Paella I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Dec. 27, 2002
I wouldn't ever use arborio rice for this recipe again, it's too creamy and once it's done the consistency isn't right - paella isn't supposed to be like a risotto.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
102 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 27, 2002
quite authentic and good. italian boyfriend who has eaten paella many times said it tastes like those he had in spain. portions of ingredients are perfect. used safforn threads instead. read another recipe on the net from someone in spain, added tomato paste, thyme and 2 bay leaves. very good flavor but my mussels and shrimps didn't cook coz they were stright out from the fridge. next time might add mussels and shrimps together with the peas n tomatoes to make sure they cook. Important: shellfish MUST be FRESH! don't add too much water, else the rice will be mushy and use aborio rice. they have a firmer bite.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
57 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 23, 2000
If you love seafood and shellfish this dish is perfect for you. It's a bit of work to gather all of the ingredients, however once you have them all ready they come together like a dream. I first had this dish when I was in Spain -- this recipe tastes just like the original.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
57 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Esmee Williams

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Groton, Massachusetts, USA
Living In: Seattle, Washington, USA
Reviewed: Jun. 13, 2007
Please don't waste your money on a fancy "paella pan" unless you already have one...or your getting one as a gift but, just to let you know...I've made a fabulous Paella in a Wok.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
42 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by juliana07

Cooking Level: Professional

Home Town: Toronto, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 23, 2002
This was my first try at paella. My husband loves paella and said it was better than the ones he has had in finer restaurants. I substituted tumeric for the saffron, and used dried thyme. I too substituded clams for the squid. And put the shell fish in a little sooner than the recipe called for. It was easy to make, and did not take that long to prepare, the only thing that took any time was the chopping of ingredients. I highly recomend this recipe to anyone wanting a good paella.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
31 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 20, 2005
This was excellent! My mother was Cuban so I know good paella when I taste it! It was very similar to what she made. I made it for Father's Day and got rave reviews. Which is good because they all know their spanish food! I eliminated the squid and used scallops instead of mussells. This worked great. Also, needs more wine (to taste of course) and I added a little hot sauce, muy bueno! Will make again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
27 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 26, 2010
I admit, I did make some minor changes to the recipe. However, my rating for the recipe is based on the fact if you follow the directions you end up with a risotto consistency and NOT paella. The recipes calls for too much liquid. Despite knowing the recipe called for too much liquid, I went ahead and followed the directions and was greatly disappointed. For "rice" it's best to use 1 part rice and 1.5 parts liquid. When using arborio rice if you use more liquid you get risotto. 12 oz. of rice is 1.75 cups of rice - so the maximum amount of liquid you should use is a generous 2.5 cups. I omitted the white wine for religious reasons - but used 3 1/2 cups of liquid and ended up with risotto. Despite my best attempts to boil the extra liquid off it didn't work. With all that said I would highly recommend cutting back on the liquid by at least 1 cup - and adding more, if needed, as you stir occasionally. I also used soy chorizo (aka soyrizo) instead of pork chorizo. I recommend using 1/4 tsp saffron and 1/4 tsp of smoked paprika (or Spanish paprika). This will increase the flavor greatly and is more traditional. I would start with 1 tsp of salt and add more if needed (depends on how salty your broth is), use 1/4 tsp of black pepper. I used 1 cup of peas and I tripled the amount of shrimp. Overall it was tasty but disappointing. Next time I'll make it with less liquid and will most likely be pleased.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Serena

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: San Diego, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Rock_lobster
Reviewed: Dec. 28, 2010
Truly a remarkable, memorable dish. I've made this several times already (once for a dinner party - to elated, gobbled-up glee) and sometimes for some extras that I freeze for another night. The only successful "changes" that I've made, having prepared it a few times now, is to brown the chorizo and drain b4 adding the onion, peppers, and garlic, have the chicken pre-cooked and cubed, and to toss everything in a large skillet (less the seafood and peas, until prior to serving) and use Vigo brand saffron-flavored rice. Covered, it's typically ready in 40 min. and I haven't found the need for more than 3 c. chicken stock, 1/2 c. wine. I've even used canned, diced Rotel tomatos w/ no complaints. Oh and I'm happier w/o the mussels, so we skip on those. Absolutely amazing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Rock_lobster

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Atlanta, Georgia, USA
Living In: Braselton, Georgia, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 6, 2001
An excellent rendition of a great Spanish "meal". I would and did add just a bit more saffron. The instructions are perfect!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 22, 2011
Quite an impressive dish! Very pleasing to the eye. Instructions were easy to follow, preparation took a little time especially gathering all the ingredients. This dish to begin with was a challenge for me but well worth it!! The Saffron threads is the key ingredient and it is a must for this dish. There is no substitute for Saffron. I soak a pinch in warm water first. This dish is full of color, texture and flavor. The arrays of shellfish, meats and sausage are what what makes this dish pop as well. This is worth the work involved, thou it is a costly dish to prepare (saffron, seafood, stock, meats). I did add a bay leaf and a pinch of red pepper flakes. The only slight change I made was to use long grain white rice instead of arborio and that is after reading what others stated about the rice being too mushy, and too much liquid. So I watched carefully when pouring in the liquids and made sure nothing got overcooked. I added the shrimp and pressed it into the rice. Shrimp does take about 8 minutes or so to cook all the way through. Instead of mussels I chose clams which were the last ingredient I put in and I placed them on top of the rice in a circle. I covered it with a lid and let the steam and heat cook the clams and open up. Before serving I sprinkled a generous amount of fresh chopped flat leaf italian parsley. I would certainly make this dish again but probably for a special occassion or family gathering. A truly authentic and wonderful dish!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by OkinawanPrincess

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Honolulu, Hawaii, USA

Displaying results 1-10 (of 95) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

 Quick & Easy Grilling
Quick & Easy Grilling

Easy weeknight dinners, ready in a flash.

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Easy Paella

Chicken, sausage, and shrimp shine in this easy, flavorful Spanish rice dish.

How to Make Seafood Paella

See how to make a traditional Spanish seafood stew.

Quick and Easy Paella

See how to make a quick version of classic Spanish paella with shrimp & sausage.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States