Pakistani Lentil Curry Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: May 14, 2007
The flavor was good, but the recipe seemed to call for way to much water as my lentils became a pot of mush.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 13, 2007
In constant search of cheap meal ideas, I decided to give this a try. As written, I would have to rate this a 2 because lentils don't need to be soaked before cooking and the recipe calls for too much water-the general ratio is 2 parts water to one part lentils. If I had followed the directions of the recipe, this would have been REALLY watery/liquidy and I think pretty gross. Here is what I did . . . I rinsed 2 cups of brown lentils and simmered them with 4 cups of water, adding more water as needed until they were cooked to the right texture (was doubling the recipe). I added 5 cloves of chopped garlic and doubled the rest of the spices, except the cayenne (too spicy for my 3 yr old). As it simmered, it smelled good but looked boring so I sauteed some shredded carrots, yellow bell pepper, and zucchini in a separate pan while I caramelized the onion (a whole one). When the lentils were done, I added the sauteed veggies and the caramelized onions to the pot and stirred it up. I served it over Basmati Rice, topped it with cilantro and it still needed something. Paneer would have been great but I didn't have it so used some white crumbly Mexican cheese on the top (feta would have been great too). The end result was amazingly delicious! I will definitely make it again-in the future, I will add more veggies, caramelize 2 onions, cut down the lentils and use veggie broth to simmer the lentils in, plus add paneer to the top. Thanks for the idea and great spice combinati
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
53 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Fresno, California, USA
Living In: Clovis, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 15, 2007
This is so tasty and full of flavor, I loved it. Did not give it 5 stars due to having to adjust the recipe. I decreased the water to 2 cups(I cant imagine how soupy it would have been with 4 cups), also I doubled the coriander, turmeric, and cumin. I will make this again.... probably many times. I think I will try it with some Feta occasionally too. Thanks for submitting this recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Skye

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 30, 2007
I used this recipe as a guide. Per the last reviewer I added the sauted onions, bell peppers and squash without the canaynne pepper. I added 1 can of diced tomatoes with chiles that made it spicey. Good change from the regular lentil recipes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 8, 2008
jennylyn1 had a good upgradde along with her upgrade i would saute tomatoes with the onions after the onions are golden brown. Then after the lentils soup is almost done i would add spinach
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lisa Marie

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 20, 2008
Good overall. I added celery and carrots - diced and sauted with the onion. I also added extra cumin, tumeric and coriander. My husband and our guest enjoyed this tremendously - although we were pretty garlicky the next day!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 1, 2008
Great lentil recipe. My boyfriend and I enjoy lentils that pack a punch of flavor, and I like easy clean-up - so I made a few adjustments to the original recipe. I added one carrot and two small potatoes, peeled and cut into small bite sized pieces into the pot of water. I added the onion, chopped to the water, along with the garlic, and 1 cup of lentils and about three cups of water. I doubled all of the spices, except the cayenne pepper, which I increased by 1/4 a teaspoon. And instead of salt I added garlic salt and onion salt. I also added the milk, following the directions. Best lentils I have made!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 29, 2008
I also reduced the liquid to 2 cups, then added some leftover pork roast. It turned out very good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 12, 2008
I took the advice of some of the other reviewers and reduced the amount of water- 4 cups would indeed have been too much. However, I found that 2 cups was not quite enough- by the time the water was all absorbed, the lentils were still a bit tough, so I would recommend 2.5-3 cups. I imagine that 3 cups would give you a bit more of a soupy consistency (great over bowls of rice). I also took the advice to increase the amount of the spices, and I doubled everything except the cayenne (my husband is a bit sensitive to spicy dishes). However, I would have enjoyed even more flavor, so I would consider adding a bit more of the other spices, too. We added a squeeze of lemon just before eating, which was tasty. I have also heard that adding salt to uncooked lentils can make them tough, so I waited until closer to the end of their cook time to add salt.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by KNBAUER

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Norco, California, USA
Living In: San Diego, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 8, 2008
great cheap meal!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by NYSMILEZ

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Brooklyn, New York, USA

Displaying results 1-10 (of 37) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

Red Lentil Curry

See how to make a quick-and-easy vegetarian curry.

Indian Chicken Curry II

This homemade Indian chicken curry dish is so delicious, you won’t miss takeout.

Spicy Vegan Potato Curry

See how to make a spicy vegan curry with chickpeas and potatoes.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States