cayenne pepper for more of a kick (I like it spicy)! This is a keeper!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Blackbottomcupcake

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Wauwatosa, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 64) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Dinner
Christmas Dinner

Magnificent main dishes for your holiday table are here, from roast beef to a Christmas goose.

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Indian Chickpeas

See how to make garbanzo beans simmered with Indian spices.

Spicy Vegan Potato Curry

See how to make a spicy vegan curry with chickpeas and potatoes.

Spicy Baked Sweet Potato Fries

See how to make healthy baked sweet potato fries with a spicy kick.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States