Paella I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 8)
Reviewed: Oct. 3, 2006
I have to admit that I've never had paella, but we thought this was very good. Couldn't find the rice called for so used long grain white rice - took about 40 minutes to soften. Used canned clams, no squid, extra chicken, no mussels. Served 8 easily.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Juneau, Alaska, USA
Living In: Winter Park, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 16, 2006
My husband loved this recipe and he is a fussy eater. He asked for seconds. I am so happy I made it for him. I did stir the rice a little too much though. Not so much stirring next time as it makes the rice a little too sticky. But wonderful flavours, loved the chorizo. First time I had tried it. I made enough for 6 serves and froze half of it for another meal. Great !
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 25, 2006
Delicioso! This paella achieves excellent results without requiring a full day in the kitchen. Substituted clams for mussels. Layered the tomatoes and squid on top rather than mixing in... almost cheated on the tomatoes - glad I didn't use canned!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jeannette

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Old Tappan, New Jersey, USA
Living In: Lehigh Valley, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 25, 2005
This is a wonderful recipe. Granted, I made substitutions, but still wonderful and very reasonable to accomplish without a lot of excessive time and effort. I used pepperoni instead of chorize, since in my area you cannot find the right kind of chorize. And, in place of mussels, I used canned clams. I also substituted part of the chicken broth with clam juice and used turmeric in place of the saffron. I've tried lots of paella recipes, and this one works for my family and me. Thank you.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SHURMAY

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Zapata, Texas, USA
Living In: Denison, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 20, 2005
It was ok. I dont know if I would make it again. the recipe is a little vague. Doesnt tell you when to add the red peppers nor about cooking the shrimp or mussels. Not for the beginning cook (like me!!)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 8, 2005
This was a good recipe, a bit sticky though, I think I would have soaked the rice like a previous reader stated. I omitted the other seafood except the shrimp. Added more peppers. It really wasn't too much work to get together, the house smelled wonderfully of garlic and peppers!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by peeper burger

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 20, 2005
This was excellent! My mother was Cuban so I know good paella when I taste it! It was very similar to what she made. I made it for Father's Day and got rave reviews. Which is good because they all know their spanish food! I eliminated the squid and used scallops instead of mussells. This worked great. Also, needs more wine (to taste of course) and I added a little hot sauce, muy bueno! Will make again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
27 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Mark P
Reviewed: May 8, 2005
Quite good (closer to five stars than three). Very authentic looking. I cut the olive oil in half. Next time I'll use more sausage (one 4 oz link isn't enough!), more squid, and fewer mussels (1 lb of mussels is more than I could cram into the top of my pan).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Berkeley, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 21, 2005
This was quite good! Very remeniscent of what I had in Spain. I have to say though, the grocery list got expensive, especially since I didn't have saffron on hand. I found it economical to just get a frozen seafood medley that had all the ingredients. I saved about ten dollars. And PLEASE try this with a Sangria recipe you can find on this site! Have yourself a Spanish Fiesta.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2005
My husband recently bought me a large paella pan, so I decided to make this dish for our New Year's eve get-together last night. Other than increasing the recipe yield to 10 servings, I made the recipe EXACTLY as it is written. It required about 4 cups of chicken broth. The paella received rave reviews from all of our guests. My one recommendation is to cut and measure all ingredients before starting. This made the preparation effortless. Thanks, Christine, for a truly magnificent dish!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 71-80 (of 96) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

Easy Paella

Chicken, sausage, and shrimp shine in this easy, flavorful Spanish rice dish.

How to Make Seafood Paella

See how to make a traditional Spanish seafood stew.

Quick and Easy Paella

See how to make a quick version of classic Spanish paella with shrimp & sausage.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States