Pad Kee Mow (Drunkard's Noodles) Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Mar. 12, 2012
Excellent recipe I used dried rice noodles and regular basil instead of Thai. I used lemon in place of lime and followed the recipe as illustrated. I was completely surprised how wonderful the flavor of this dish turned out! Will be making again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
19 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by nanciemartin

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Erie, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Coto De Caza, California, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 14, 2012
I made this last night because we had some fish sauce and it seemed neat. It was super salty, but AWESOME. I did reduce the amount of noodles to 1/2 bag, add carrots instead of red pepper and cilantro instead of basil, but only because that is what I had on hand. I can't see how you could really mess this up adding/subtracting "chunks" in this recipe because the sauce is so good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 17, 2012
Wow......this recipe is over the top delicious. I did not have palm sugar so I substituted brown sugar. I added some broccoli and mushrooms and only 1/2 package of dried wide rice noodles. If you are not used to using dried noodles, the best thing to do with these rice noodles is to pour boiling water over them and let them sit 3-8 minutes until tender. Then, drain and let them sit in cold water until you are ready to add them to the pan. Thanks for sharing this awesome recipe. I was craving Thai food and was extremely happy to create something so authentic in my own home--for a LOT less money. I highly recommend using Thai basil in this recipe--it has amazing flavor!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 11, 2012
Loved it but it was incredibly salty. Made my five year old cry. Would cut the fish sauce and soy sauce in 1/2. Is fairly spicy, which my husband and older son loved.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 8, 2012
Delicious!! I followed the sauce recipe exactly and that's what makes this so tasty. I had carrots, mushrooms, bean sprouts and sugar snap peas I needed to use up, so I added those as well as the recipe vegetables. Used about 2/3 of the noodles because I like things a little saucy. Next time I'll go a lot lighter with the pepper flakes because it was very hot! Restaurant quality.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 4, 2012
This one is a keeper! Everyone loved it! It even rivaled the Pad Kee Mow that I order at my favorite local Thai restaurant. It was quick, easy and fabulous! I followed the recipe exactly except that I didn't have quite enough Thai basil and substituted 1 cup regular basil. It was just the right level of spiciness for me. I usually order medium at Thai restaurants. ***Also - brand/style of fish sauce can make a huge difference. I tried Phad Thai with some milky looking fish sauce - it was disgusting. Squid brand fish sauce is what a Thai friend recommended. It's a clear brown that is much milder and not scary at all.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 8, 2012
Very delicious... way to many noodles however.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Plaquemine, Louisiana, USA
Living In: Baton Rouge, Louisiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 14, 2012
I was craving a Thai dish just like this! It was amazing! Just a little bit spicy for my taste, so next time ill use half the amount of red pepper and Serrano. Otherwise, absolutely perfect! I added bean sprouts and broccoli, while also using a different kind of noodle because I like them a little thicker.Thanks for the recipe, it's a keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: North Pole, Alaska, USA
Living In: Wahiawa, Hawaii, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 4, 2012
This recipe was very flavorful and delicious! I used regular basil (instead of Thai Basil) and white sugar (instead of palm sugar). It couldn't have been better! This recipe is spicy due to the red pepper, so reduce or omit if you don't like spicy food. Cheers!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ASPIRING RAE
Home Town: North Pole, Alaska, USA
Living In: Washington, D.C., USA
Reviewed: Jan. 5, 2013
Excellent! I used 1/2 the red pepper flakes and found it still too hot for me. I will try less next time. Didn't have Tai basil, used 1 Tablespoon dry basil. The flavors blended beautifully.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 24) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

How to Make Pad Thai

Watch a Thai chef make this authentic Thai noodle dish.

How to Make Chicken Chow Mein

See how to make a classic Chinese-American noodle dish.

My Favorite Sesame Noodles

This Asian-inspired meal includes hot miso soup and ginger-dressed carrots.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States