Paella I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Photo by Rock_lobster
Reviewed: Dec. 28, 2010
Truly a remarkable, memorable dish. I've made this several times already (once for a dinner party - to elated, gobbled-up glee) and sometimes for some extras that I freeze for another night. The only successful "changes" that I've made, having prepared it a few times now, is to brown the chorizo and drain b4 adding the onion, peppers, and garlic, have the chicken pre-cooked and cubed, and to toss everything in a large skillet (less the seafood and peas, until prior to serving) and use Vigo brand saffron-flavored rice. Covered, it's typically ready in 40 min. and I haven't found the need for more than 3 c. chicken stock, 1/2 c. wine. I've even used canned, diced Rotel tomatos w/ no complaints. Oh and I'm happier w/o the mussels, so we skip on those. Absolutely amazing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Rock_lobster

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Atlanta, Georgia, USA
Living In: Braselton, Georgia, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 27, 2010
My family loves this recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes
Home Town: Baltimore, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 26, 2010
I admit, I did make some minor changes to the recipe. However, my rating for the recipe is based on the fact if you follow the directions you end up with a risotto consistency and NOT paella. The recipes calls for too much liquid. Despite knowing the recipe called for too much liquid, I went ahead and followed the directions and was greatly disappointed. For "rice" it's best to use 1 part rice and 1.5 parts liquid. When using arborio rice if you use more liquid you get risotto. 12 oz. of rice is 1.75 cups of rice - so the maximum amount of liquid you should use is a generous 2.5 cups. I omitted the white wine for religious reasons - but used 3 1/2 cups of liquid and ended up with risotto. Despite my best attempts to boil the extra liquid off it didn't work. With all that said I would highly recommend cutting back on the liquid by at least 1 cup - and adding more, if needed, as you stir occasionally. I also used soy chorizo (aka soyrizo) instead of pork chorizo. I recommend using 1/4 tsp saffron and 1/4 tsp of smoked paprika (or Spanish paprika). This will increase the flavor greatly and is more traditional. I would start with 1 tsp of salt and add more if needed (depends on how salty your broth is), use 1/4 tsp of black pepper. I used 1 cup of peas and I tripled the amount of shrimp. Overall it was tasty but disappointing. Next time I'll make it with less liquid and will most likely be pleased.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Serena

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: San Diego, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 23, 2010
Turned out as more of a risotto than a paella, but was still delicious. I couldn't get my hands on anything except shrimp - still delicious and a lot cheaper! Still hunting for that perfect authentic Catalonian paella recipe... Substituted vegetable broth for chicken broth
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Toronto, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 21, 2010
This was my first attempt at Paella. I used mussels, scallops and large shrimp. Otherwise, I followed the recipe exactly. It was a huge hit with my parents, my nine-year old and me! It makes a huge batch and the leftovers were fantastic for lunch the next day. It was much easier than I expected and I will be keeping this one in my recipe box for a long time!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 13, 2010
This is a great recipe, and quite forgiving. I've made it several times with whatever meat/seafood I have on hand, although I always include sausage. I particularly like buying the frozen mixed seafood option from the grocery store, that usually contains squid, scallops, mussles (de-shelled), and it can go in frozen, just a bit earlier in the cooking process. Saves a lot of time and work!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 31, 2010
Very creamy and a little bland. I would suggest adding the squid AFTER the shrimp as it became very rubbery by the time the shrimp finished cooking.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by maryyyy

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Atlanta, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 22, 2010
It took many stores for me to get all the ingredient for this dish and cost $50 -but it was well worth it! Restaurant quality paella. My only issue was that it was a little mushy and I should have actually timed and measured things. 6 servings is a joke, this is easily 10 adult meal portions!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by alicianyc

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Portland, Oregon, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 13, 2010
I changed it a bit because I was lacking ingredients, I didn't have chorizo sausage, so I used a chorizo sausage recipe and just added the spices. Also I didn't have a red bell pepper so I added 4 roma tomatoes, my boyfriend usually picks out the bell peppers anyways. Other than that I followed to-the-letter, turned out AWESOME!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sarah

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: Jul. 27, 2010
you sould always use spanish chorizo, as the one they sell in stores in the States is mexican and completely different. Palacios chorizo is a fav of mine and i used to get it shipped in the States from latienda.com , do not remove the casings though. Also for the rice use a long grain, i do not know what brands, as i always buy the spanish ones. I am from Spain and paellas are a fav dish of mine and love to experiment! Recipe is a great one to start off with something simple.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 96) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Dinner
Christmas Dinner

Magnificent main dishes for your holiday table are here, from roast beef to a Christmas goose.

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Easy Paella

Chicken, sausage, and shrimp shine in this easy, flavorful Spanish rice dish.

How to Make Seafood Paella

See how to make a traditional Spanish seafood stew.

Quick and Easy Paella

See how to make a quick version of classic Spanish paella with shrimp & sausage.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States