Paella I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Feb. 3, 2011
This was my first time trying to make paella. I was a little scared but it came out great! Didn't use mussels and squid but substituted scallops for squid.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by bzymom

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 16, 2011
Really GREAT recipe! You may find some of the ingredients a little hard to track down. Instead of the mussels and squid, I ended up using a little less than pound of scallops and added them in with the peas and tomatoes. I also used canned tomatoes (drained) since I didn't have fresh. Otherwise, I made this as is and it was fabulous! This was my first time using saffron threads and I'm not sure it made a difference, but regardless, it was delicious! My only change in the future would be to add some white pepper for a little more heat. This one is a keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 30, 2010
I substituted the rice for parboil rice which is the rice used to prepare Paella in most restaurants and I followed the directions for adding liquids from the rice bag. I'm Cuban and have prepared Paella many times in the past and these are a few thing I recommend adding/omitting. I added 2 Lobster tails cut in pieces, scallops, little neck clams, more shrimps and a packet or two of Sazon Goya with achote which gives it more flavor and the yellow coloring. No Squids or thyme for me. Make sure you do not use the Mexican style chorizo, it's got to be the dried type that comes in a small suctioned package. If you can find fish stock use it instead of chicken stock. Paella can get expensive to make but if your trying to impress guest then this is it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Union City, New Jersey, USA
Living In: Ottsville, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Rock_lobster
Reviewed: Dec. 28, 2010
Truly a remarkable, memorable dish. I've made this several times already (once for a dinner party - to elated, gobbled-up glee) and sometimes for some extras that I freeze for another night. The only successful "changes" that I've made, having prepared it a few times now, is to brown the chorizo and drain b4 adding the onion, peppers, and garlic, have the chicken pre-cooked and cubed, and to toss everything in a large skillet (less the seafood and peas, until prior to serving) and use Vigo brand saffron-flavored rice. Covered, it's typically ready in 40 min. and I haven't found the need for more than 3 c. chicken stock, 1/2 c. wine. I've even used canned, diced Rotel tomatos w/ no complaints. Oh and I'm happier w/o the mussels, so we skip on those. Absolutely amazing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
21 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Rock_lobster

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Atlanta, Georgia, USA
Living In: Braselton, Georgia, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 27, 2010
My family loves this recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes
Home Town: Baltimore, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 26, 2010
I admit, I did make some minor changes to the recipe. However, my rating for the recipe is based on the fact if you follow the directions you end up with a risotto consistency and NOT paella. The recipes calls for too much liquid. Despite knowing the recipe called for too much liquid, I went ahead and followed the directions and was greatly disappointed. For "rice" it's best to use 1 part rice and 1.5 parts liquid. When using arborio rice if you use more liquid you get risotto. 12 oz. of rice is 1.75 cups of rice - so the maximum amount of liquid you should use is a generous 2.5 cups. I omitted the white wine for religious reasons - but used 3 1/2 cups of liquid and ended up with risotto. Despite my best attempts to boil the extra liquid off it didn't work. With all that said I would highly recommend cutting back on the liquid by at least 1 cup - and adding more, if needed, as you stir occasionally. I also used soy chorizo (aka soyrizo) instead of pork chorizo. I recommend using 1/4 tsp saffron and 1/4 tsp of smoked paprika (or Spanish paprika). This will increase the flavor greatly and is more traditional. I would start with 1 tsp of salt and add more if needed (depends on how salty your broth is), use 1/4 tsp of black pepper. I used 1 cup of peas and I tripled the amount of shrimp. Overall it was tasty but disappointing. Next time I'll make it with less liquid and will most likely be pleased.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
24 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Serena

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: San Diego, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 23, 2010
Turned out as more of a risotto than a paella, but was still delicious. I couldn't get my hands on anything except shrimp - still delicious and a lot cheaper! Still hunting for that perfect authentic Catalonian paella recipe... Substituted vegetable broth for chicken broth
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Toronto, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 21, 2010
This was my first attempt at Paella. I used mussels, scallops and large shrimp. Otherwise, I followed the recipe exactly. It was a huge hit with my parents, my nine-year old and me! It makes a huge batch and the leftovers were fantastic for lunch the next day. It was much easier than I expected and I will be keeping this one in my recipe box for a long time!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 13, 2010
This is a great recipe, and quite forgiving. I've made it several times with whatever meat/seafood I have on hand, although I always include sausage. I particularly like buying the frozen mixed seafood option from the grocery store, that usually contains squid, scallops, mussles (de-shelled), and it can go in frozen, just a bit earlier in the cooking process. Saves a lot of time and work!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 31, 2010
Very creamy and a little bland. I would suggest adding the squid AFTER the shrimp as it became very rubbery by the time the shrimp finished cooking.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by maryyyy

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Atlanta, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 99) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Chicken Breast Recipes
Chicken Breast Recipes

With our 2,700+ chicken breast recipes, you'll never serve the same old chicken again.

Zucchini On The Grill
Zucchini On The Grill

The firm, juicy texture of zucchini make them a perfect side to toss on the grill.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Easy Paella

Chicken, sausage, and shrimp shine in this easy, flavorful Spanish rice dish.

How to Make Seafood Paella

See how to make a traditional Spanish seafood stew.

Quick and Easy Paella

See how to make a quick version of classic Spanish paella with shrimp & sausage.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States