Pad Thai Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 14)
Reviewed: Jun. 11, 2010
REALLY GOOD as long as you double or triple the sauce. I mix the sauce in a bowl beforehand and pour over the noodles until all of the noodles are soaked. Cook long enough so that extra sauce in bottom of pan is gone and noodles are soft. Adjust pepper as you go. The only downside is the awful smell of cooking with fish oil. You might want to have extra candles burning while cooking it...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 2, 2010
I revised this recipe based on the review by Jodi on January 30, 2007 and it came out very good. Next time I will use only about 7 ounces of noodles and add more bean sprouts to help the sauce stand out a little more. Definitely a "do again"! Very close to the Pad Thai I had in Thailand. Thanks for the recipe and thank you Jodi for your review.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 28, 2010
Terrible! We will not try this one again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by BeqJoy

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: West Hartford, Connecticut, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 11, 2010
We were so dissappointed with this. It smells like feet, is too greasy, no flavor, and the recipe calls for peanuts, but doesn't have anything about them in the directions. My boyfriend, who will generally eat anything was so grossed out that he is now making Kraft mac and cheese! I wish I could give this 0 stars or negative stars!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Superior, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 27, 2010
Good base for customization. Yummy and quick!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Marette

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Berea, Kentucky, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 13, 2010
This was my very first attempt at pad thai, EVER. So considering that, I thought it went pretty well. I tripled the sauce like some other reviewers suggested. I used hoison sauce instead of fish sauce only because that's what I had in the pantry. It tasted good to me, but then again I'm not sure what fish sauce tastes like so maybe that would be better. I also added a tbsp of peanut butter which I thought added a little depth to the flavers. I skimped on the white sugar too. I used shrimp instead of chicken and threw in 3 cloves of finely chopped garlic. I would definitely make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by adabrowski

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Buffalo, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 5, 2010
I double the sauce when I make this recipe. My friends love it and it fills every one up!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MediaChef

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Feb. 23, 2010
I have never had pad thai before, but this was definitely a great recipe to start with and alter for your own preferences. At first it was a little nerving to see it kind of look like a big pile of mess, but I was surprised by the flavor. I forgot the sugar and I didn't use fish sauce (because I personally don't like fish sauce). Next time I will boil/cold rinse my noodles, double sauce, and spice my chicken up a little more when I cook it. Other than that, me and my boyfriend thought this was a great recipe! Will make this again and again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 22, 2010
This is a good "base" recipe that you can customize to your liking, and simple enough for anyone to make. I took some cues from others and made the following changes: I did half chicken, half firm tofu. I used peanut oil instead of butter, and put in some minced garlic with the chicken. Used Egg Beaters instead of eggs, rice vinegar instead of white wine vinegar, and splenda instead of sugar. Also added a tsp of smooth peanut butter to the sauce because I like a good peanutty taste, but the sauce still needs some more flavor to it. I will definitely increase the amount of sauce and red pepper next time. Oh, and I cooked the rice noodles according to package directions (boil water, then add the noodles and take off the heat, let sit for about 5 minutes, drain and rinse in cold water). Soaking the noodles in cold water takes too much time if you are trying to whip this together after work.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by APRILMILLER

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Saratoga, California, USA
Living In: Dallas - Ft. Worth, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 19, 2010
Oh my god this was good!!!! Definitely triple the sauce! Other than that, i followed everything else. Satisfied my craving for pad thai no doubt!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Spearit

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 131-140 (of 302) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Healthy and Delicious
Healthy and Delicious

New for spring! Good-for-you food you’ll love to eat.

Mexican Food Fiesta
Mexican Food Fiesta

Go mild or go wild with Cinco de Mayo Recipes!

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Pad Thai

Watch a Thai chef make this authentic Thai noodle dish.

Pad Thai

See how to make a great pad thai at home.

Pad Thai Popcorn

See how to make this sensational, sweet and spicy snack!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States