Pad Thai Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 9)
Reviewed: Jan. 31, 2012
I doubled the sauce as other reviews suggested & still thought this was a bit dry. The flavor was close to restaurant pad thai, but seemed to be missing something. It was fun trying a thai recipe though, so thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Savannah, Georgia, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 29, 2012
this was awesome, sauce tastes great! This tastes like restaurant pad thai. I added some sweet red chili paste and half a tablespoon of soy sauce. Also I took the advice of other reviewers and doubled the amount of sauce.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 14, 2012
What I did differently: I tripled the sauce, but only doubled the amount of sugar. I boiled the noodles for 1 minute and then let them sit in water (i would drain after boiling and then sit in cold water b/c they broke apart really easily). I only used 6 oz of noodles and it made a lot! I added some of the grn onions while cooking. I didn't have peanuts so I added 2 big spoons of crunchy peanut butter. I would add the sauce before you add the noodles. I used lime instead of lemon at the end.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 13, 2012
This was good--but def double or even triple the sauce. I tripled it and felt it was just enough, I can't imagine less, it would have been dry. I also added 2 cloves of garlic (because garlic makes everything better). We found the bean sprouts a little firm, wondering if we throw them in to cook a little earlier, if that would soften them. I would def make this again--oh and we used a lime instead of lemon. Never heard of a lemon on Pad Thai--that seems odd to me. Oh yeah, and the rice noodles you can boil for 1 min, then sit in the water for 5 min and drain. Just as good and much faster.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 12, 2012
Good basic recipe. Have to admit that it was a jumping off point for our house. Add peanut butter, double or triple for more sauce etc. But was a great starter.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Cavendish, Prince Edward Island, Canada
Living In: Kemptville, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 10, 2012
absolutely triple the sauce components (fish sauce and vinegar); the other ingredients can be increased as you like. i didn't use the butter and i think the oil was too much as well. fantastic recipie . . . this is going to save me a lot of trips to pick up dinner from a Thai joint. :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by srggg
Home Town: Harleysville, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 21, 2011
I really liked this recipe & my husband said it was one of his favorite things I have ever made. He is a pad thai fanatic! A few things: I added a little red chili sauce to spice it up a little more. It just wasn't spicy enough for me as is. I also garnished it with some cilantro to add another layer. Overall, I think this is a good recipe...especially if it is your first time tackling pad thai!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 17, 2011
If you are disappointed that this doesn't look/taste like your local restaurant's, it is likely because you are missing the KETCHUP most American Thai restaurants use in theirs. Ask anyone who's ever cooked in one.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 13, 2011
very simple, very tasty. Try it you'll like it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Karen

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 12, 2011
My 5 stars is because i read alot of reviews, and i got it spot on. the recipe is good but the amounts of the ingredients are NOT correct, the sauce needs to be tripled in order to be BARELY enough,,, 12 ounces of rice noodles is alot of noodles, but with extra sauce it is good. i also used only one egg, wich was plenty. Added 2 tablespoons of peanut butter per another reviewer and used LIME,, not lemon.. any pad thai you get in a resteraunt uses lime... with those modifications you are going to get something REALLY special,,, i will be making this alot in the future. my husband who is asain approved very much so!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by earth_girl
Home Town: Palmyra, New York, USA
Living In: Greece, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 81-90 (of 318) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Pad Thai

Watch a Thai chef make this authentic Thai noodle dish.

Pad Thai

See how to make a great pad thai at home.

Pad Thai Popcorn

See how to make this sensational, sweet and spicy snack!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States