Paella I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Jul. 7, 2013
Peculiar as it may seem, I used basmati rice with this (although I had arborio at hand) and it turned out wonderful. And don't forget to drain the oil from the pan before adding the wine!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by George
Reviewed: Feb. 20, 2013
Very good. Rice ended up very overdone because the medium-grain rice I used did not need the full 15 minutes. Will try again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 2, 2013
I made this dish with bay scallops rather then the squid. I received rave reviews!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by geebz
Reviewed: Dec. 24, 2012
This was great! I compared it to the one that I normally make and this is a nice spin. I like the addition of white wine with the mussels. The family seems to like it as well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by geebz

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Salem, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 10, 2012
Great recipe, pick the proteins that you like. I also added hot pepper flakes and next time will also add cayenne pepper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 20, 2012
This is a wonderful dish. I substituted chicken thighs for breast meat because it's more tender and used scallops in place of squid because that's what I like. I also used a can of Rotelle tomatoes for an extra kick instead of fresh tomatoes. Large skillet with a lid is perfect...no room for a paella pan in my kitchen. Thanks for sharing this wonderful dish and the picture which drew me in to try it--beautiful.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Dea

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Atlanta, Georgia, USA
Living In: Lewisville, Texas, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 2, 2012
Made this last night & it was delicious! I live in a small town in the South so squid & mussels were not available. Substituted 1 lobster tail for squid & clams in shell for mussels. Reduced broth based on other reviews. Also used Uncle Ben's rice based on other reviews but will try arborio w/reduced liquid next time. I consider these minor adjustment because the flavor was "off the hook!" Thank you for the recipe!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jan Bertram

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Honolulu, Hawaii, USA
Living In: Richmond, Kentucky, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 28, 2012
All in all this is a good recipe, although, I agree with MIAX. Arborio is definitely the wrong choice. It has too high of a starch content. Regular long grain white rice does a fine job, just be sure to adjust temperature and time, as it is not as dense as arborio.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by lilchefdeebo

Cooking Level: Professional

Home Town: Sebewaing, Michigan, USA
Living In: Honor, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 11, 2012
I had no musells, so I doubled the shrimp and added craw daddies. I added 5 small trout fillets, they needed to be used. I omitted the wine and used home made broth and dried parsley. I loved this rice in this dish, to me the creaminess is a plus. I will do this dish again, soon.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Phoenix, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 27, 2012
very nice, made a few adjustments, but nice taste. make it your own.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Aly baby=]

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 99) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Versatile Chicken Salad
Versatile Chicken Salad

Pile it into a tomato half, load it into a wrap, or spread it on bread. Chicken salad does it all.

Beautiful Broccoli Salad
Beautiful Broccoli Salad

Broccoli salad makes a great side dish or a light main dish on a warm night.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Easy Paella

Chicken, sausage, and shrimp shine in this easy, flavorful Spanish rice dish.

How to Make Seafood Paella

See how to make a traditional Spanish seafood stew.

Quick and Easy Paella

See how to make a quick version of classic Spanish paella with shrimp & sausage.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States