Pad See Ew (Thai Noodles with Beef and Broccoli) Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Jan. 7, 2013
I tried this recipe last night and did not care for it at all. I found 1tbsp of fish sauce to be FAR too much. It was just overwhelming--I couldn't taste anything but the fish sauce. If you're going to add fish sauce, by all means, throw in a teaspoon and work your way up. Once there's too much, it's too late. I am no stranger to fish sauce--I'm Vietnamese and it's in alot of our dishes. Good luck!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Long Beach, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 31, 2012
I add carrots sliced on the diaganal and steamed. Didn't have dark soy sauce, so used light soy sauce and a teaspoon of molasses. Tossed the noodles in sesame oil before adding to the skillet to reduce their sticking together in clumps. Increased the sauce amount by about 30 percent. This tastes just like the pad see ew I get at my favorite thai spot. Thank you so much!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 28, 2012
This recipe has become one of my daughter's favorites. It's a good mellow recipe, not too spicy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mandy_H
Reviewed: Jun. 19, 2012
This was really easy to make. I was not able to find the wide rice noodles so I used the thin ones. It still turned out really good. My dad does not like Thai food and he still ate two helpings.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 30, 2012
This is a good recipe. I used chicken instead of beef, and thin slices of asparagus instead of broccoli. Like some of the other reviewers, I added a bit of sesame seed oil and rice wine vinegar. I also added a heaping teaspoon of prepared asian chili sauce to the liquid ingredients. At the end, I put in chopped scallions and a bunch of thai basil. The end result was delicious, but you do need an extremely hot pan and lots of oil...I used a combination of grapeseed oil and coconut oil...oils that can withstand a very high heat. I also have an induction range and put it at the power setting, which is hotter than most conventional settings can get. This high heat is what sears the noodles and gives the dish that distinct flavor. I would omit the cornstarch altogether next time since the high heat and starches from the noodles absorbs all the liquid. I've tried a similar recipe but w/o the high heat and adding chicken broth as a way to keep the noodles from sticking to the pan. This did not turn out. The trick here is to use a seasoned pan, extremely high heat and lots of oil.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 20, 2012
Soooo delicious! Tastes like take out. I made a vegetarian version as I didn't have any beef...used broccoli, mushrooms, bean sprouts and green onions. Added a little sesame oil to the sauce and some hot sauce. Tasted even better when I ate it cold for a late night snack! Will soooo be making this again and again! Thanks for a fantabulous recipe!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Karen

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 18, 2012
Quick and Good!! So in the words of one of my family members, this 'tastes like fancy ramen' :-). It was just a really good thai asian noodle dish, that was full of flavor and filling. YUM! I did not have oyster sauce, but I did add some terayaki sauce. I also topped it off with a dash of crushed red peppers and green onions.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 20, 2012
I have to admit, I changed the recipe a lot. Instead of rice noodles (which I didn't have), I used quinoa, so it ended up more like a stir-fry. I used shrimp and frozen veggies. For the sauce, as other reviewers suggested, I added 1 TBL rice vinegar and decreased the amount of oyster sauce to 1 1/2 TBL. Also subbed agave nectar for the sugar. Used half of the sauce and am saving the other half for next time. Cooked the shrimp, veggies and egg all up and mixed it with the quinoa. Superb! Will definitely make it again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 17, 2012
Wow! This is delicious for being such a simple dish. Next time I'm going to try shrimp and/or scallops instead of beef. I will also make 1-1/2x the sauce.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 8, 2012
Nothing authentic about this recipe. I have eaten Thai food across North America and this is bland bland, bland.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 40) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Winningest Football Party Ever
Winningest Football Party Ever

Big, bold food is always the best play. Get the top recipes now.

 Super Bowl Appetizers
Super Bowl Appetizers

How much jalapeno and bacon will it take to fuel YOUR fans?

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Restaurant Style Beef and Broccoli

See how easy it is to make this classic Chinese takeout dish at home.

How to Make Pad Thai

Watch a Thai chef make this authentic Thai noodle dish.

The Best Thai Coconut Soup

A delicious, must-have soup recipe.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States