Pakistani Potato Chicken Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Feb. 15, 2002
Made two batches of this recipe. First one was too mild for everyone who tried it but I doubled the spices and yogurt for the second one and it was great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
19 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 14, 2002
Very, very good. I used garlic powder instead of paste increased the yogurt and also added red chiles finely diced for extra kick. Note that you had add the potatoes to the chicken mixture sooner than the recipe says, as a way to save time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 24, 2005
Definitely needed altering as others suggested in their reviews. I double the spices and yoghurt and added 2 t each of Turmeric and Chicken Stock. Also needed to add about 2 cups of warm water to cook the potato. Was really nice and filling with the alterations.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Nelson, Nelson-Marlborough, New Zealand

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 15, 2004
I love this recipe and have made it for a few years to rave reviews of friends and family. Like many other reviewers, however, I usually double the yogurt and spices. It's also worked well with the addition of chickpeas and a couple of diced tomatoes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 8, 2002
This is such an easy and delicious meal. I agree with another review I saw, though. We intend to double the spices and yogurt the next time we make it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 11, 2005
I altered this recipe a little because I had to use the spices I had at home. I used garam masala, some sambar powder, and ground ginger. I made this for my bf who is from Pakistan and he liked it ok. He only liked the chicken, but he is a picky eater. I had to add MUCH more spices than the recipe called for, probably at least tripled the amount, and he said the spices were just right, but he likes it very spicy. For the Americanized version, I still think it would be better to add a little more spices than the recipe calls for. I also had to use more yogurt at the last minute than it called for to give it a creamier consistency and it still got a little dry. Overall, good flavor, but double yogurt and spices. Might cook again minus the vegetables as my bf is such a picky eater.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MrsPari

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Auburn, Alabama, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 27, 2002
Tasted very good, but not a family favorite. Even though it didn't please everyone it was enjoyable. I most likely will not make it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 11, 2002
This definitely had a "different" taste to it. But my boyfriend and I really liked it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 3, 2007
Obviously as other reviewers said, there needs to be MUCH more spices. I used fresh onion, ginger, garlic-- all doubled. For more authentic flavors, instead of increasing the yogurt I added TONS of coconut milk (otherwise it would be extremely dry). It helped give this dish a great taste. Other spices I threw in were tumeric, cinnamon, salt & pepper. Still could usa a little more flavor and I would recommend adding something with a little kick. Overall it's a great base for a recipe to make your own.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Salt Lake City, Utah, USA
Living In: Kuala Lumpur, Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 21, 2005
I was looking forward to making this dish and was surprisingly disappointed. It was edible but nothing special. This is not a recipe I would make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 18) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

Potato Chicken Stew

See how to make a chicken stew loaded with mixed veggies, herbs, and spices.

Herbes de Provence Roasted Chicken & Potatoes

See how to create a sensational baked chicken meal in 3 simple steps.

Indian Tomato Chicken

See how to make chicken thighs simmered with tomatoes and exotic spices.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States