Pakistani Spicy Chickpeas Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Dec. 11, 2007
This was a great vegetarian dish! I only made two changes - I used ground cumin instead of seeds (so I added the tomatoes and all of the dry seasonings to the pan first thing) and I added the onions a few minutes before the chickpeas so they could cook longer. I left it on low heat on the stove until the juice was thick and the it was delicious! I will definitely make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
63 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Eaton Rapids, Michigan, USA
Living In: Pinckney, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by thamesarino
Reviewed: Sep. 12, 2008
This was so easy and super yummy. My toddler and even the baby(almost a year) both devoured it. I used tomatoes fresh from our garden(super sweet) and served it with broiled slices of fresh baby eggplant and zucchini(from the garden) and all of it together made a fabulous lunch, which tasted even better the next day!****EDIT/UPDATE**** Yesterday, I tried this for the first time with canned tomatoes instead of fresh(the season is over) and thought that an update was neccesary. I used a 15 oz can of petite diced tomatoes which worked out well, but b/c of the difference in flavor I ended up doubling all the spices, and also added about 1/2 tbsp of ground cumin as well to get the same flavor I was used to with the fresh tomatoes. Also just to add, like others have stated, I saute the onions adding them to the seeds, and then add the tomatoes. This is still one of my favortie go-to lunches! : )
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
39 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by thamesarino

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 26, 2001
This recipe is easy to follow and I've gotten many thanks for serving it. The only alteration I made was to mash about half the chickpeas to make it a little creamier. This can also be done with the food processor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
39 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 29, 2011
Yummy!!! I also took 1/3 of the chickpeas and pureed them in the food processor to make the sauce creamier and the recipe turned out delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
25 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by magnoliakng

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 3, 2007
First of all, two tomatoes is not enough. I used 7 roma tomatoes and wish I had used about 10. Secondly, why put the onions in last? Shouldn't they be sauteed first so they aren't hard? I put the tomatoes infirst and then simmered the seasonings. I also had to double the cumin and chili powder.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by crunchy
Reviewed: Dec. 8, 2009
We really enjoyed this recipe! I loved how easy it was and it was delicious- I served it over rice as a main dish. It's a good way to take a break from meat during the week, and it's cheap too as long as you already have some of the spices on hand.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by crunchy

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Syracuse, New York, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 22, 2010
My favorite recipe from this site so far! I only had canned tomatoes so I simmered the spices and tomatoes until they broke down. I doubled the spices and only used 1 can of beans to make it really saucy. I also added garlic, because I add garlic to everything :o)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Boise, Idaho, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 17, 2001
This was great cold as well. Very easy to make the night before--just hold off on adding the chickpeas until the next day so they don't get too soft.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 1, 2011
Great recipe - although I changed the spices around a bit. I used garam masala rather than just cumin, and also added a bit of tumeric and ginger. I had no lemon juice - or lemon pepper - on hand, so I used orange juice instead. I served it over couscous, it turned out fantastic!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by shhubbar

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Tucson, Arizona, USA
Living In: Galway, County Galway, Ireland

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 7, 2011
This was FANTABULOUS! I added a little more chili powder and some cayenne pepper for more of a kick (I like it spicy)! This is a keeper!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Blackbottomcupcake

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Wauwatosa, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 64) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Cool Weather Salads
Cool Weather Salads

Fall and winter salads bring bright flavors to your favorite meals.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Related Videos

Indian Chickpeas

See how to make garbanzo beans simmered with Indian spices.

Spicy Vegan Potato Curry

See how to make a spicy vegan curry with chickpeas and potatoes.

Spicy Baked Sweet Potato Fries

See how to make healthy baked sweet potato fries with a spicy kick.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States