Pad Thai Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 6)
Reviewed: Dec. 28, 2013
Awesome every time! I omit fish sauce and use lots of soy sauce.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 20, 2013
This was a pretty bland and dry pad thai. Next time, I will double the fish sauce, add some peanut butter, reduce the sugar (it was too much even without the peanut butter), add some spice to it (it was very bland). I will also add some veggies. Overall, the bones of the recipe are here, but you need to make a lot of adjustments.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 15, 2013
This isn't a terrible recipe, but it's really plain. This is the first time i've ever tried to cook pad thai and I was quite disappointed. There is something that at is missing from it, I suggest looking for another recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 12, 2013
This was excellent! It tasted almost as good as our favorite thai restaurant. I followed the advice of other reviewers. I tripled the sauce (triple the vinegar, using rice wine though, triple the fish sauce, only 4 TBSP of sugar though). I also added about 2 TBSP of creamy peanut butter. OMG! It was delicious. Finally, I about tripled the red pepper flakes because we love spice. I also added 2 cloves of garlic when I sauted the chicken.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 26, 2013
Fabulous! My husband thought it needed a little more flavor, so I added a splash of toasted sesame oil and soy sauce.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 12, 2013
I have loved many recipes on the website but very few have been as "perfect" as this one. I would only suggest that you have plenty of fish sauce and wine vinegar on hand as my concoction absorbed quite a bit more than what was called for in the recipe. However, the proportions were perfect. I stole a few ideas from another recipe and substituted shredded carrots for bean sprouts, and served it with crushed cashews and cilantro. However, as written it is the best pad thai I have ever had, including restaurant offerings. Thank you!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Cincinnati, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 13, 2013
This is a great recipe. Thank you for posting it, I have been seeking a simple and delicious pad thai recipe and this fit the bill! The only thing I would say is the method for preparing the rice noodles should be changed. After much research I found that the preferred method is to pour boiling water over the noodles and soak for about 5 minutes until soft, then rise with cold water, and rinse again with cold water. I did mine this way and the texture of the noodles was perfect, and this was the first time I made pad thai. The rest is like any recipe, this is a great start but tailor to your taste. I stir fried using a touch of veg oil, and some sesame oil, adding a couple of cloves of minced garlic as well. I have a non stick electric wok so little oil is necessary, making the dish healthier. I mixed rice vinegar, fish sauce, oyster sauce and sirachi with chicken broth in a bowl. This allowed me test the flavor, and pour it over the noodles while stir frying. Thanks again. I love pad thai and now I can make it at home!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 29, 2013
plain, barely any flavor. Also make sure you have the right noodles.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MARLEESMOM

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Smyrna, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 6, 2013
I wish I had read (or re-read) some of the reviews before making this because the sauce needed to be tripled (at least). When I saw the amount of noodles vs. the amount of sauce I was like, "uh oh...either I did something wrong or there was a typo or something". I managed to double it in time so nothing was ruined. I adjusted the amount of red pepper since we like ours a little hot. Overall it had a really good flavor. I marked my printed recipe to triple the sauce ingredients so next time I make it I'll remember, but as written I can only give it 3 stars. :(
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by vatech90

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Fishersville, Virginia, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 26, 2013
This is a good base recipe for Pad Thai. I added soy sauce to taste, 1-2 tsp. of mirin sauce, a tbsp. of extra fish sauce, and half of a yellow onion and 2-3 tbsp. of minced garlic while cooking the chicken. I also replaced the peanuts with a tsp. of sesame seed oil (I always get a strange sensation that I'm eating peanut butter if there are peanuts in a dish). It tasted very close to what I get at the local Thai restaurant. I also suggest adding only 1 cup of bean sprouts rather than two since it really changed the flavor after I did that.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 51-60 (of 338) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Delightful Summer Parties
Delightful Summer Parties

All the little bites, cocktails, casual dishes, and desserts you want for your next get-together.

Banana Bread
Banana Bread

Bake those overripe bananas into a delicious, easy loaf of quick bread.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Pad Thai

Watch a Thai chef make this authentic Thai noodle dish.

Pad Thai

See how to make a great pad thai at home.

Pad Thai Popcorn

See how to make this sensational, sweet and spicy snack!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States