Paella I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: Jul. 7, 2010
This paella was very good and reminded me of what I had in Spain. I used brown rice however, and it took twice as long to cook so next time I'll use Arborio. The only things I changed were to add extra saffron (15 threads), 3/4 cup wine, and clams. Yum!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 15, 2010
Delicious and easy. Even my picky kids loved it! I used extra shrimp instead of mussels and squid. Other than that I followed the recipe exactly. Oh, and I let the shrimp cook for about a minute before covering and turning the heat off. This will be put in my family recipes to do again for sure.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 14, 2010
This recipe is very good if you follow the instructions exactly. I don't like white rice, so I used basmati (Brown) rice. Since brown rice has a longer cook time, I began cooking the rice first (in 3.5 cups chicken broth, 0.5 cup wine and saffron). I added a little extra saffron since brown rice has a stronger flavor). Let the rice cook for 25 minutes, and then add the sauteed vegetables and other ingredients (except the seafood), and cook for another 20-30 minutes until rice is done.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 10, 2010
Excellent!! Easy, yet impressive dinner dish. I mostly stayed true to the recipe. Also made a vegetarian version that was just as delicious!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 9, 2010
This is very good, not perfect, but good. Arborio rice seems like a bad choice because it is too creamy. I used 1 1/2 cups medium grain rice and it was still a bit creamy. I think next time I will start out with only 3 cups broth. I also added the zest of one lemon. Don't skimp on the saffron - it's what makes it - and please don't substitute turmeric!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by julie a

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Williamsville, New York, USA
Living In: Lewiston, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 12, 2009
Excellent! Couldnt find muscles, so left them out. Peas didnt do anything but add a color, the color is great, but dont fret if you dont have a handful of peas. Other than the muscles we pretty much followed the recipe, we eyeballed our measurements... Turned out very well and we would definitely make it again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 30, 2009
Delicious, but I think the saffron was an unnecessary splurge b/c according to a native Spaniard, they just use yellow food coloring called "colorante" to get the yellow look. Also, you aren't supposed to stir it any more than you have to or it turns too risotto-y, and that's not the correct consistency.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 7, 2009
Just love it and I am serving it to my family this Sunday
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by GAileen
Reviewed: Jul. 21, 2009
It was alot easier than I thought. I used clams instead of mussels, next time I will try it with mussels, I also didn't have any white wine on hand so I used red instead and it was still good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Kadena, Okinawa, Japan

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 27, 2009
PERFECT. Used medium grain rice and full 5 cups of stock, although it ended up a little on the salty side so I may cut out adding the salt in the previous step or switch to a water/stock mix. Used baby octopus in place of squid, added 2 teasp of paprika and small amount of fresh chilli in place of saffron at the same time as adding the wine and it was divine! Highly recommended! Did this in a large fry pan and it served 6 although it was all gone!! Perfect with the lemon wedges!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-50 (of 95) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Easy Paella

Chicken, sausage, and shrimp shine in this easy, flavorful Spanish rice dish.

How to Make Seafood Paella

See how to make a traditional Spanish seafood stew.

Quick and Easy Paella

See how to make a quick version of classic Spanish paella with shrimp & sausage.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States