Paella Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 8)
Reviewed: Nov. 13, 2003
I followed most of the suggestions for making the paella authentic, and it was turned out to be absolutely amazing. I used a tiny bit of saffron instead of oregano and tumeric, halved the amount of shrimp, used chorizo instead of Italian sausage, and peas instead of green peppers. I did not have white wine, but I'll use that next time as the reviewer suggested. I'll definitely be making this again! Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 12, 2003
This is a great dish - and not too labor-intensive considering.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 30, 2003
Good eats! The sausage is a little easier to cut if you cook it through a bit first. Also, use scissors to cut the sausages...it is much easier than using a knife because the sausages are hard to cut without making a mess. Also, punch holes in the sausages so the juices run more.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 28, 2003
I made this for a church get together and it was a hit. I found it to be a bit dry and added more brooth to it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Western, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 7, 2003
I did not put any shrimp, because my husband is allergic to shrimp. I thought there was more sausage than needed. I added some eggplant, simply because I had lots in the fridge. Turned out that the eggplant absorbed the juice of the broth and the sausage and it tastes great. Overall, fantastic recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 1, 2003
This recipe was great and surprisingly easy. I added 1/2 cup wine and only did 3 cups broth, but next time I'll follow the recipe and omit the wine. The only thing I'd change is the green peppers which aren't a fave of mine anyway. I did add peas to mine, and I'd do that again, and just leave out the peppers altogether. It was a delicious recipe and presented very beautifully. Thanks Amy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by TaraAnne

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Long Island, New York, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 13, 2003
THIS RECIPE IS THE BEST. ALTHOUGHT A LITTLE EXPENSIVE TO MAKE IT IS A TREAT TO BE HOLD. YA-LA
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 1, 2003
What makes the authentic Spanish Paella so flavorful is the use of powdered saffron. For this reason I eliminated the oregano and tumeric and used 1/16th teaspoon saffron. Its pricey, but you have to use only a wee bit to really enhance all the flavors of this wonderful dish. I also cut the broth to 3 cups and used 1/2c white wine, 1 pound shrimp not 2; 4 ounces of chorizo not 8 of italian sausage. Use peas instead of green peppers and you will have an authentic Paella. This is good...authentic is the best.Thanks Amy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
145 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 1, 2003
Good recipe and very tasty, I would only suggest to cut the sausage, chicken, and shrimp in half.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 14, 2003
Delicious! I cut down on the sausages and shrimp but kept the liquid and rice amounts the same. The recipe made enought for 6 adults and 3 children with some left over. We'll definitely make this one again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 71-80 (of 83) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Chocolate Chip Cookies
Chocolate Chip Cookies

Have you made a batch lately? They're everybody's favorite.

Spring Salads
Spring Salads

Freshening up the salad menu for spring has never been so delicious.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Easy Paella

Chicken, sausage, and shrimp shine in this easy, flavorful Spanish rice dish.

How to Make Seafood Paella

See how to make a traditional Spanish seafood stew.

Quick and Easy Paella

See how to make a quick version of classic Spanish paella with shrimp & sausage.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States