Pad See Ew (Thai Noodles with Beef and Broccoli) Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Jan. 4, 2011
This was easy and delicious. I Doubled the sauce recipe which was a great suggestion, and did use two tablespoons sweetened rice wine vinegar so used only one tablespoon white sugar. I made a lot of substitutions: I did not have oyster sauce so I used hoisin sauce and did not have asian noodles so I used whole grain spaghetti - funny - but it turned out delicious anyway. I used peanut oil instead of vegetable oil. I also completely forgot to put the egg in - I'll try it again with the right ingredients and I bet it'll be even better. The message is that this is a very forgiving recipe and a good base for whatever meats/meat substitues and veggies you have on hand. Some hot chili paste on the table is a great touch. I think it would be good with some fresh toppings on the table, like chopped peanuts, cilantro, crunchy bean sprouts, etc.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 3, 2010
I did make a couple changes but the basic was outstanding. I have been looking for a recipe for a long time and I tried this and was super pleased. My husband said it was the best thing I ever made and better then the local Thai restaurant. Things I did change: Chicken instead of steak, I couldn't find wide rice noodles so I had to use narrow ones (I prefer the other ones), added more crushed garlic, more broccoli, and hot chili paste. Two of us finished it all!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 28, 2010
Love this reciope. Taste just like my fav resturant makes it. I use shrimp or pork instead of beef. And sub the brocooli with Gai Lan when I can find it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Maribel Hicks

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 17, 2010
If you're reading this recipe and thinking "eh, I don't know. Sounds kinda weird..." Try it! I'd never had pad see ew before, and I was a little worried about the "ew" part. IT'S SO GOOD! Beef & broccoli meets pad thai! Fish sauce and oyster sauce aren't as nasty as they sound, and you can get them super cheap ($1/bottle) at an Asian grocer. I added rice vinegar and doubled the sauce (2 Tbsp rice vinegar, 6 Tbsp oyster sauce, 2 Tbsp fish sauce, 2 Tbsp sugar). Also added 2 eggs instead of 1. Used a whole good sized crown of broccoli. Used "round sandwich steak" which is already cut thin. No salt, just some black pepper. Try it, you'll like it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
28 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 1, 2010
This was pretty good. I gave it a 4-star because the beef gets cooked too much (I made adjustments because I knew the beef would be overdone as the directions are written). Also, the egg is done non-traditionally. Still, a good meal.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by cooking with little buddy

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Memphis, Tennessee, USA
Living In: North Augusta, South Carolina, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 1, 2010
I thought this was really good and very tasty, but the sauce doesn't have the same taste as this dish at a Thai restaurant. As noted in one of the other reviews, next time I'll try adding 1 tbsp of rice wine vinegar and see if that gets the sauce closer. I also substituted chicken for beef, and used a whole broccoli crown. Definitely one to make again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 2, 2010
Was so excited to see a recipe for my all time favorite Thai dish! I stuck with the recipe other than doubling it and didn't change a thing other than using fried tofu instead of steak and 3 eggs instead of 2. I will use low sodium soy sauce next time as we thought the dish was a bit salty but overall flavor was great!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Crestline, Ohio, USA
Living In: Wyandotte, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 23, 2010
I was a bit unimpressed with this recipe. It was okay, but not great. I did double the batch and while cooking chickened out and only added half of the oyster sauce as the sauce was tasting very strong. I am glad I made this change and others agreed. With half the oyster sauce it is pretty good, but at full power it might have become overwhelming.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 13, 2010
great flavor! 1 cup of broccoli is not enough, though. 3 is about right. I made it without the beef.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Tempe, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by squawk93
Reviewed: Jun. 6, 2010
Pad See Ew is one of my teenage daughter's favorite dishes, so I have set out to learn how to make it. I used this recipe as a jumping off point, following it mainly for the ingredient proportions. Instead of beef I used chicken, and gai lan instead of broccoli. I also found some fresh rice noodles at an Asian market (see photo). I used the sauce ingredients as listed, but added 1 T rice vinegar. Technique-wise I stir fried the broccoli and set it aside. Then I stir fried the chicken, added the noodles, then the sauce. Once they were heated through I added the beaten egg. When the egg was cooked I folded in the broccoli. It turned out well, and my daughter approved (she ate 2 servings!).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by squawk93

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Seattle, Washington, USA

Displaying results 31-40 (of 40) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Dinner in the Fast Lane
Dinner in the Fast Lane

Get quick & easy recipes for your busiest days.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Restaurant Style Beef and Broccoli

See how easy it is to make this classic Chinese takeout dish at home.

How to Make Pad Thai

Watch a Thai chef make this authentic Thai noodle dish.

Beef Tips and Noodles

See how to make a simple, beefy noodle dish.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States