Pad Thai Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 9)
Reviewed: Sep. 17, 2011
Very good. Husband gives it two thumbs up. I made this with fresh grouper instead of chicken.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 6, 2011
I'd just like to get an opinion. Would it taste better/more authentic if I used a bit of tamarind as well as doubling the sauce?
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by veggiechef

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 30, 2011
Everyone liked it. Was a little short on the spice so I'd add more crushed red pepper. Or, in our case, we added Siracha sauce. Next time I will slice the chicken and add cilantro too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Cupertino, California, USA
Living In: Boise, Idaho, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 30, 2011
really close to resturant!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Plumpy Nana Chow Chow

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Weed, California, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 9, 2011
Definitely don't skimp on the crushed peanuts.. You need the crunch! I tried to substitute for Peanut Butter, which was okay, but the crunch is necessary. SAme with the Lemon Wedges! Make sure you use them!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 14, 2011
So many changes required but excellent finnished product 5 star, easy to make. Sub out butter for olive oil*, cook chicken with 1tsp minced garlic* and put aside Double Sauce and subs* equals: 2Tbsp Rice vinegar*, 4Tbsp Fish Sauce 3Tbsp White Sugar 3/4 Tbsp. Crushed red pepper 2Tbsp. Chili & Garlic Sauce 2 Tbsp Peanut Butter 1 Tbsp Satay spice (Victorian epicure)* sub soya sauce? 1 tsp Cayene 1Tbsp Lime juice 1/2Cup Chicken broth or coconut milk for creamier sauce May add 1/2Tbsp Cornstarch to thicken sauce* Add to fry pan: Sesame Oil Rice stick Noodles cooked and cooled as per package directions (in bowl soak in boiling water 5-8 min drain, rinse cool) 1 Lg. carrot thinly sliced/grated 1/2 cup diced red pepper 1/2C. crushed peanuts 1 1/2 C bean sprouts Cooked chicken and shrimp Garnish: Lime wedges Cilantro 1/2 C. Bean sprouts 1/2 C. crushed peanuts extra cilantro to garnish
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Reviewed: Jul. 5, 2011
I always change recipes to suit my and my husband's taste when I cook, and this was no different. This recipe was very easy and delicious! After reading the other reviews for this dish, I trippled the vinegar ( I used rice vinegar) and the fish sauce, and doubled the sugar for the sauce. I also added some schiracha hot sauce to it to my taste to give it a hint of spice. I also added chopped cilantro and some grated ginger and toasted minced garlic to the chicken as I was cooking it. When preparing the noodles, I found it was easier to boil some water in the microwave and pour it on the noodles and let soak for a few minutes until soft and drain, instead of waiting an hour in cold water. I also added some fried crumbled firm tofu that I fried while waiting for my chicken to defrost in the microwave. I used lots and lots of green onion and chopped peanuts in and garnished on top! I used canned bean sprouts which turned out good, and I cooked the chicken separate in vegetable oil and a touch of sesame oil and some seasonings. it turned out great, and I love how you can add to this recipe and change whatever you want to suit your tastes! Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Bakersfield, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 4, 2011
Solid pad thai recipe, tough to please all audiences, but a highly recommend this as a good base. This one is easy to make for many, the prep time is misleading as it's just soaking noodles. Add in your own stylings to it to get your own 5 star dish.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 22, 2011
My review is based on the fact that I whipped this up in about 15 minutes with spare ingredients lying around my kitchen (which means I substituted almost everything except the sauce) and it STILL tasted good. Substitutions I made: - sweet-potato starch noodles (jjap chae noodles) for the rice ones - lemon juice from concentrate (the ones that come in those little plastic yellow bottles from the grocery store) for lemon/lime wedges - sliced almonds for crushed peanuts - olive oil for butter - 2 eggs instead of 4 I also omitted the beansprouts, cilantro, green onions, and tofu, because I didn't have any of them...although I bet it would have tasted a million times better with them. And lastly, I added in chili paste, crushed red pepper and toasted sesame seeds for taste/texture. :) I was a little apprehensive about adding 3 tablespoons of sugar, but that definitely did the trick. Next time, I might try out honey as a susbstitute, and I'll probably toss in some grilled onions and maybe even some shredded coconut (I have really weird tastes, though, so you probably don't want to try that). Anyway, good basic recipe. Despite what everyone else said, I thought the sauce was just right for a one-person serving of noodles, and the flavor was authentic (not to mention, it was really easy to make!). I'm looking forward to trying this again with better ingredients.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 13, 2011
I edited the recipe based on previous reviewers recommendations. I was a bit skeptical when I first tasted the sauce I thought that there was too much fish sauce; however, after adding it to the pasta, it turned out to be delicious although a bit sweet.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Houston, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 81-90 (of 302) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Pad Thai

Watch a Thai chef make this authentic Thai noodle dish.

Pad Thai

See how to make a great pad thai at home.

Pad Thai Popcorn

See how to make this sensational, sweet and spicy snack!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States