Pad See Ew (Thai Noodles with Beef and Broccoli) Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Photo by squawk93
Reviewed: Jun. 6, 2010
Pad See Ew is one of my teenage daughter's favorite dishes, so I have set out to learn how to make it. I used this recipe as a jumping off point, following it mainly for the ingredient proportions. Instead of beef I used chicken, and gai lan instead of broccoli. I also found some fresh rice noodles at an Asian market (see photo). I used the sauce ingredients as listed, but added 1 T rice vinegar. Technique-wise I stir fried the broccoli and set it aside. Then I stir fried the chicken, added the noodles, then the sauce. Once they were heated through I added the beaten egg. When the egg was cooked I folded in the broccoli. It turned out well, and my daughter approved (she ate 2 servings!).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by squawk93

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Seattle, Washington, USA
Reviewed: Jun. 13, 2010
great flavor! 1 cup of broccoli is not enough, though. 3 is about right. I made it without the beef.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Tempe, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 23, 2010
I was a bit unimpressed with this recipe. It was okay, but not great. I did double the batch and while cooking chickened out and only added half of the oyster sauce as the sauce was tasting very strong. I am glad I made this change and others agreed. With half the oyster sauce it is pretty good, but at full power it might have become overwhelming.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 2, 2010
Was so excited to see a recipe for my all time favorite Thai dish! I stuck with the recipe other than doubling it and didn't change a thing other than using fried tofu instead of steak and 3 eggs instead of 2. I will use low sodium soy sauce next time as we thought the dish was a bit salty but overall flavor was great!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Crestline, Ohio, USA
Living In: Wyandotte, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 1, 2010
I thought this was really good and very tasty, but the sauce doesn't have the same taste as this dish at a Thai restaurant. As noted in one of the other reviews, next time I'll try adding 1 tbsp of rice wine vinegar and see if that gets the sauce closer. I also substituted chicken for beef, and used a whole broccoli crown. Definitely one to make again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 1, 2010
This was pretty good. I gave it a 4-star because the beef gets cooked too much (I made adjustments because I knew the beef would be overdone as the directions are written). Also, the egg is done non-traditionally. Still, a good meal.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by cooking with little buddy

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Memphis, Tennessee, USA
Living In: North Augusta, South Carolina, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 17, 2010
If you're reading this recipe and thinking "eh, I don't know. Sounds kinda weird..." Try it! I'd never had pad see ew before, and I was a little worried about the "ew" part. IT'S SO GOOD! Beef & broccoli meets pad thai! Fish sauce and oyster sauce aren't as nasty as they sound, and you can get them super cheap ($1/bottle) at an Asian grocer. I added rice vinegar and doubled the sauce (2 Tbsp rice vinegar, 6 Tbsp oyster sauce, 2 Tbsp fish sauce, 2 Tbsp sugar). Also added 2 eggs instead of 1. Used a whole good sized crown of broccoli. Used "round sandwich steak" which is already cut thin. No salt, just some black pepper. Try it, you'll like it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
28 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 28, 2010
Love this reciope. Taste just like my fav resturant makes it. I use shrimp or pork instead of beef. And sub the brocooli with Gai Lan when I can find it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 3, 2010
I did make a couple changes but the basic was outstanding. I have been looking for a recipe for a long time and I tried this and was super pleased. My husband said it was the best thing I ever made and better then the local Thai restaurant. Things I did change: Chicken instead of steak, I couldn't find wide rice noodles so I had to use narrow ones (I prefer the other ones), added more crushed garlic, more broccoli, and hot chili paste. Two of us finished it all!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 4, 2011
This was easy and delicious. I Doubled the sauce recipe which was a great suggestion, and did use two tablespoons sweetened rice wine vinegar so used only one tablespoon white sugar. I made a lot of substitutions: I did not have oyster sauce so I used hoisin sauce and did not have asian noodles so I used whole grain spaghetti - funny - but it turned out delicious anyway. I used peanut oil instead of vegetable oil. I also completely forgot to put the egg in - I'll try it again with the right ingredients and I bet it'll be even better. The message is that this is a very forgiving recipe and a good base for whatever meats/meat substitues and veggies you have on hand. Some hot chili paste on the table is a great touch. I think it would be good with some fresh toppings on the table, like chopped peanuts, cilantro, crunchy bean sprouts, etc.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 40) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Food on Fire
Food on Fire

Find out what to cook for your next BBQ.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Restaurant Style Beef and Broccoli

See how easy it is to make this classic Chinese takeout dish at home.

How to Make Pad Thai

Watch a Thai chef make this authentic Thai noodle dish.

Beef Tips and Noodles

See how to make a simple, beefy noodle dish.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States