Pad Thai Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 12)
Reviewed: Jun. 22, 2011
My review is based on the fact that I whipped this up in about 15 minutes with spare ingredients lying around my kitchen (which means I substituted almost everything except the sauce) and it STILL tasted good. Substitutions I made: - sweet-potato starch noodles (jjap chae noodles) for the rice ones - lemon juice from concentrate (the ones that come in those little plastic yellow bottles from the grocery store) for lemon/lime wedges - sliced almonds for crushed peanuts - olive oil for butter - 2 eggs instead of 4 I also omitted the beansprouts, cilantro, green onions, and tofu, because I didn't have any of them...although I bet it would have tasted a million times better with them. And lastly, I added in chili paste, crushed red pepper and toasted sesame seeds for taste/texture. :) I was a little apprehensive about adding 3 tablespoons of sugar, but that definitely did the trick. Next time, I might try out honey as a susbstitute, and I'll probably toss in some grilled onions and maybe even some shredded coconut (I have really weird tastes, though, so you probably don't want to try that). Anyway, good basic recipe. Despite what everyone else said, I thought the sauce was just right for a one-person serving of noodles, and the flavor was authentic (not to mention, it was really easy to make!). I'm looking forward to trying this again with better ingredients.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 13, 2011
I edited the recipe based on previous reviewers recommendations. I was a bit skeptical when I first tasted the sauce I thought that there was too much fish sauce; however, after adding it to the pasta, it turned out to be delicious although a bit sweet.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Houston, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 10, 2011
very good and easy yet needed a bit moe flavor and spice
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 31, 2011
I'm sorry, but I don't think this taste like Pad Thai at all. I followed the directions exactly and while I don't think this tastes really bad, I don't think that this is anything like Pad Thai.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 17, 2011
This is a very good, flavorful base for pad thai, but I found that I had to alter the measurements of fish sauce and white wine vinegar according to taste. I also added more lemon. I would definitely suggest adding vegetables such as string carrots, onions, and peapods.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mjd

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Posen, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 9, 2011
I would not recommend this recipe. The flavor was okay, but there was not nearly enough sauce. It was very dry.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 7, 2011
Favorite Thai
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JThurston

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Dekalb, Illinois, USA
Living In: Missoula, Montana, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 26, 2011
while this wasn't terrible tasting, it didn't taste like Pad Thai. definitely not enough sauce; which should've been made with lime juice instead of white wine vinegar. and, the recipe didn't call for peanuts! that's an essential to Pad Thai. i do not recommend this one. there are definitely better Pad Thai recipes out there.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Meghan

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Osage, Iowa, USA
Living In: Bellevue, Nebraska, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 6, 2011
This recipe is an okay base, but it really needs some work. First of all, as other reviewers said, you must double or even triple the sauce. The amount of crushed red pepper is nothing, so don't be afraid of that. I added a few things to make the flavor a little better. I squeezed some lime juice in. I put in 2 small carrots and a red pepper for color, texture, and taste. And most importantly in my opinion, I added a lot of fresh chopped cilantro. That is a key ingredient that's missing. Feel free to play with the sauce base as well, I added 1 tablespoon of oyster sauce.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Stephanie

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Minneapolis, Minnesota, USA
Living In: Lund, Skane, Sweden

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 14, 2011
Not enough sauce and the noodles were not soft enough! I soaked them for 40 minutes!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 111-120 (of 324) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

The Season’s Best Sides
The Season’s Best Sides

Complete the meal with your favorite holiday side dishes.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

How to Make Pad Thai

Watch a Thai chef make this authentic Thai noodle dish.

Pad Thai

See how to make a great pad thai at home.

Pad Thai Popcorn

See how to make this sensational, sweet and spicy snack!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States