Pakistani Lentil Curry Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Oct. 24, 2011
I followed the advice of other reviewers and doubled the spices except for the cayenne. I also roasted a butternut squash and added the chunks of that into the dal. This was super good and super easy. For my first time ever cooking lentils, this was a great choice. Going out to get more lentils to make this again. Thanks for the great recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Old Bridge, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 15, 2011
I didn't soak my lentils (used all red) and still found it soupy, but it was still delicious! SO cheap and easy - low-cal, too! I doubled all spices and found it was perfect (I like spice). Served over quinoa because I had some made already. Was out of milk, but topped with a little FF sour cream and cilantro. Yum.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 27, 2011
Excellent flavors -- aromatic, spicy, but (as written) mild enough even for less adventurous diners -- well balanced. Like most traditional recipes, this one can be adjusted to the palettes of those you'll be serving. I do plan to increase the cayenne next time, but still found it delicious. My fiance, who is not picky but doesn't normally eat much, cleaned his plate. I made only two small changes: first, I used whole rather than ground coriander -- I think I used about two teaspoons worth -- since I had no ground coriander and didn't feel like taking time to grind it. Second, I threw in a can of chick peas, drained, and cooked them with the lentils: not a necessary addition, but they went beautifully with the lentils and spices. For accompaniment, I steamed about 1/4 of a smallish green cabbage, cut into four chunks, on top of the lentils for the last 6 or 8 minutes. I served the curry with rice, home-made flatbreads, and a modified tzaziki sauce. In short, Jerry Javed's Pakistani Lentil Curry is guaranteed to become a part of my regularly recipe rotation. One more caveat -- households of two, such as mine, may want to halve the recipe. It makes a lot! That said, I'm looking forward to lentil curry for breakfast tomorrow morning!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by tanoshinde

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Wethersfield, Connecticut, USA
Living In: Louisville, Kentucky, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 25, 2011
I made this for dinner last night for my six kids and they all loved it. Served the leftovers for lunch again today with some leftover lamb thrown in and wrapped up in a tortilla- absolutely to die for!! The lamb flavors blend perfectly with this dish. I did double all the spices except cayenne. I have very hot cayenne and so the original amount was more than enough to balance out the additional other spices.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 18, 2011
This is a delicious recipe for lentils as well as very healthy. I tried it when visiting friends in Morocco and the family loved it. It's a keeper for us!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by craftygal

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 17, 2010
The reviews helped a lot. Thanks for the recipe, not bland at all.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Jessica Paige
Reviewed: Jul. 29, 2010
I did not have a problem with it being too runny as others had mentioned. I truly think that the problem lies with soaking the lentils overnight (and if you are using the right type). Lentils have such a short cooking time comparatively speaking to other legumes, they don't need a soak. As an aside: I thought this was great and paired well with the Curried Chicken Salad, I had made for lunches this week. Next time, I might add carrots and double the spices except for the cayenne. But I think the spice problem is that mine are too old..oh darn, time to shop for new spices. Thank you JERRYJAVED for sharing this recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jessica Paige

Cooking Level: Professional

Home Town: Lancaster, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Havertown, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 26, 2010
I followed this using freshly ground spices, served over rice. I didn't bother soaking my lentils, I threw them in and boiled for about 40 minutes. I forgot the milk but it was perfect anyway. I eat lentils several times a week, I'm always looking for new and interesting dishes. This one quickly became my favorite. De-licious. Do taste as you cook so you can adjust spices for your preference. I like to put in diced carrots and potatoes or sweet potatoes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: The Woodlands, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 30, 2010
I tinkered with this a little. I too found it to runny for my taste. I reduced the liquid, replaced some with diced tomatoes. I also added fresh ginger and mushrooms to the mix. On a whim I also threw in some chili powder. All in all it is a very economical recipie that makes up easily and also freezes very well. If you accidentally add too much cayenne you can serve it with yogurt or sour cream.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Winnipeg, Manitoba, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 28, 2010
Easily made however it's not as I imagined it would be. Very soupy, runny. -not as pictured. :( I've had read that Pakistani Lentil Curry is runnier than others but I was still surprised how it turned out. I even used only 3 cups of water (for 2 servings).**It seemed to have a watery taste, and was very runny....maybe if you just cook the lentils instead of soaking first as in step 1 it might be better. The package of lentils I had said that they did not need to be soaked, however I did as the recipe called for and soaked for about 3 hours. Maybe if I hadn't then they would have soaked up more as they cooked, thus making a thicker/or less runny finished product.... I also added 1 more tsp of salt for flavor after it was all finished. I MAY make this again, doing the changes that I have thought of, however the rating is really for the recipe just as it is. I really didn't change much.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mary Fitch

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 37) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Red Lentil Curry

See how to make a quick-and-easy vegetarian curry.

Greek Lentil Soup

See how to make a simple, traditional Greek lentil soup.

Indian Chicken Curry II

This homemade Indian chicken curry dish is so delicious, you won’t miss takeout.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States