Pakistani Lentil Curry Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Apr. 7, 2009
I had to interrupt my work day and my lunch to rate this one - I am eating the leftovers for lunch today and this is by far the best lentil recipe I have ever made. I took the advice of some of the others - doubled the spices and added shredded carrots and bite-size potato chunks - and used the full amount of water, which was almost completely absorbed in the cooking. I skipped the final step of adding milk, but only because I forgot. DELICIOUS. Served it with flatbread and some crumbled feta the first night. Having it with wild rice today. Love it. Thank you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
24 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 27, 2011
Excellent flavors -- aromatic, spicy, but (as written) mild enough even for less adventurous diners -- well balanced. Like most traditional recipes, this one can be adjusted to the palettes of those you'll be serving. I do plan to increase the cayenne next time, but still found it delicious. My fiance, who is not picky but doesn't normally eat much, cleaned his plate. I made only two small changes: first, I used whole rather than ground coriander -- I think I used about two teaspoons worth -- since I had no ground coriander and didn't feel like taking time to grind it. Second, I threw in a can of chick peas, drained, and cooked them with the lentils: not a necessary addition, but they went beautifully with the lentils and spices. For accompaniment, I steamed about 1/4 of a smallish green cabbage, cut into four chunks, on top of the lentils for the last 6 or 8 minutes. I served the curry with rice, home-made flatbreads, and a modified tzaziki sauce. In short, Jerry Javed's Pakistani Lentil Curry is guaranteed to become a part of my regularly recipe rotation. One more caveat -- households of two, such as mine, may want to halve the recipe. It makes a lot! That said, I'm looking forward to lentil curry for breakfast tomorrow morning!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mystif

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Wethersfield, Connecticut, USA
Living In: Louisville, Kentucky, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 15, 2011
I didn't soak my lentils (used all red) and still found it soupy, but it was still delicious! SO cheap and easy - low-cal, too! I doubled all spices and found it was perfect (I like spice). Served over quinoa because I had some made already. Was out of milk, but topped with a little FF sour cream and cilantro. Yum.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 26, 2010
I followed this using freshly ground spices, served over rice. I didn't bother soaking my lentils, I threw them in and boiled for about 40 minutes. I forgot the milk but it was perfect anyway. I eat lentils several times a week, I'm always looking for new and interesting dishes. This one quickly became my favorite. De-licious. Do taste as you cook so you can adjust spices for your preference. I like to put in diced carrots and potatoes or sweet potatoes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: The Woodlands, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Jessica Paige
Reviewed: Jul. 29, 2010
I did not have a problem with it being too runny as others had mentioned. I truly think that the problem lies with soaking the lentils overnight (and if you are using the right type). Lentils have such a short cooking time comparatively speaking to other legumes, they don't need a soak. As an aside: I thought this was great and paired well with the Curried Chicken Salad, I had made for lunches this week. Next time, I might add carrots and double the spices except for the cayenne. But I think the spice problem is that mine are too old..oh darn, time to shop for new spices. Thank you JERRYJAVED for sharing this recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jessica Paige

Cooking Level: Professional

Home Town: Lancaster, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Havertown, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 30, 2007
I used this recipe as a guide. Per the last reviewer I added the sauted onions, bell peppers and squash without the canaynne pepper. I added 1 can of diced tomatoes with chiles that made it spicey. Good change from the regular lentil recipes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 29, 2008
I also reduced the liquid to 2 cups, then added some leftover pork roast. It turned out very good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 8, 2008
great cheap meal!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by NYSMILEZ

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Brooklyn, New York, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 18, 2011
This is a delicious recipe for lentils as well as very healthy. I tried it when visiting friends in Morocco and the family loved it. It's a keeper for us!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by craftygal

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 25, 2011
I made this for dinner last night for my six kids and they all loved it. Served the leftovers for lunch again today with some leftover lamb thrown in and wrapped up in a tortilla- absolutely to die for!! The lamb flavors blend perfectly with this dish. I did double all the spices except cayenne. I have very hot cayenne and so the original amount was more than enough to balance out the additional other spices.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 37) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Dinner in the Fast Lane
Dinner in the Fast Lane

Get quick & easy recipes for your busiest days.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Red Lentil Curry

See how to make a quick-and-easy vegetarian curry.

Indian Chicken Curry II

This homemade Indian chicken curry dish is so delicious, you won’t miss takeout.

Spicy Vegan Potato Curry

See how to make a spicy vegan curry with chickpeas and potatoes.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States