Paella Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Mar. 1, 2003
What makes the authentic Spanish Paella so flavorful is the use of powdered saffron. For this reason I eliminated the oregano and tumeric and used 1/16th teaspoon saffron. Its pricey, but you have to use only a wee bit to really enhance all the flavors of this wonderful dish. I also cut the broth to 3 cups and used 1/2c white wine, 1 pound shrimp not 2; 4 ounces of chorizo not 8 of italian sausage. Use peas instead of green peppers and you will have an authentic Paella. This is good...authentic is the best.Thanks Amy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
138 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 30, 2007
This is NOT paella. This is Jambalaya, and not a great one at that. Paella is made with saffron and not the other types od herbs listed, and it is traditionally made with whole chicken parts and seafood (most still in shells). For a better version of this recipe try searching for Jambalaya, and for authentic Paella, look for a recipe with seafood and saffron.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
99 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by FYRECRACKER

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Beckley, West Virginia, USA
Living In: Washington, D.C., USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 9, 2003
Took this to my company potluck and everyone loved this. One quick note though, this recipe makes a HUGE amount of food. When I make it for my family, I only make a half recipe and we still have enough to feed 6-7 people.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
31 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 7, 2002
We loved this recipe...very unique blend of tastes! This is a refreshing combination and my daughter of 5 cleaned her bowl. I omitted the turmeric and on the second time I made this, due to lack of hot Italian sausage available, I just used mild sausage and it did not compromise the taste. Thanks Amy for this great recipe. Will make again and again!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
22 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Suemck
Reviewed: Dec. 28, 2005
This is one of my favorite recipes from this site - absolutely delicious! The only change I make is to substitute sea scallops (added 5 minutes before the shrimp) for the hot sausage (too spicy for my taste). Also, I use already flavored saffron rice instead of white and omit the tumeric. I made this Christmas Eve for my parents and grandmother and everyone loved it! Thanks for a great recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
21 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Suemck

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Plaistow, New Hampshire, USA
Living In: Amesbury, Massachusetts, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 24, 2005
This is the best recipe! I got this recipe over 2 years ago from allrecipes.com, and I make it all the time. This one is a keeper! Also, please cook the rice separately and you won't have to wait for it to get done. When the rice is done, you pour back into the pot when the rest of the meal is done. Mix it together.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 20, 2007
Perfect paella, in my humble opinion. I too used chorizo and once the shrimp was in, we placed little neck clams on top and covered the pot until they steamed open. My gang and company couldn't get enough. Thanks so much Amy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LINDA MCLEAN

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Lexington, Kentucky, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 30, 2003
Good eats! The sausage is a little easier to cut if you cook it through a bit first. Also, use scissors to cut the sausages...it is much easier than using a knife because the sausages are hard to cut without making a mess. Also, punch holes in the sausages so the juices run more.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 16, 2006
We all love this recipe. Only change I made was to use a package of saffron rice mixed with plain rice instead of costtly saffron. Thanks so much!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Woburn, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 28, 2005
What a great little recipe! I omitted the celery and changed a few other things around and it was fairly quick, tasty and provided a bountiful portion of food. The safron is always a better way to go if you can but for the poor man tumeric works fine.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 83) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Guilt-Free Munchies
Guilt-Free Munchies

Get healthier takes on your favorite between-meal snacks.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Easy Paella

Chicken, sausage, and shrimp shine in this easy, flavorful Spanish rice dish.

How to Make Seafood Paella

See how to make a traditional Spanish seafood stew.

Quick and Easy Paella

See how to make a quick version of classic Spanish paella with shrimp & sausage.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States