Pain de Campagne - Country French Bread Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Aug. 14, 2011
These came out perfect on the first try! I don't know for sure if this made a difference, but I followed another reader's advice and put a pan of water in the bottom of the oven. I also took another reader's advice and divided the dough into three portions so they would fit into my baking pans. As a result, the loaves only took about 20 minutes but were beautifully crusty and had a nice texture. (Too bad my camera wasn't working; I would have loved to submit a photo!) My 11 year old son and his friend polished off an entire loaf almost immediately after they came out of the oven. This recipe will definitely be used again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 10, 2011
Fantastic recipe, absolutely delicious, I'll be making this again. Any tips on how to transfer to the baking tray(s) out of the cloth welcome - I couldn't keep their shape but nevertheless delicious. Thanks, Phil.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Deb C
Reviewed: Jun. 13, 2011
This recipe makes two gorgeous country breads with great flavor and chew. It does take some time but it is so worth the wait. I followed the recipe exactly including the manual kneading which can be a workout. Although I refrigerated the sponge overnight, next time I will develop the sponge even longer to develop more flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Deb C

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Peabody, Massachusetts, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 5, 2011
This was my first time making a poolish and an artisan-type bread. I loved the chewy-crisp crust and the texture of the bread. I didn't see the reasoning behind doing the second rise (step 6) on a floured cloth and then transferring to the baking sheet later, so I just did the last rise on a lightly olive oiled baking sheet. The damp cloth stuck a little to the top of my generously floured loaf, so it deflated a little bit even though I tried to gently remove it. Another reviewer had this same problem and I think it would be worse to try to do the last rise on the floured cloth and try to move it without collapsing the bread a little right before you intend to bake it. I look forward to practicing a little more with this recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
19 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by COOKIN4MYFAMILY

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Conifer, Colorado, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 3, 2011
Dense and chewy with a nice crust. We enjoyed this bread warm from the oven with some butter. Yummmm!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: North Pole, Alaska, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 29, 2011
Delicious! Long process but worth the time. Looks and tastes great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Carrie

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 27, 2011
A lot of work, but worth it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Holiday Baker
Reviewed: Feb. 9, 2011
Wow, this recipe was quite a task. I have always focused on American style breads with a quick rise, because of the bit of sugar, or just a shorter yeast development. I started the "poolish" in the refridgerator the night before in a bowl covered with a wet towel for the full 15 hours. I brought it to room temp. still covered for about 3 hours the next day. I had thought about using the Kitchen-Aid mixer, but I am glad I didn't because I got a good idea for how the dough was supposed to look and feel. I shaped one of the loaves as suggested and used a well floured coil bread basket mold for the other one. I thought the bread turned out very well in taste and appearance. I did have to bake it though for 40 minutes. When I sliced it, it had a soft center and crunchy crust and bottom from the corn meal. It was absolutely delicious! I have developed a new found appreciation for "artisan" style breads from this recipe. I just wonder what novel the bread recipe came from now?
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
103 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Holiday Baker

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Detroit, Michigan, USA
Living In: Richmond, Virginia, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 6, 2011
Great recipe. Well worth the time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 4, 2011
I gave this recipe five stars because the texture of the inside and outside is wonderful. The flavor is a little flat though. Some of the other reviewers suggested adding honey--I think that would improve the taste.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 51) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Mealtime Money-Savers
Mealtime Money-Savers

Browse through over 500 recipes for delicious, budget-friendly meals.

Can What You Can't
Can What You Can't

The old saying goes, "Eat what you can, and can what you can't!" We have the know-how.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

French Bread

The crust is crunchy and the center is moist. What’s not to love?

French Bread Rolls To Die For

See how to make simple French bread dinner rolls from scratch.

How to Make French Baguettes

You really can make authentic French baguettes from scratch. See how it's done!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States