Paella I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 9)
Reviewed: Sep. 30, 2004
This was a delicious recipe and not too challenging to boot. Very authentic tasting.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 18, 2004
I found this took almost twice as long to cook as suggested in the recipe. I used clams rather than mussels, so that probably added 5-10 minutes, but even the shrimp didn't cook so quickly, just being covered -- I had to mix them in. Also, I used short-grain, white rice, rather than arborio. To get it starchy, I soaked it before using it -- this draws out the starch. It worked well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Port Washington, New York, USA
Living In: New York, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 22, 2003
This was delicious...!!..Served it at my wine and cheese party!!...Everyone just loved the taste. It tasted exactly like we had in Cuba and in Spain. Good recipe to try. Angela - Canada
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by AHIMMERODER

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Midland, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Victoria Harbour, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 29, 2003
Used this recipe with a huge variation - no seafood (allergy in the family). It was still really good, so if anyone was wondering.... Very important to use good chorizo - I added a little extra and a little extra chicken since I was leaving out the seafood. Very tasty. Do not try skipping the "flat- leaf parsley" or cilantro though! Really makes the dish sing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 27, 2002
I wouldn't ever use arborio rice for this recipe again, it's too creamy and once it's done the consistency isn't right - paella isn't supposed to be like a risotto.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
103 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 13, 2002
exceptional!!!! I made this for my boyfriend who is extremely fussy where food concerned (he also is not a fan of rice) and he loved it. I plan on making it tonight for dinner. A must try. Very easy to make. Althought the cleaning of the mussels does take some time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 18, 2002
This was so easy to cook and it was very simple to substitute if you didn't have all the agredients like the type of rice that is mentioned. My company raved about it and took home the recipe with them. Thanks
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 23, 2002
This was my first try at paella. My husband loves paella and said it was better than the ones he has had in finer restaurants. I substituted tumeric for the saffron, and used dried thyme. I too substituded clams for the squid. And put the shell fish in a little sooner than the recipe called for. It was easy to make, and did not take that long to prepare, the only thing that took any time was the chopping of ingredients. I highly recomend this recipe to anyone wanting a good paella.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
31 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 21, 2002
This recipe is excellent. I made it for a large party, mostly who were Spanish, and they all loved it. They actually thought we had it catered. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 27, 2002
quite authentic and good. italian boyfriend who has eaten paella many times said it tastes like those he had in spain. portions of ingredients are perfect. used safforn threads instead. read another recipe on the net from someone in spain, added tomato paste, thyme and 2 bay leaves. very good flavor but my mussels and shrimps didn't cook coz they were stright out from the fridge. next time might add mussels and shrimps together with the peas n tomatoes to make sure they cook. Important: shellfish MUST be FRESH! don't add too much water, else the rice will be mushy and use aborio rice. they have a firmer bite.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
57 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 81-90 (of 95) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Easy Paella

Chicken, sausage, and shrimp shine in this easy, flavorful Spanish rice dish.

How to Make Seafood Paella

See how to make a traditional Spanish seafood stew.

Quick and Easy Paella

See how to make a quick version of classic Spanish paella with shrimp & sausage.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States