Pad See Ew (Thai Noodles with Beef and Broccoli) Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Nov. 28, 2010
Love this reciope. Taste just like my fav resturant makes it. I use shrimp or pork instead of beef. And sub the brocooli with Gai Lan when I can find it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Maribel Hicks

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 3, 2010
I did make a couple changes but the basic was outstanding. I have been looking for a recipe for a long time and I tried this and was super pleased. My husband said it was the best thing I ever made and better then the local Thai restaurant. Things I did change: Chicken instead of steak, I couldn't find wide rice noodles so I had to use narrow ones (I prefer the other ones), added more crushed garlic, more broccoli, and hot chili paste. Two of us finished it all!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 20, 2011
This recipe tasted authentic and straight from a restaurant. I used black pepper instead of white pepper because I couldn't find any at the store I went to. I also used New York Sirloin Steak. It also needed to be a bit sweeter so I through in about 3 tbsp of brown sugar while I mixed everything together towards the end. Overall, great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lempreza

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Glendora, California, USA
Living In: Irvine, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 4, 2011
This was easy and delicious. I Doubled the sauce recipe which was a great suggestion, and did use two tablespoons sweetened rice wine vinegar so used only one tablespoon white sugar. I made a lot of substitutions: I did not have oyster sauce so I used hoisin sauce and did not have asian noodles so I used whole grain spaghetti - funny - but it turned out delicious anyway. I used peanut oil instead of vegetable oil. I also completely forgot to put the egg in - I'll try it again with the right ingredients and I bet it'll be even better. The message is that this is a very forgiving recipe and a good base for whatever meats/meat substitues and veggies you have on hand. Some hot chili paste on the table is a great touch. I think it would be good with some fresh toppings on the table, like chopped peanuts, cilantro, crunchy bean sprouts, etc.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 18, 2011
Yum.. doubled sauce.. don't think it was necessary.. did add 2 tb. of rice vinegar.. a little sesame oil upon plating.. used chicken .. added waterchesnuts.. very diverse recipe...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Wiser1

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Marietta, Georgia, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 6, 2011
This was very tasty. I decided to grill the steak and slice it thin, then, add to the vegetable and sauce mixture. I used additional vegetables (pea pods, carrots and broccoli). I had udon noodles on hand. I will definitely make again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 16, 2011
My Family loved this dish! Easy to make, too!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 17, 2010
If you're reading this recipe and thinking "eh, I don't know. Sounds kinda weird..." Try it! I'd never had pad see ew before, and I was a little worried about the "ew" part. IT'S SO GOOD! Beef & broccoli meets pad thai! Fish sauce and oyster sauce aren't as nasty as they sound, and you can get them super cheap ($1/bottle) at an Asian grocer. I added rice vinegar and doubled the sauce (2 Tbsp rice vinegar, 6 Tbsp oyster sauce, 2 Tbsp fish sauce, 2 Tbsp sugar). Also added 2 eggs instead of 1. Used a whole good sized crown of broccoli. Used "round sandwich steak" which is already cut thin. No salt, just some black pepper. Try it, you'll like it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
28 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 24, 2011
Since some people were doubling the sauce, and others felt it was too much, I added 50% more sauce - and 1 tablespoon rice vinegar. I used chicken instead of beef. Wonderful! Some day I hope to get to the Asian market to by Chinese broccoli. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Pasadena, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 17, 2012
Wow! This is delicious for being such a simple dish. Next time I'm going to try shrimp and/or scallops instead of beef. I will also make 1-1/2x the sauce.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 40) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

The Season’s Best Sides
The Season’s Best Sides

Complete the meal with your favorite holiday side dishes.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Restaurant Style Beef and Broccoli

See how easy it is to make this classic Chinese takeout dish at home.

How to Make Pad Thai

Watch a Thai chef make this authentic Thai noodle dish.

The Best Thai Coconut Soup

A delicious, must-have soup recipe.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States