Pad Kee Mow (Drunkard's Noodles) Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: May 9, 2014
A few words of caution about this recipe. We have attempted it twice. I may attempt it a 3rd time, but with significant changes. 1) Fish sauce comes in a wide variety. Don't use the green sewer sludge variety, or you'll be opening windows and apoligizing to neighbors for days. 2) Fish sauce is extremely salty. As the man who runs the local Asian emporium told us, you should never need to use more than a teaspoon - probably a half-teaspoon. Granted, he is from the Phillipines, but he has a valid point. Fish sauce is salty, salty, salty, and ... well, fishy. 3) The proportions, for us, resulted in a very soupy mixture. That may be because we chose to use Sharitaki noodles (zero calories) but if we make this again, we will reduce the vinegar/sauce mixture and double the noodles. Lastly, I'm not sure how many of you keep "palm sugar" on hand. We couldn't find it in any store, so we used light brown sugar. The sweet, salty (although too much with this recipe) and spicy combination was good. Makes us want to search for other Thai recipes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 26, 2014
Delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Long Island, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 28, 2014
Holy hot! It was too spicy to eat! If the pepper was adjusted, this may have been a really good recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 26, 2014
Very good. Like some of the suggestions mentioned, it's a bit salty so I halved the oyster and soy sauces. I also added extra tomatoes and basil.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 15, 2014
Awesome, kids loved it. Watch amount of red pepper - little too hot for kids.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Stone Mountain, Georgia, USA
Living In: Hamilton, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 21, 2014
This was SO yummy! I subbed in broccoli, cauliflower, carrots, and mushrooms for the veggie component and it worked great. It was even better the next day for lunch leftovers :-)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 10, 2014
Perfect as is. No changes needed. We use this recipe and will change out the veggies depending on what needs to be used up.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Crikkitt

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Tipp City, Ohio, USA
Living In: Midland, Texas, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 6, 2013
Easy recipe and very good. Skipped the oyster sauce because I was out and added broccoli and carrots like some others. Also used regular dried basil instead of Thai. I halved the red pepper, deciding we could add more individually if needed and it was list I'll pretty spicy. Easy weekend lunch. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Milwaukie, Oregon, USA
Living In: New Braunfels, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 1, 2013
Tasted so good...couldn't believe I made it! I did reduce the fish sauce, soy sauce, red chili flakes and black pepper by half. Will be making this again and again. Thanks for a great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 25, 2013
We really liked this but like others, found it way too salty. Next time, I will try to add more vinegar, lime juice and sugar to counteract the excessive salt. Would be 5 star if successful.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 24) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Cool Weather Salads
Cool Weather Salads

Fall and winter salads bring bright flavors to your favorite meals.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Related Videos

How to Make Pad Thai

Watch a Thai chef make this authentic Thai noodle dish.

How to Make Chicken Chow Mein

See how to make a classic Chinese-American noodle dish.

My Favorite Sesame Noodles

This Asian-inspired meal includes hot miso soup and ginger-dressed carrots.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States