Pakistani Spicy Chickpeas Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Aug. 8, 2012
These are the changes I made: 1can Diced Tomatoes (instead of fresh) Black Pepper and Lemon Juice (instead of lemon pepper) Ground Cumin (instead of cumin seeds) Cayenne Pepper (instead of chili powder) It came out amazing! I'm fasting for Ramadan and I've never made this before so I took a chance. Turns out this is something I will definitely be making in the near future. It didn't come out at spicy as I thought it would be since I was stingy on the cayenne pepper powder. (My hubby LOVES spicy and I can't eat it if it burns all my taste buds off; I figured if it didn't pack enough heat for him, he could just add hot sauce). In the end I have to give this 5 stars. It was easy to make and came out delicious. =) Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 23, 2012
I absolutely loved this recipe! I added an extra tomato because mine were pretty small and only used one can of chick peas so that I would have a more saucy dish, but otherwise followed the recipe exactly. Delicious! Can't wait to make it again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Toledo, Ohio, USA
Living In: Virginia Beach, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 9, 2012
Yummy and quick! I did not have cumin seeds so just used powder and no lemon pepper on hand so just black pepper and a little extra fresh lemon juice. I used only 1 can chickpeas but kept the 2 tomatoes, which was perfect for our taste. I added a shake of cayenne pepper. Thanks - this will be my go-to Indian chickpea recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by In-a-Pickle

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Toronto, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Portland, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 2, 2011
Absolutely delicious, very similar to the chickpeas served in my favorite restaurant.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Belleamoura

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Linden, Indiana, USA
Living In: Waveland, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 8, 2011
This is one of my favorite veggie recipes. I usually add more of the spices ( but hey, I'm a spicy chick). Cumin seeds are frickin' DE-Lish! I take this for lunch at least once a week...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 7, 2011
This was FANTABULOUS! I added a little more chili powder and some cayenne pepper for more of a kick (I like it spicy)! This is a keeper!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Blackbottomcupcake

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Wauwatosa, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 1, 2011
I really enjoyed this recipe, another way to eat garbanzo beans. I did add more salt because it was lacking some flavor and i added only one can of garbanzo beans. Thanks for the idea i will make again!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Asheboro, North Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 1, 2011
Great recipe - although I changed the spices around a bit. I used garam masala rather than just cumin, and also added a bit of tumeric and ginger. I had no lemon juice - or lemon pepper - on hand, so I used orange juice instead. I served it over couscous, it turned out fantastic!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by shhubbar

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Tucson, Arizona, USA
Living In: Galway, County Galway, Ireland

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 23, 2011
This was delicious! I used a can of diced tomatoes because I didn't have fresh, and left out the oil to make it healthier. I added summer squash and okra for some added color and bulk. I served over quinoa. Very Healthy, very flavorful. I will make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 5, 2011
Tasted like Indian salsa. The onion and cilantro needs to be cooked for a longer time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by daveycooks

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Wayne, New Jersey, USA
Living In: Hawthorne, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 64) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

Indian Chickpeas

See how to make garbanzo beans simmered with Indian spices.

Spicy Vegan Potato Curry

See how to make a spicy vegan curry with chickpeas and potatoes.

Spicy Baked Sweet Potato Fries

See how to make healthy baked sweet potato fries with a spicy kick.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States