Pad Kee Mow (Drunkard's Noodles) Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Mar. 12, 2012
Excellent recipe I used dried rice noodles and regular basil instead of Thai. I used lemon in place of lime and followed the recipe as illustrated. I was completely surprised how wonderful the flavor of this dish turned out! Will be making again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
19 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by nanciemartin

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Erie, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Coto De Caza, California, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 17, 2012
Wow......this recipe is over the top delicious. I did not have palm sugar so I substituted brown sugar. I added some broccoli and mushrooms and only 1/2 package of dried wide rice noodles. If you are not used to using dried noodles, the best thing to do with these rice noodles is to pour boiling water over them and let them sit 3-8 minutes until tender. Then, drain and let them sit in cold water until you are ready to add them to the pan. Thanks for sharing this awesome recipe. I was craving Thai food and was extremely happy to create something so authentic in my own home--for a LOT less money. I highly recommend using Thai basil in this recipe--it has amazing flavor!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 14, 2012
I made this last night because we had some fish sauce and it seemed neat. It was super salty, but AWESOME. I did reduce the amount of noodles to 1/2 bag, add carrots instead of red pepper and cilantro instead of basil, but only because that is what I had on hand. I can't see how you could really mess this up adding/subtracting "chunks" in this recipe because the sauce is so good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 11, 2012
Loved it but it was incredibly salty. Made my five year old cry. Would cut the fish sauce and soy sauce in 1/2. Is fairly spicy, which my husband and older son loved.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 4, 2012
Very Tasty and easy to cook !
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Bill Ligertwood

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Edmonton, Alberta, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 4, 2012
This one is a keeper! Everyone loved it! It even rivaled the Pad Kee Mow that I order at my favorite local Thai restaurant. It was quick, easy and fabulous! I followed the recipe exactly except that I didn't have quite enough Thai basil and substituted 1 cup regular basil. It was just the right level of spiciness for me. I usually order medium at Thai restaurants. ***Also - brand/style of fish sauce can make a huge difference. I tried Phad Thai with some milky looking fish sauce - it was disgusting. Squid brand fish sauce is what a Thai friend recommended. It's a clear brown that is much milder and not scary at all.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by SunnyDaysNora
Reviewed: Jul. 9, 2012
I made a few minor adjustments- used dried rice noodles, regular sugar, and regular basil. I used thin rice noodles because that's what I had on hand, but in the future would definitely use wide. First of all, the flavor was AWESOME!! But, like pretty much everyone else said, ridiculously salty (and I used reduced sodium soy sauce, too). The flavor really makes it worth it, but I would love to find a way to cut back on the saltiness of this dish.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SunnyDaysNora

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Paso Robles, California, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 28, 2014
Holy hot! It was too spicy to eat! If the pepper was adjusted, this may have been a really good recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 1, 2013
Tasted so good...couldn't believe I made it! I did reduce the fish sauce, soy sauce, red chili flakes and black pepper by half. Will be making this again and again. Thanks for a great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 4, 2012
This recipe was very flavorful and delicious! I used regular basil (instead of Thai Basil) and white sugar (instead of palm sugar). It couldn't have been better! This recipe is spicy due to the red pepper, so reduce or omit if you don't like spicy food. Cheers!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ASPIRING RAE
Home Town: North Pole, Alaska, USA
Living In: Washington, D.C., USA

Displaying results 1-10 (of 24) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Muffins Are Perfect Anytime
Muffins Are Perfect Anytime

Muffins are great for breakfast, with coffee, or just as a snack on the go.

Soup For What Ails You
Soup For What Ails You

Soup is what the doctor ordered to cure those winter blahs.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Pad Thai

Watch a Thai chef make this authentic Thai noodle dish.

How to Make Chicken Chow Mein

See how to make a classic Chinese-American noodle dish.

My Favorite Sesame Noodles

This Asian-inspired meal includes hot miso soup and ginger-dressed carrots.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States