Pad See Ew (Thai Noodles with Beef and Broccoli) Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Oct. 17, 2010
If you're reading this recipe and thinking "eh, I don't know. Sounds kinda weird..." Try it! I'd never had pad see ew before, and I was a little worried about the "ew" part. IT'S SO GOOD! Beef & broccoli meets pad thai! Fish sauce and oyster sauce aren't as nasty as they sound, and you can get them super cheap ($1/bottle) at an Asian grocer. I added rice vinegar and doubled the sauce (2 Tbsp rice vinegar, 6 Tbsp oyster sauce, 2 Tbsp fish sauce, 2 Tbsp sugar). Also added 2 eggs instead of 1. Used a whole good sized crown of broccoli. Used "round sandwich steak" which is already cut thin. No salt, just some black pepper. Try it, you'll like it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
28 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 18, 2011
Yum.. doubled sauce.. don't think it was necessary.. did add 2 tb. of rice vinegar.. a little sesame oil upon plating.. used chicken .. added waterchesnuts.. very diverse recipe...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Wiser1

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Marietta, Georgia, USA
Photo by squawk93
Reviewed: Jun. 6, 2010
Pad See Ew is one of my teenage daughter's favorite dishes, so I have set out to learn how to make it. I used this recipe as a jumping off point, following it mainly for the ingredient proportions. Instead of beef I used chicken, and gai lan instead of broccoli. I also found some fresh rice noodles at an Asian market (see photo). I used the sauce ingredients as listed, but added 1 T rice vinegar. Technique-wise I stir fried the broccoli and set it aside. Then I stir fried the chicken, added the noodles, then the sauce. Once they were heated through I added the beaten egg. When the egg was cooked I folded in the broccoli. It turned out well, and my daughter approved (she ate 2 servings!).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by squawk93

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Seattle, Washington, USA
Reviewed: May 30, 2012
This is a good recipe. I used chicken instead of beef, and thin slices of asparagus instead of broccoli. Like some of the other reviewers, I added a bit of sesame seed oil and rice wine vinegar. I also added a heaping teaspoon of prepared asian chili sauce to the liquid ingredients. At the end, I put in chopped scallions and a bunch of thai basil. The end result was delicious, but you do need an extremely hot pan and lots of oil...I used a combination of grapeseed oil and coconut oil...oils that can withstand a very high heat. I also have an induction range and put it at the power setting, which is hotter than most conventional settings can get. This high heat is what sears the noodles and gives the dish that distinct flavor. I would omit the cornstarch altogether next time since the high heat and starches from the noodles absorbs all the liquid. I've tried a similar recipe but w/o the high heat and adding chicken broth as a way to keep the noodles from sticking to the pan. This did not turn out. The trick here is to use a seasoned pan, extremely high heat and lots of oil.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 13, 2010
great flavor! 1 cup of broccoli is not enough, though. 3 is about right. I made it without the beef.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Tempe, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 20, 2011
This recipe tasted authentic and straight from a restaurant. I used black pepper instead of white pepper because I couldn't find any at the store I went to. I also used New York Sirloin Steak. It also needed to be a bit sweeter so I through in about 3 tbsp of brown sugar while I mixed everything together towards the end. Overall, great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lempreza

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Glendora, California, USA
Living In: Irvine, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 28, 2010
Love this reciope. Taste just like my fav resturant makes it. I use shrimp or pork instead of beef. And sub the brocooli with Gai Lan when I can find it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 22, 2011
So easy my boyfriend made it! 4.5 stars!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 22, 2011
I was very disappointed. There are other stir-frys on the site that are much better. The oyster sauce was overpowering for me, definitely cut in half as another reviewer had suggested.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Serena

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Jan. 4, 2011
This was easy and delicious. I Doubled the sauce recipe which was a great suggestion, and did use two tablespoons sweetened rice wine vinegar so used only one tablespoon white sugar. I made a lot of substitutions: I did not have oyster sauce so I used hoisin sauce and did not have asian noodles so I used whole grain spaghetti - funny - but it turned out delicious anyway. I used peanut oil instead of vegetable oil. I also completely forgot to put the egg in - I'll try it again with the right ingredients and I bet it'll be even better. The message is that this is a very forgiving recipe and a good base for whatever meats/meat substitues and veggies you have on hand. Some hot chili paste on the table is a great touch. I think it would be good with some fresh toppings on the table, like chopped peanuts, cilantro, crunchy bean sprouts, etc.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 40) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Want to Grill Tonight?
Want to Grill Tonight?

Check out time-saving recipes, because any night’s a good night to grill.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Restaurant Style Beef and Broccoli

See how easy it is to make this classic Chinese takeout dish at home.

How to Make Pad Thai

Watch a Thai chef make this authentic Thai noodle dish.

Beef Tips and Noodles

See how to make a simple, beefy noodle dish.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States