Pad Thai Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 14)
Reviewed: Sep. 14, 2010
This was really good and easy but VERY THICK. It was almost a noodle/peanut paste. Though it tasted fine, it was a bit strange to eat and I probably wouldn't serve it to guests as is. Next time I will not only make more sauce, but make the sauce with more liquid.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jennifer Juniper

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 6, 2010
YUM! Even my bf who doesn't like Thai devoured this. I did alter it a little bit as per ERINJW's notes. Definitely a keeper. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Nakina

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Constable, New York, USA
Living In: Montreal, Quebec, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 28, 2010
Very good. I substitued veg. oil for the butter and doubled the vinegar, fish sauce, vinegar.....and loaded on the pepper for some heat! I didn't garnish with the peanuts, onions, or lemon and it was still delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 2, 2010
I love spicy food, my husband doesn't, but he & my son both raved over this. We had for lunch the next day. Simple & absolutely delicious!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Soup Loving Nicole
Reviewed: Jul. 29, 2010
I still prefer my old recipe that uses anchovy paste but this was still very good and it was a lot faster and less hassle that my regular. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Soup Loving Nicole

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Kansas City, Missouri, USA
Living In: West Fork, Arkansas, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 23, 2010
I really enjoyed this recipe. I didn't add the fish sauce, a personal fear of anchovys I guess, but I will try it next time!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by RMCANULTY

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Fairbanks, Alaska, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 19, 2010
Where do I start??? Last night was Thai night – pad thai & pork dumplings (Lorna). I’ve sooo been craving Thai food, but the Thai restaurant my fiance & I enjoy is too pricey for a couple on a budget (we are planning a wedding - which is EXPENSIVE!!!). If that were not the case, I would have NEVER attempted to make this myself (some things are just better when someone else makes them lol!). I am so terribly disappointed. And, to boot, the ingredients, although bought in lg. enough quantities to be able to use again (except the noodles), were pricey. Having said that, here are my reasons for giving this a 1 star rating: a) there is not enough sauce for the amt. of noodles called for (I suggest tripling the sauce as many others have done), b) fried egg is NOT authentic; they should be SCRAMBLED, mix. in w/ the other ingredients & be one of the LAST steps of the cooking process & c) true pad thai incl. tamarind pulp / juice & lime juice, both for color & flavor. Knowing this, I wish I would have tried Sukhothai Pad Thai (Nan). It is more authentic, but as with any “real” deal, ingredients can be hard to come by at a basic-stocked grocery store (mine didn’t have tamarind or dried radish). Needless to say, Thai night became “pizza night” at our house. Sorry, TRANSMONICON!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Chef Mickey (aka Mickey)

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: De Soto, Missouri, USA
Living In: Elgin, Illinois, USA
Photo by Citrus Punch
Reviewed: Jul. 17, 2010
I've never had Pad Thai before, so I have nothing to compare this to, but this stuff blew my mind. That said, I read a ton of reviews first and made some changes, which I will also make in the future. I didn't use any butter. When I heated the oil for my eggs, I used a little less vegetable oil and added some sesame oil. I made a double batch of this because I had several extras for dinner, and I tripled the sauce because so many on here had mentioned there wasn't enough of it (I subbed out just a little fish oil for soy). I used shrimp, and instead of lemons, I used limes. Also, I used cashews instead of peanuts because it's what I had. I let everyone add their sriracha so they could control the heat. I know that's a lot of changes, but I'm giving this a five anyway because without this recipe, I wouldn't have had a jumping-off point. Shoot, forgot to mention I added shredded carrot and garnished with sesame seeds. Thanks for the recipe, Transmonicon!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Citrus Punch
Home Town: Wilton, Iowa, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 16, 2010
I made this with shrimp rather than chicken, I thought it was really good. I used rice vinegar, a little soy sauce, fish sauce and lime juice to make the sauce. I will definitely make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MMOH

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Blacksburg, Virginia, USA
Living In: Heidelberg, Baden-Württemberg, Germany

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 14, 2010
I also substituted PEANUT OIL for the vegetable oil. I think that makes a huge difference. The recipe instructions don't tell you when to add the green pepper or lemon (strange). I added them both towards the end. I used shrimp and chicken, but I think you could add any meat you preferred.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 131-140 (of 314) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Food on Fire
Food on Fire

Find out what to cook for your next BBQ.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Pad Thai

Watch a Thai chef make this authentic Thai noodle dish.

Pad Thai

See how to make a great pad thai at home.

Pad Thai Popcorn

See how to make this sensational, sweet and spicy snack!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States