Paella I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 6)
Reviewed: Jun. 27, 2009
PERFECT. Used medium grain rice and full 5 cups of stock, although it ended up a little on the salty side so I may cut out adding the salt in the previous step or switch to a water/stock mix. Used baby octopus in place of squid, added 2 teasp of paprika and small amount of fresh chilli in place of saffron at the same time as adding the wine and it was divine! Highly recommended! Did this in a large fry pan and it served 6 although it was all gone!! Perfect with the lemon wedges!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 20, 2009
This is a great recipe! It was perfect for a deluxe holiday dinner or potluck. It does make TONS of food - be prepared for leftovers. I didn't include squid (my guests don't like it) and I followed the advice of others and used Basmati rice instead of Arborio so that it wouldn't be too slimy. It was wonderful and everyone complimented it. Great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 14, 2009
It turned out good, though I was disappointed in the flavor of the rice a little. I think a little saffron would have helped.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by katrinangel2

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: New York, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 26, 2009
This recipe was just ok. It lacked a lot of flavor, which we tried to compensate for by adding our own blend of spices. I would recommend that to anyone trying this. We added cumin, cayenne, and others. We did like the rice though...nice texture.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Lansing, Michigan, USA
Living In: New York, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 25, 2009
This was my first time making Paella after having it at a restaurant in Costa Rica. I made it for my husband and some friends and they all raved over this recipe! It was easy and we all had leftovers for lunch the next day. I also added some turmeric when I added the rice to give it some extra color. And I used extra shrimp in the place of the other seafood simply to keep the cost down. I will definately make this recipe again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Burlington, North Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by LLEE24
Reviewed: Jan. 25, 2009
I 100% agree with MIAX,I wouldn't ever use arborio rice for this recipe it is too creamy and it does look mor like risotto as oppose to paella. I will use long grain rice next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2009
I received a paella pan for Christmas and decided to try this. Along with the pan, I received some very short-grained rice imported from Spain, used especially for paella. The recipe was great! The only changes I made were to substitute some scallops for the chicken and left out the wine because I didn't have any dry white. In reading about paella, I learned that the rice is actually supposed to cook until it's a little brown & crispy on the bottom. At least, that's how they like it in Spain.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Marquette, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 18, 2008
This was great. I did omit the squid and mussels due to personal taste, but otherwise followed the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 18, 2008
Very tasty and surprisingly close to the flavor of the paella I had in Spain. I made this using ingredients I had on hand so I didn't include the squid or mussels, but added canned clams and extra shrimp in their place. The only thing I will do differently the next time I make this (and I WILL be making this....again, and again, and again!!!) is to add more chorizo.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ThePantryPrincess

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 12, 2008
Great recipe, although I replaced the chorizo with scallops. Yum!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MJ

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: New York, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 51-60 (of 96) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Easy Paella

Chicken, sausage, and shrimp shine in this easy, flavorful Spanish rice dish.

How to Make Seafood Paella

See how to make a traditional Spanish seafood stew.

Quick and Easy Paella

See how to make a quick version of classic Spanish paella with shrimp & sausage.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States