Pain de Campagne - Country French Bread Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Photo by Foody McBakesalot
Reviewed: May 19, 2014
I've been searching for a good traditional-style French country bread recipe for a long time and have always ended up disappointed. Many are too sweet or too flavourless or take too long to prepare, and almost all end up having a crumb that is far too much like soft white American-style bread with nothing of the airy, chewey, je ne sais quoi texture of "real" French bread. But with this recipe, finally, I think I've found a winner! I halved the recipe because I only wanted to make one boule, and I also mixed in a dollop of natural yogurt with the poolish sponge to inoculate it with some lactobacillus so the end result would have a slightly sourdough-like flavour. I also left it way too late to start on the recipe so I ended up having to let the dough, rather than the poolish, prove overnight in the fridge at step 4. I dusted with a mix of flour and wheat germ, and I also cooked the boule on a pizza-stone with a small dish of water on the oven's bottom shelf to help give it a nice crunchy crust. Turned out great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 23, 2014
This is a great recipe. I'm use to making Pan Cubano, which is a lot less work, but still uses a sponge. This is my new favorite bread to make though. My family gobbled up both loaves in a few days the first time I made it! My family keeps saying how good it is, and I had to make it again because my girlfriend wants to try it, which is why I'm rating your recipe at 5 in the morning!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Indiana, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 15, 2014
Works every time, Made this a dozen times. I have also aged the pool-ish for an extra day. Changed the flavor a little bit but nothing extraordinary.. I use my kitchen aid dough hook and it still looks like bakery bread. When I'm out of cornmeal I use oats on my pizza stone. I've also done this in loaf pans to make a taller loaf, I love it comes out great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 2, 2013
Very heavy bread. Very labor intensive too. Lots of kneading, rising, kneading, rising....all for a heavy bread with not much flavor at all.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 10, 2013
IM GIVING THIS RECIPE 5 STARS!! I ADORE THE CRUST!! IT IS A DENSE BREAD WITH A YUMMY THICK CRUSTY CRUST!! IT IS TIME CONSUMING BUT WELL WORTH IT!! YOU CANT GO WRONG WITH THIS RECIPE!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by missrochester

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Rochester, New York, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 9, 2013
This actually came out very good. I did it just out of boredom one day and I was surprised good bread.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 29, 2013
HOLY COW - that might be the best bread I ever made!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Samantha

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Brighton, Sussex, England, U.K.

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 18, 2013
Wonderful!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 7, 2013
This was my first time making a bread like this and it turned out great!!!! The outside was crunchy and the inside was soft and airy. I will make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by kellie81

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Rochester, New York, USA
Living In: Palmyra, New York, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 17, 2013
This is a great recipe. If you plan ahead & make your sponge before you go to bed, you can have a fairly quickly made bread the next day. I got up at 5, mixed the rest of the flour & ingredients and went back to bed. When I get up at 8, it was ready to be formed into loaves to rise for the last time. I had hot, fresh bread for Sunday lunch.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 49) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

The Season’s Best Sides
The Season’s Best Sides

Complete the meal with your favorite holiday side dishes.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

French Bread

The crust is crunchy and the center is moist. What’s not to love?

French Bread Rolls To Die For

See how to make simple French bread dinner rolls from scratch.

How to Make French Baguettes

You really can make authentic French baguettes from scratch. See how it's done!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States