Paella Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 8)
Reviewed: Nov. 13, 2003
I followed most of the suggestions for making the paella authentic, and it was turned out to be absolutely amazing. I used a tiny bit of saffron instead of oregano and tumeric, halved the amount of shrimp, used chorizo instead of Italian sausage, and peas instead of green peppers. I did not have white wine, but I'll use that next time as the reviewer suggested. I'll definitely be making this again! Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 12, 2003
This is a great dish - and not too labor-intensive considering.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 30, 2003
Good eats! The sausage is a little easier to cut if you cook it through a bit first. Also, use scissors to cut the sausages...it is much easier than using a knife because the sausages are hard to cut without making a mess. Also, punch holes in the sausages so the juices run more.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 28, 2003
I made this for a church get together and it was a hit. I found it to be a bit dry and added more brooth to it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Western, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 7, 2003
I did not put any shrimp, because my husband is allergic to shrimp. I thought there was more sausage than needed. I added some eggplant, simply because I had lots in the fridge. Turned out that the eggplant absorbed the juice of the broth and the sausage and it tastes great. Overall, fantastic recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 1, 2003
This recipe was great and surprisingly easy. I added 1/2 cup wine and only did 3 cups broth, but next time I'll follow the recipe and omit the wine. The only thing I'd change is the green peppers which aren't a fave of mine anyway. I did add peas to mine, and I'd do that again, and just leave out the peppers altogether. It was a delicious recipe and presented very beautifully. Thanks Amy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by TaraAnne

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Long Island, New York, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 13, 2003
THIS RECIPE IS THE BEST. ALTHOUGHT A LITTLE EXPENSIVE TO MAKE IT IS A TREAT TO BE HOLD. YA-LA
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 1, 2003
What makes the authentic Spanish Paella so flavorful is the use of powdered saffron. For this reason I eliminated the oregano and tumeric and used 1/16th teaspoon saffron. Its pricey, but you have to use only a wee bit to really enhance all the flavors of this wonderful dish. I also cut the broth to 3 cups and used 1/2c white wine, 1 pound shrimp not 2; 4 ounces of chorizo not 8 of italian sausage. Use peas instead of green peppers and you will have an authentic Paella. This is good...authentic is the best.Thanks Amy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
139 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 1, 2003
Good recipe and very tasty, I would only suggest to cut the sausage, chicken, and shrimp in half.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 14, 2003
Delicious! I cut down on the sausages and shrimp but kept the liquid and rice amounts the same. The recipe made enought for 6 adults and 3 children with some left over. We'll definitely make this one again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 71-80 (of 83) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

The Season’s Best Sides
The Season’s Best Sides

Complete the meal with your favorite holiday side dishes.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Easy Paella

Chicken, sausage, and shrimp shine in this easy, flavorful Spanish rice dish.

How to Make Seafood Paella

See how to make a traditional Spanish seafood stew.

Quick and Easy Paella

See how to make a quick version of classic Spanish paella with shrimp & sausage.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States