Pakistani Spicy Chickpeas Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jun. 10, 2013
I was thoroughly impressed with this recipe. Taking one of the reviews into account, I replaced the tomatoes with a full can of crushed tomatoes so I could serve it over rice. I also added a bit more lemon juice, since I love the tartness. So good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 17, 2013
I think the toasted cumin seeds make this dish. I brown them in the oil (although I use less oil...1/2-1 Tbs.) along with the other spices and salt. I use black pepper instead of lemon pepper. Then I add the onions to saute them a while before adding the tomatoes and chickpeas. I have used fresh tomatoes and canned, but I like to puree them in the food processor first. I usually serve this with Jasmine rice and hummus and pita bread. Thanks for a great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 15, 2013
Overall, I didn't like it. It wasn't spicy, it had a couple good notes of flavor but wasn't very well-rounded, etc. Could have used A LOT or garlic and perhaps something to make the sauce a little thicker/creamier. We ate it as a main dish, but it needed a lot of doctoring to make it palatable for us after we made it the way the recipe called for it. I'm sorry, it sounded great and I wanted to like it...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 13, 2013
This is one of our absolutely favorite Meatless Monday recipes! We serve it on a mix of quinoa and bulgur with a green salad on the side. With fresh tomatoes, I double the spices. When tomatoes are out of season, I use the canned and triple the spices. I also add the onions before the chickpeas so that they have more time to soften. This is one of our go-to recipes, especially since, when making it with canned ingredients or straight from the garden, it's both YUMMY AS ALL GET OUT and incredibly inexpensive for all of its nutritional value!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 25, 2013
I have a tomato allergy so I had to remove that ingredient. I just added 2 or 3 times the suggested amount of seasonings to make sure I really got a good flavor. But this was a great recipe. My whole family enjoyed it, even our picky eater.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 8, 2013
Delicious! I'd give it five stars but I altered the recipe a fair bit. Used 2x to 3x the amount of spices called for, added a lot of cayenne and cumin, and included half a jalapeno, minced. Cooked this all down in the oil with the onion. Then substituted the tomatoes with a can of no-salt diced tomatoes with juice, cooked the chickpeas down in the 'sauce' for about 20 minutes, and finally tossed in a half-bag of spinach for a bit more substance. It's great to get my carnivore boyfriend to enjoy vegan food! :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 20, 2013
This is a good recipe. It's healthy and budget friendly. However, I added extra cumin, chili powder and tomatoes. I served it over couscous.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by pinkie56

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 21, 2012
I made this on a whim, so I used ground cumin and a can of chili tomatoes. But it was great, I will be making this again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Emrlderin

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Casper, Wyoming, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 7, 2012
We loved this recipe. It was a little more spicy than I expected for my kids but perfect for me and the husband.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by getsa

Cooking Level: Beginning

Reviewed: Oct. 3, 2012
I found this recipe on another website last winter and absolutely loved it. I use mustard seed and cumin seed, and add freshly chopped parsley. Also, I typically use coconut oil (which surprisingly doesn't affect the flavor). This is an awesome vegetarian/vegan dish that is very filling when paired with brown rice. Awesome.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Carly

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 64) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Dinner
Christmas Dinner

Magnificent main dishes for your holiday table are here, from roast beef to a Christmas goose.

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Indian Chickpeas

See how to make garbanzo beans simmered with Indian spices.

Spicy Vegan Potato Curry

See how to make a spicy vegan curry with chickpeas and potatoes.

Spicy Baked Sweet Potato Fries

See how to make healthy baked sweet potato fries with a spicy kick.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States